4/4 Bonk AMPS 263 +7 193

Status
Not open for further replies.

CanisLupus

Member Since 2014
Hello everyone, here is my last condo from march 28:

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=116263

I'm sorry I haven't been on much. Last week I threw my back out, so I have been spending a lot of my time in bed, and not much in front of the computer. Even trying to test Bonk's blood has been a chore with the pain. But I'm getting better, up and moving, back at work. I'll also get back into more frequent testing.

On to Bonk, he has been doing quite well. Up and playing, good appetite, almost daily bowel movements. Last night was interesting though. For the first time, his preshot was in the green, and of course, by the time +3 came around, he was at 46! So I got some of the gravy lovers in him. At bed time, he was at 67. Given his low numbers, I decided to drag myself back out of bed at 3am for a +6, which he tested at 81. he was back up with his normal bouncy routine by morning.

I know I don't have a lot of data over the last few days, but given what I am seeing, I decided to drop his dose to 2.25 units today. Was this a good decision?

Thanks everyone, I have to get back to work. I will talk to you all soon.
 
Re: 4/4 Bonk AMPS 263

I know all about back problems, so I'm glad you are feeling better:) Congrats on the reducie and good job on the monitoring! I hope Bonk works that juice for you and earns another one soon. Have a great day!
 
Re: 4/4 Bonk AMPS 263

Absolutely the right thing to do!! You were also right to set your alarm and get that 81! When they go low and we feed high carb food, we always want to keep testing for at least 2 hours after the last time they got food to make sure they stay up! Lots of times the high carb will bring them up for a little while, but then they'll come back down.

I'd bet he probably went lower on 4/1 too, but after 14 back surgeries, I totally understand that there are times when the back just isn't going to cooperate no matter what you want it to do!

If he only bounces to 263, that's really great too, but I suspect he may go higher before coming back down.

Hope you continue to feel better Brian!
 
Thanks everyone for the comments and feedback! I'm glad I made the decision to reduce. Chris, if he went higher than 263 today, I won't know, he came in at 193 when I got home from work. A little high, but not too bad.

As for me, I'm doing much better. Getting up and moving around helps a lot! Though I had to go into Boston today. Having to stand on the Subway with a sore back is not fun! 14 back surgeries, Ugh! That makes my back feel much better!
 
Congrats on the reducie. You did the right thing. I hope Bonk will settle into the new dose. I'm sorry about your back, but I'm glad it's getting better.
 
well done! like a pro. :-D

Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. See additional notes in the next paragraph about drops into the 20s and 30s. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

Please do not let yourself become complacent or blasé about drops into the 20s or 30s.
If kitty drops into the 20s, a full reduction of 0.25u (or 0.5u if kitty is on a higher dose) is strongly recommended.
If your cat drops into the 30s, a full reduction of 0.25u is recommended. There are very few exceptions given for caregivers who have collected years of data and KNOW their cat's response to the combination of insulin and food backwards, forwards, and inside out.
 
Hey Brian!!

How's Bonk doing? We haven't seen you in awhile and I noticed your spreadsheet hasn't been updated lately

Hope your back is better and Bonk is doing well!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top