4/4 AMPS 431,+2 302,+3 171,+4 114,+6.5 167,+9.5 375,PMPS 444,+2 471,+4 408,

Debra and Yoyo

Very Active Member
Yesterday 4/3 http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-116-pmps-122-1-193-2-256-3-293-4-329.212760/

Day 1 @ 1.25 Unit Lantus....(Yoyo was to receive a Fat 1.25 Unit but I had issues with Monoject syringe, hard for me to get an exact F 1.25 Unit)

Yesterday was a very scary and confusing day for me and Yoyo. It was a normal day until I checked Yoyo's +10 in his am cycle. He was @37. I don't know when he dropped or for how long he was low. He acted normal. Once tested he was fed and PS for pm was delayed aprox 2 hours.

In back tracking I found out that the new syringe that I used on 4/3, Sure Comfort, also contains an excess of insulin in the hub very similar to the Monoject syringe that I have been using. Very scary and alarming to me.

Yoyo is not on his normal time schedule at this time, but I am working on getting him back to his regular time schedule by gving him his AMPS aprox 1/2 earlier and his PMPS aprox 1/2 hour earlier today. The same for tomorrow until he is back on his normal time schedule.
 
Last edited:
That is scary when your syringes are not consistent. Good luck getting back to usual times. :bighug:

Thank you! I have to find a syringe that I can trust. Do you mind telling me what brand name syringe you use?
Hope you have a good day and that all is well with Leo:bighug::bighug:
 
I also use Monoject Syringes. I'm curious how did you determine the hub had over 1 unit in it?
Hi,
The excess insulin in the hub varies from syringe to syringe.
Marje alerted this to me and then when I filled the syringe with the amount that I thought was correct I pushed the plunger down the barrel and the measurement that I got in the middle of the syringe was much larger than what the syringe showed me from the zero line to my unit amount line.
 
@Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) I know you went back to MJs. Can you help Debra with any advice as to how to deal with the insulin in the hub which can vary from syringe to syringe so she can get to a consistent dose? Thank you!!!
Thanks Marje. Ella has been in contact. I tried to explain my issues, but sometimes they get confusing in a message. I hope Ella understands what I am trying to say.
 
Thank you! I have to find a syringe that I can trust. Do you mind telling me what brand name syringe you use?
Hope you have a good day and that all is well with Leo:bighug::bighug:
Thanks Debra, Leo's his usual purry, affectionate self and feeling good despite the poking. I use BD Ultra Fine II, 31 gauge. I buy them either at Walmart or the pharmacy. I've always only used these so I can't compare but so far I have no complaints. Kudos to you doing this research. :)
 
@Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) I know you went back to MJs. Can you help Debra with any advice as to how to deal with the insulin in the hub which can vary from syringe to syringe so she can get to a consistent dose? Thank you!!!
I tried today (via her PM to me), but I'm not quite sure how she is trying to measure. The MJs I went back to (after those great Terumos were discontinued) were not the same as the original Monojects. They are now manufactured by Covidien and are more consistent than the MJs we used in 2012, made by Tyco. I suggested that she use calipers, find a MJ that is "perfect" (the base of the cone, the zero line, and the top of the plunger line up), and try to see if the needle comes all the way down to the base of the cone (not as easy to see as on the "old" MJs). If it does, there will not be any insulin left "hiding" in the cone to make the dose larger than intended. I sent Debra a link to my diagram in Google Docs of the "old" MJ:
https://docs.google.com/document/d/18Sy-_ED9Vi_119OVGEF71zZ0PM6op2R_07oz578xaWU/edit

I suggested that she always measure her dose with the calipers from the top of the syringe (the plastic disk that should coincide with the zero line), not from the middle of the syringe. I also suggested that she fill the syringe with 1 Unit more than her dose, twist out the excess until she is close to where she wants to be, and then hold up her set-and-locked caliper to see how close she is. Then she can fine tune. I also suggested that if she thinks there is more insulin in a 1.25U dose than there should be, she should decrease the dose (take off some of the fat and experiment). Once she fine tunes the dose and has her calipers set correctly, she should not worry about what the dose is "called"--just call it something close to what it is (for the benefit of others) and make a note in the "remarks" section of her Spreadsheet how large the dose is in mm.

Good luck, Debra & Yoyo!
 
I tried today (via her PM to me), but I'm not quite sure how she is trying to measure. The MJs I went back to (after those great Terumos were discontinued) were not the same as the original Monojects. They are now manufactured by Covidien and are more consistent than the MJs we used in 2012, made by Tyco. I suggested that she use calipers, find a MJ that is "perfect" (the base of the cone, the zero line, and the top of the plunger line up), and try to see if the needle comes all the way down to the base of the cone (not as easy to see as on the "old" MJs). If it does, there will not be any insulin left "hiding" in the cone to make the dose larger than intended. I sent Debra a link to my diagram in Google Docs of the "old" MJ:
https://docs.google.com/document/d/18Sy-_ED9Vi_119OVGEF71zZ0PM6op2R_07oz578xaWU/edit

I suggested that she always measure her dose with the calipers from the top of the syringe (the plastic disk that should coincide with the zero line), not from the middle of the syringe. I also suggested that she fill the syringe with 1 Unit more than her dose, twist out the excess until she is close to where she wants to be, and then hold up her set-and-locked caliper to see how close she is. Then she can fine tune. I also suggested that if she thinks there is more insulin in a 1.25U dose than there should be, she should decrease the dose (take off some of the fat and experiment). Once she fine tunes the dose and has her calipers set correctly, she should not worry about what the dose is "called"--just call it something close to what it is (for the benefit of others) and make a note in the "remarks" section of her Spreadsheet how large the dose is in mm.

Good luck, Debra & Yoyo!
Thank you, Ella. The MJs I was using way back when were made by CanAm. Probably differed from Tyco because we were in different parts of the country.
 
Back
Top