4.4.15 Queenie ~ AMPS 252, +2 220, +6 95, +11 95, PMPS 88, + 3 44, +4 49, +5 49/62/54, +6 68

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris & Queenie

Member Since 2015


Yesterday's Fun


Good Morning All! Beautiful here in Maryland today! Q had a good overnight. I am stunned she is not higher this morning. I sure hope she does not take a nose dive in the next few hours. I am busy with family today and I've told her to behave.

I am feeling pretty confused when I look back over my SS and bet you guys are too. But maybe this is typical in the first month. I know Q has been bouncing a lot due to just getting started and every time it looks like we might have a little stability building I do something that causes trouble (wayward food left out, fur shot, timer set wrong...) But she has gained weight, her coat is much silkier and she's not nearly as obsessed with the water bowl, even when she spikes. So I know we are making progress, it's just that darn SS and I really don't want to stress over it long term.

I have a very busy month ahead and at the end of it I will be out of town for a week. I am thinking I will take Q with me. I will be managing a livestock event and my hotel room will be within walking distance of the show, I just worry that I'll be distracted with the job and not fully able to manage a bouncy cat. I was really hoping for more stability by this point when I started last month. Am I being too anxious? Do any of you see a pattern here at all?
 
Last edited:
Thanks @Vicki and Liz.... Glad we are sticking in the yellows for now. She'll be surfin those blues and greens again in no time....just no low greens today, OK Q?
 
A month is huge in FD - I wouldn't even begin to try to figure out now what to do then. What I can see is that she's making great progress. She spent all that time in green yesterday morning, and then even though you skipped her shot last night, here she is in green already this morning.

That's fantastic!!
 
It was 5 months before China's spreadsheet started to look like we were actually getting somewhere, so give it some time! Would be wonderful if they'd all just go "poof" one day and start to be regulated, but it doesn't work that way very often...LOL

While you're at your event, you might set your phone alarm to "remind" you (if you need to go back to check on Q)...at least that would be one way to make sure you didn't lose track of time on days that you're busy and she needs to be checked more often......of course explaining that you need to run to poke your cat might be interesting.....lol

Hope you have a good time with the family today!
 
Yep, I use my phone alarm all the time so no issue there. But as manager of the event there are times I simply get too wrapped up in putting out fires to take time to do much of anything I need to do for myself....if you catch my drift....:eek: It's 5 of the most brutal days of every year for me....

I may look into finding a room at the venue I can put her in. Not sure that will work though. She's very laid back but I'd worry about her stress level.
 
I am in disbelief and a little scared. +11 was 95, PMPS was 91. I have to go out again...will be back in 2 to 3 hours. So I shot my usual dose but gave a little gravy on top of her regular food just so I could fool myself and feel a little safer. Will be able to stay up tonight if I need to. And will be around all day tomorrow. Family stuff will be behind me for a few days.

Happy Hoppy Everybody!
 
Clearly earning a reduction! And so far she seems to be fine. giving some HC gravy and a bit of Friskies Classic Pate. Will be keeping a close eye on her...
 
Ok just tested at +5 and got a 49, a 62 and a 54 all in a row. She's had a few teaspoons of HC gravy. Still symptom free.
 
+6 is 68. Any comments? Just gave some more gravy and some Fiskies. Small few chunks of the FF too. Going to check at +8.

If I have understood correctly, you would recommend a .25 reduction in the am?
 
Last edited:
Yes...dropping below 50 in a newly diagnosed cat (under a year) is a reduction, so she's earned the reduction back to 1.75U

I'd stop feeding and get a test at +7...if she's still in the upper 60's or climbing, maybe one more at +8 and as long as she's still good, you're probably good to call it a night
 
Yes...dropping below 50 in a newly diagnosed cat (under a year) is a reduction, so she's earned the reduction back to 1.75U

I'd stop feeding and get a test at +7...if she's still in the upper 60's or climbing, maybe one more at +8 and as long as she's still good, you're probably good to call it a night


Thanks Chris, she just finished her snack so I'll pick up the bowl. I think I'll split the difference and get a test at +7.5. She has always given me a food spike.
 
Generally, what we'll suggest is that once they're into the 60's, you stop feeding and check every 30 minutes for the next hour.

If they're still climbing after those 2 tests, get 1 more test an hour later so you've tested for the 2 hours after the last time they get food...if they're still in safe numbers, it's usually safe to relax

Of course if they drop back below 50, the "2 hour clock" starts over again!

I have to be up in 4 hours to get mom to a sunrise service for Easter, so I'll leave you with a large cup of coffee and best wishes for some sleep soon! :coffee:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top