4/4 Checkers pmps 62+2/156

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barb & Checkers (GA)

Member Since 2009
I don't know what to do. Shoot? he wont eat even something he loves.....vet clinic isn't open and I don't trust that they will underestand how urgent this is........cant talk to a doctor this early

he drinks......threw up a bit of bile

should i shoot??


viewtopic.php?f=9&t=92438
 
Re: 4/4 Checkers amps 541....wont eat...shoot?

I'm sorry Checkers won't eat. I don't have any dose advice, but I will be praying for you and Checkers today. I hope you can get him to a vet or talk to a doctor soon.
 
Re: 4/4 Checkers amps 541....wont eat...shoot?

The vet clinic will be open in 1 hour or 2?

I would test again, just to make sure the last test wasn't a fluke. Test him for ketones if you can.
If his numbers are still high, then give him his insulin.

Is he lethargic? If it was clear bile, then he might just have an acidy tummy and a bit of Pepcid would help.
If you go to the vet, make sure they test for ketones, and maybe get a Spec fPL test for pancreatitis.

Keep trying to get him to eat.
 
Re: 4/4 Checkers amps 541....wont eat...shoot?

Thank you Carla.
I had to make a decision, so I shot. I'll syringe feed if Ihave to, until I find out what's going on.
 
Re: 4/4 Checkers amps 541....wont eat...shoot?

Thank you Dyana. He's not lethargic. I haven't seen him use the box today yet. Yesterday I was able to test for ketones....negative.
 
Re: 4/4 Checkers amps 541....wont eat...shoot?

I will be watching and sending good kharma. Crossing fingers your furry one comes down.
 
Re: 4/4 Checkers amps 541....wont eat...shoot?

Morning Barb, sending Checkers healing and appy vines. Would Checkers eat some of Tux's bf?
Dyana's suggestion of Pepcid. I'll catch up later and will be watching. Hugs and prayers.
 
Re: 4/4 Checkers amps 541....wont eat...shoot?

Hi Barb. I can't offer any advice but am sending healing vines for Checkers. Hope he gets to feeling better real soon.

Have a good day Barb.
 
Re: 4/4 Checkers amps 541....wont eat...shoot?

Thank you Mary and Ann.
He is not interested in any food.

Vet appt at noon. EDT
He's not interested even in his pill pocket. I'm afraid that syringing food into him, may do more harm than good.
 
Re: 4/4 Checkers amps 541....VET

Poor Checkers - it's good you could get an appointment so quickly - sending vetty vines that it's just something simple and Checks is back on his paws in no time. I would have shot the number too but I can't advice you, but I'm glad you did. Pepcid works for Molly, but at this point it might be better just to wait for the appointment. Let us know. (((hugs)))
 
Re: 4/4 Checkers amps 541....VET

Poor Checkers. Good vetty vines coming your way. I hope they figure out what is going on. ((((Barb))))
 
Re: 4/4 Checkers amps 541....VET

(((((Barb)))) Checkers, feel better buddy! I can understand if his tummy is upset, he's not interested in eating. I hope it's better quick and he's munching soon. Lots of good vetty vines, munch of your food vines, and momma's ok vines and prayers to you both for this morning. Take good care my dear. mary and ollie
 
Re: 4/4 Checkers amps 541....VET

Good morning, Barb and Checks,

I'm glad you shot, too. He is very high. Sending good thoughts and strong vines for Checkers' vetty appointment. Will check back with you later. Checkers, try to eat something, OK?
Barb, try not to worry. Hopefully he will want to eat something soon. Have you tried a little baby food?

Hugs and Scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/4 Checkers amps 541...+1/498 .VET

Sienne, his back legs seem a little weak/wobble/unsteady. He does however climb into the tub for water, and is now on kitchen table. He uses chair to get there. He's been walking around.

I put gravy food in front of him, and he sniffs, but wont eat. I have no BF, but he normally would love the chicken HC
He ate fine yesterday.

I'm suspicious of teeth, but I'm grabbing at straws now.
I haven't seen him use litter box today.
There's no evidence of BM from yesterday/last night
 
Re: 4/4 Checkers amps 541....VET

Morning Barb ~O)

I'm sorry, what a morning for you. it is just so hard when they won't eat, aren't themselves. I will keep you and Checkers in my thoughts this morning, hope all will be OK with him. It is difficult to know what to shoot, if at all, wen food is an issue. I'm glad you did shoot, it will help bring the Numbers down, maybe then the appy will improve. Good luck - thinking of you.
 
Re: 4/4 Checkers amps 541....VET

Thank you Michelle. You know all too well, how hard it is to have to have to shoot, knowing he won't eat.
I'm afraid to even syringe food into him, or give pain meds, because I don't know what the vet will want do.
I'd like a new exray to see if his back has deteriorated.
His front 'fangs' are not good, but Dr Dave has said it major trauma (my words), to extract those....if that's the problem.

The Tap he's taking for hyperT has not helped put any weight back on him. He is extremely thin.
I'm terrified right now.
 
Re: 4/4 Checkers amps 541....VET

Hang in there Barb - I understand the feeling all too well, know too on the syringe feed too. It terrifies Mannie, so we try and avoid that. yupp, can relate on the weight ting too, Mannie keeps loosing no matter how hard we try to get it back on. Thin rules here too. I will be thinking of you, hope the vet visit is good, and they can figure out what is going on. Hugs to you.
 
Re: 4/4 Checkers amps 541 +2/427....VET

Healing vines for Checkers. I hope the vet can figure out what's bothering him. Hugs to you, Barb.
Liz
 
Re: 4/4 Checkers amps 541 +2/427....VET

When Mario was on the Tap (for nearly 2 years), he was doing well, but he also never re-gained the weight back. I think it IS really hard to get it back on them once they lose it, especially when they are older kitties like ours.

Sending a TON of prayers your way, Barb.
 
Re: 4/4 Checkers amps 541 +2/427....VET

((((Barb)))) Sending lots of healing and feel better soon vines to Checkers. Paws tightly crossed here for a good vetty visit. Eat your fuds Checks, or even your brothers.
 
Re: 4/4 Checkers amps 541 +2/427....VET

Oh Barb! Sending tons of eating vines for Checkers. That is the hardest. I too think you were right to shoot w/ those numbers, I hope the new insulin kicks in soon. Paws crossed the vet will find a simple answer. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 4/4 Checkers amps 541 +2/427....VET

Sending good appy and vetty vines your way! I hope they can figure this out so Checkers can get back to feeling better soon. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 4/4 Checkers amps 541 +2/427 +4/275..VET

((Barb)) Sending nothing but good appy thoughts checkers way and a positive vetty visit ..
 
Re: 4/4 Checkers amps 541 +2/427 +4/275..VET

Thank you Everybody, for the good thoughts/prayers. It means so much to me.

Checkers had a very good visit with Dr Dave.
He knows Checkers so well, and doesn't push expensive procedures, that may not show anything. He felt that way about xray today.
Because Checks was black all day yesterday, and walked and stood with back end slightly lowered, and from all the things I saw (body language), he felt this was all about the pain.
He also felt that the way Checks was interested in food, but turned from everything he loves, that he was/is nauseated.

Susan took us to the clinic, and while she was here, she saw how Checks reacted to food and thought he was nauseated. I didn't know the signs.
We had to bring the bowl of water up to his face for him to drink, as he couldn't seem to bend or stretch, even to drink from the tub faucet.

We discussed pain meds on a regular basis. Discussed again what is available and dismissed them.
Checkers has only a slight (my word) kidney problem. Just barely, so far. We don't want to accelerate that, with drugs, obviously.
Checks is allowed to have bupe every 6 hours, as opposed to 'as needed', which is what he's been getting.
I don't want him to ever be in this much pain again.
Doc and Susan both saw that he was dehydrated. I again, didn't know the signs.

So....he got injection of Cerenia for nausea, and fluids. He still hasn't eaten today. I was told that if he hasn't eaten by tonight, then I should syringe feed.

As pain recedes, his numbers come down. Whew!
 
Re: 4/4 Checkers amps 541 +2/427 +4/275 +7/131 Vet Report

Barb, I'm so glad that dr dave thinks this was just pain related to his back problems .. I know it's still nothing "good", but at least you are familiar with this problem and have the meds to handle it ..

I'm glad Susan was able to be with you .. it's hard going to the vetty's alone, when we are so upset over our babies ...
 
Re: 4/4 Checkers amps 541 +2/427 +4/275 +7/131 Vet Report

Hi Barb, I was gone all morning and your condo was first one I checked. So glad you had a good Vet visit and have the pain addressed and his nausea and dehydration. Whew, Checkers, you really gave your MomaBean a scare and us, too. Glad he's okay and how nice your DD was with you. Sending loads of healing and appy vines to Checkers and hugs to you.
 
Re: 4/4 Checkers amps 541 +2/427 +4/275 +7/131 Vet Report

I'm glad this was something they were able to treat at the vet. I hope Checkers starts feeling better soon and will eat for you. It looks like he's feeling better from that nice blue at +7.
 
Re: 4/4 Checkers amps 541 +2/427 +4/275 +7/131 Vet Report

Keeping him on a consistent dose of pain meds for a couple of days will give you a ton of information. If he's feeling better as a result, you'll know.
 
Re: 4/4 Checkers amps 541 +7/131 +10/70 UH OH. still not eat

I have 2 hours to decide what to do. He has not eaten one single thing all day. He drinks some.
He can't still be nauseated, can he? I don't want to make him puke.
Maybe he needs to be stimulated by my finger feeding and making him taste food?
I've offered him everything he likes, even Gravy Lovers. Turns his head. He stays in his cube.

I will syringe feed if I have to, but holy cow, this is totally different than shooting a 540 with no food.

He has a 'bag' of fluid in his upper arm, that looks so weird. :shock:
Vet tech said it's perfectly normal......Dr Dave told me the fluid would drop down, but I thought it would be in his tummy.
His skin is so loose, I imagine it feels weird to him.

Is it tomorrow yet????
 
Re: 4/4 Checkers amps 541 +7/131 +10/70 UH OH. still not eat

My GA bandit had huge pockets of fluid from the vet's before too barb, it is weird! it will be absorbed soon .. as far as the eating goes, that I'm not sure .. Me personally, if checkers was my cat and had not eaten all day and didn't feel well and showed no sign of eating in the future, I'd probably skip the shot .. chalk it up to a furshot and start in the morning based on how he does overnight .. But that's just me, and I'm certainly no advice giver .. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 4/4 Checkers amps 541 +7/131 +10/70 Ate!

Yay, Checkers just came out of cube and asked, "Where's supper?".

He ate a few morsels of cheese....basically no carbs....and tuna, rinsed in clean water.....(thanks Marje) flip_cat
 
Re: 4/4 Checkers amps 541 +7/131 +10/70 Ate!

Yay!! dancing_cat dancing_cat So glad he ate something, Barb. Sending more vines and hope Checkers soon feels better.
 
Re: 4/4 Checkers amps 541 +7/131 +10/70 Ate!

(((Barb))))
Wow what a hard day! I've not been here for a bit.
Better appy vines and pain free vines and get that water absorbed vines for Checkers.

Does he like fancy feast appetizers? Those seem to get Shadow's interest when she won't eat.
Hope he keeps eating something for you.
 
Re: 4/4 Checkers amps 541 +7/131 +10/70 Ate!

Yay on the food! Oh, I had my breath held for that one, going from black to green and not wanting to eat. Poor Checks. I'm glad the vet visit went well - in that you figured stuff out and can get Bupe in him for the pain. Hopefully the Cerenia helped with the appetite. Will you be giving something for nausea? I think I mentioned that Pepcid works for Molly but I don't know if that's an option for Checkers.

Feel better vines, Checks!
 
Re: 4/4 Checkers amps 541 +7/131 +10/70 Ate!

Poor Checks, what a hard day for him and you. I hope he is feeling better tonight. When Zener first got Cerenia, he got an injection a day for 5 days, then an injection every other day. Anne found Cerenia pills that are a lot cheaper than the injections and he gets 1/4 of one three times per week. It really helped with his eating.
Liz
 
Re: 4/4 Checkers pmps 62

I had no qualms about shooting the 62.
He was eating well. In fact he ate MC, before shot. He was very happy to have the yummies, and I was happy to see him enjoying food.
After shot, he finished off Tux''s FF Tuna & Shrimp.
He's had 2 doses of bupe today, and is feeling really good.

Thank you all for the support today. I will never know what caused him to be hurting so badly.

PS, yes Sienne, I know you called it. :-D
 
Re: 4/4 Checkers pmps 62

What a good conclusion to a scary day! Checkers, surf safe!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Barb, I'm so happy that he is OK.

Hugs, scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/4 Checkers pmps 62

Wow, I'm so glad he is feeling better. I'm so glad he is eating well :) Yay!
 
Re: 4/4 Checkers pmps 62

Hi Barb - YAY!!! I am so glad Checkers is feeling better, eating , all of it. What a day for you. Rest well, and relax tonight. And Checks - you surf well, eat your fuds, and snuggle with your bean, just a little.
 
Re: 4/4 Checkers pmps 62

Big sigh of relief here that Checks is feeling better and eating. I hope you have a good night Barb.
 
WOW....what a day for you guys!! I'm so happy he ate, so happy he's feeling better, and so happy you had a good vetty visit. LL prayers answered again....

Have a relaxing evening, Barb...you more than earned it!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top