4/4 Joey PMPS 70...newbie shoot under 200??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Brytny&Joey

Member Since 2013
Hey all, Joey is on Lantus, but more of a relaxed regimine. I am wondering if I should shoot him at all tonight? I haven't fed him his supper yet (he usually eats 2x per day at AMPS and PMPS) and his BG is only marginally higher than at +10

Thanks so much!
 
Hi Brytny, How long have you stalled? I would suggest you test again (30 minutes after usual PMPS) and see where he is. You'll want to make sure he is rising. I'm not a dosing expert, but hopefully someone who is will be along shortly.

Do you have plenty of test strips and HC? Can you monitor closely tonight?
 
Welcome to LantusLand, Brytney and Joey! We recommend an initial no shoot value of 150. Since Joey is well below that, you should skip his shot tonight. The other alternative is to not feed and keep testing every 20 mins until his numbers start to rise then shoot. That becomes his new shot time. You can adjust that by 30 mins each day. Can your schedule accommodate that? If you shoot tonight, you will need to stay up with him and test until you are sure that he will stay in safe numbers the rest of the night.

The tight regulation protocol requires that you test at least 4 times per day: once before each shot and once in between shots. Lantus dosing is based on the nadir so you need to get mid-cycle values to see how low he goes. We have seen cats be in the 400s at shot, dip down to the 40s at mid-cycle, then zoom up to the 300s for the next shot. If you don't get the mid-cycle test, you would think the cat needs an increase when in fact he went borderline hypo.
Liz
 
Thanks for the quick responses! Since we are almost at 10:30 i am going to retest him then and see where he's at.
 
Have you considered breaking his food up into multiple mini-meals? His pancreas can handle small amounts of food better than big meals. We try to feed Zener in the first half of the cycle when the insulin has the biggest effect so the food and insulin will balance out. At least that's the theory. Of course, being a cat, Zener doesn't always cooperate. :lol:
Liz
 
OK he tested at 4.1 at 10:30pm. I still am unsure if I should shoot or not. I can't stay up tonight because I have a long commute tomorrow, but my boyfriend can stay up with him to keep testing. should i test again at 11?
 
How much longer can you stall? You will have to shoot in the morning about 12 hours from when you shoot tonight.

Here's my thought...Joey is very bouncy and he's been in green numbers for a bit now. I'm wondering if he will really start way back up soon. That would be the signal to shoot....but it would depend on how long you can stall. D you have alot of test strips, HC food, syrup?

If you can't stall or if he doesn't start up fast during the time that you can stall. I'd skip and start again to or row at whatever time you decide to be your new time.
 
We can stall for a couple of hours until his numbers get higher...my boyfriend just got home from work and is willing to stay up with him. I'm going to retest at 11 and see where he's at. We've got lots of strips and some dry food left and syrup just in case. How high should we wait til to shoot him?
 
You can't use dry food. It takes too long to kick in and hangs around forever. You cal always add syrup to LC food.

See you shortly.
 
brytny, i'm going to offer a different opinion...

i think you ought to skip tonight's shot. this is only day 4 on lantus and this is the second time joey's numbers have been too low to shoot at the regular shot time. i really think you would be better off reducing the dose to 0.5 unit at the next shot time. 1u appears to be a little too much for a couple days into this.

once you have some lantus data collected you'll be able to shoot on time...


just my thoughts. :-D
 
Marje and Gracie said:
You can't use dry food. It takes too long to kick in and hangs around forever. You cal always add syrup to LC food.

See you shortly.

Oh OK good to note...I'll write that on my hypo sheet I have on the fridge.

He tested at 4.7 at 11pm.

Jill & Alex said:
brytny, i'm going to offer a different opinion...

i think you ought to skip tonight's shot. this is only day 4 on lantus and this is the second time joey's numbers have been too low to shoot at the regular shot time. i really think you would be better off reducing the dose to 0.5 unit at the next shot time. 1u appears to be a little too much for a couple days into this.

once you have some lantus data collected you'll be able to shoot on time...


just my thoughts. :-D

I think I am going to take your advice, my boyfriend agrees as well. Actually that's pretty much what he said when he came home, but of course I had to wait to see what you guys said! I think I'll sleep better tonight if we skip! I am going to feed Joey now as he is practically yelling at us for supper, and he'll check him again in an hour to see where he's at.

Thanks all so much for your input and advice!
 
Hi there, looks like he is doing well so far on lantus... Nice greens! Remember to reduce his dose to 0.5units now and we will see how he gets on

Wendy
 
Cool. It will be interesting to see how he does. Currently looks like he is coming down from a bounce after those greens yesterday.
 
AMPS this am 23.9 mmol/L. Last night he was at 7.0 at about 2am (+4). We are still holding dose at 0.5u. Will check again at +2 :)
 
Brytny --

Could you start a new thread (we call them "condos") for Joey today? The subject line should read:

4/7 Joey AMPS-430​

Also, It looks like Joey is bouncing off of the blue numbers from last night. If his numbers come back down, it may be time to increase his dose. Can you get some tests during this cycle, including a test at +11 and post the results?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top