4/4,Chuck,AMPS:355,+3 306,+5 247,+7 265,PMPS:285,+3 350,+5 348,+8 341

Status
Not open for further replies.

StephG

Member Since 2016
DH was on duty last night. Feed him his usual. I'll be trying to get a urine sample today to test for ketones and see how his UTI is healing.
Introducing +7 snack of FF kitten pate. It's what I had on hand. He puked last night around +10 and I think it was because he didn't have his +7 snack. He usually pukes bile or water so that's one of the reasons I moved his snacks later. I'm going to look into some of the wet foods with lower carbs or listed as zero on Dr Lisa's list. I want a higher calorie one so he can keep gaining weight. I'd rather have higher protein too so he can start regaining muscle easier.
 
Last edited:
Much flatter cycle today. You can probably give him a break until shot time, unless you just like gathering data. ;)

Is Chuck on anything for his IBD? I found Neko did little pukes because of it. Well, I originally though it was due to CKD and not getting that late snack, but they went away when we treated the IBD with budesonide. Adding probiotics also helped.,
 
Chuck puked 4 times a day before we switched him to half wet food. Then too him to the vet in May 2016. Puking was controlled. Then he started puking again I think when he got FD. Started giving even less dry because of the puking increase and he got better. Then we started this FD dance. And he was of dry food completely the day he was diagnosed.
I would love to try the budesonide to see if it helps his numbers and potty issues. I see it is very helpful in a few other sugar cats here on the forum.
 
Now he only pukes with hairballs or if he eats too much grass outside. Or if he doesn't get that later snack.
 
The labs tab looks great now!

Interesting conversation on the puking. I have a short-haired tuxedo boy, McGee, who was vomiting daily. Marje and Wendy posted a couple of links that made me start giving probiotics. I thought he was having hairballs until I read the link on hairballs and realized there wasn't usually much in the way of hair in the vomit. He's improved 95% - instead of vomiting daily (or more) it's been maybe once every 3-4 weeks, maybe longer. I bought ReNew Ultimate Probiotics Colon Care 80,000 CFU from my local Natural Grocers (that brand is everywhere) and started out by dividing one capsule between my 3 cats, then gradually increased it until McGee was getting a full capsule daily for 2 months. Then I went to every other day for a couple of months, and now he's on 30,000 CFU every day for maintenance. It's made a huge difference.

The links below are from the "Where Can I Find?" thread:
Digestive Problems:
Constipation, Maggie11 & Ann; Feline Constipation
Hairballs/Chronic Vomiting
Probiotics in IBD (or other) cats
Antacids (Pepcid)
 
I'm still pretty nervous. Can't imagine shooting a green yet!!

By the way, nice job with the switch to Lantus! I saw this comment and wanted to give you some info on that, just so you can take the time to read up now when you're not in the situation. It's good to wrap your head around it before you actually need it. Shooting Low. I wouldn't leap to shoot the first green preshot you have, but read the info and links and consider gradually shooting lower numbers. See what happens the first time you shoot a 200, then a 150, then 100, for example, before you shoot green.
 
Still slow-mo today. I am very pleased though... He had half an ounce of FF kitten whitefish pate at +7 with no spike!! I've always suspected he needed a bit less for his AM cycles and I wonder if his last 2 days shows this a bit too. Still waiting for a urine sample!
 
The labs tab looks great now!

Interesting conversation on the puking. I have a short-haired tuxedo boy, McGee, who was vomiting daily. Marje and Wendy posted a couple of links that made me start giving probiotics. I thought he was having hairballs until I read the link on hairballs and realized there wasn't usually much in the way of hair in the vomit. He's improved 95% - instead of vomiting daily (or more) it's been maybe once every 3-4 weeks, maybe longer. I bought ReNew Ultimate Probiotics Colon Care 80,000 CFU from my local Natural Grocers (that brand is everywhere) and started out by dividing one capsule between my 3 cats, then gradually increased it until McGee was getting a full capsule daily for 2 months. Then I went to every other day for a couple of months, and now he's on 30,000 CFU every day for maintenance. It's made a huge difference.

The links below are from the "Where Can I Find?" thread:
Digestive Problems:
Constipation, Maggie11 & Ann; Feline Constipation
Hairballs/Chronic Vomiting
Probiotics in IBD (or other) cats

Antacids (Pepcid)
So I read the Probiotics in IBD link. I have Acidophilius 1 billion per 5mg tablet.
Ingredients:
Cellulose, Silica, Vegetable Stearic Acid, Vegetable Magnesium Stearate.
My question is: The site said typical recommended dose is 10-40 billion. That would be ten of these?!:confused: That's just ridiculous.
I've been giving my civvie 1/4 tablet so around 250 million cfu and his constipation seems better.
 
The ReNew Ultimate that I'm giving McGee right now is 30,000 CFU (colony forming units). I give him one per day and I open the capsule and mix it in with his food in the morning.

You might look for something more concentrated that what you currently have when that's used up.

What are you thinking about the switch to Lantus? Are you happy with it?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top