4/4 AMPS 315 Charlie Day 4

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kristina & Charlie :)

Member Since 2013
I need to get better testing in the PM. I shoot him at 6:45 and normally test him only once after...
I'm not too worried of him getting too low with the .5U, I predict .75U in my very near future. I will need to be on top of it for sure when I up the juice.
Have a great day everyone!!! bcatrun_gif
 
Actually you are doing fine on getting pm tests I seldom get anything past a +3 at night unless Autumn looks like she is headed for the basement. Mom's gotta sleep too ya know?

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
So, I was wondering if you could tell me why he was in the blues the first day, and then back to yellow and pink after that....is this that shed thing people talk about?

Also, I think I'm not going to worry about testing him too much until I up the juice, like you said, he isn't swan diving off of .5...
Thanks!!!! :mrgreen:
 
I can't give you the exact biological reason for it, but I have seen it alot even in my own cats, where in the very beginning they react really hard to those first couple of doses after not having insulin for awhile and then it seems their bodies get use to the extra help and they go higher and stay there until you up the dose. Then again it also could be a bounce off those blues that send him to that 400 and those can take up to 3 days to clear, which is why we hold a dose for so long to allow them to get use to it and show us exactly what numbers they are really going to give us.

Right now there just isn't a lot of data to know which it is, so he is either clearing a bounce, or just has a little bit of what we affectionally refer to as New Dose Wonkiness. Once he has been on insulin for awhile it will become easier and easier to tell which is which, as he should establish a pattern that will let you know. Like if every time you change doses on him he jets up for a few days and then slowly gets lower and lower then you will know it is just NDW, but if you see him drop either really low, or at least lower than he has been in awhile in a cycle then flies up for a few days that is a bounce.

The thing to remember (and this was a tough one for me in the beginning) is that they can bounce off any number. They don't have to go super low to bounce, just lower than they are use to. So if he was say staying all the time in the 300s and suddenly goes all the way down to the low 200s while not dangerously low, it still feels weird to him and his body wants to go back to what it has learned as normal, so it releases stored sugars and counterregulatory hormones which raise him back up. Think of it like when you have been driving on a highway going 75 mph and suddenly have to slow down to 45mph to go through a town, while 45 isn't particularly slow, it still feels like you are crawling along because you have gotten use to what it feels like to be going 75mph.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top