4/30 Yemala PMPS 115 +3 83

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 4/30 Yemala AMPS 53 Do we shoot?

I think you have the wrong yesterday's condo linked there,,,,but anyway, fix that later

if you are stalling you may want to retest to see if the number is working its way up.
are you home to monitor?
 
Re: 4/30 Yemala AMPS 53

We overslept, and she's already 1.5 hours past her normal breakfast and dose time. We can't stall longer - kitty will eat food or she'll eat another cat. Or so she says.
 
Re: 4/30 Yemala AMPS 53

ok I see.
if you are going to skip, the 53 would be your AMBG instead of AMPS

it would be interesting where she goes during this cycle without a shot this morning.
if you can, try to test her thru the day, example, a few hours after breakfast
 
Re: 4/30 Yemala AMBG 53

Sorry - forgot the correct lingo this AM. Still not awake.

So this is a doscrease merely because we're late, and then we're not shooting. Right? We'll test around +3 - Mala tends to have a very late nadir, and nothing will matter until a few hours from now.
 
Re: 4/30 Yemala AMBG 53

Hi guys .. this is a very nice start to the day .. and I agree, it will be interesting to see where yemala goes without a shot this morning .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 4/30 Yemala AMBG 53 +3 143

She's climbed up to 143 without an AM shot. I'm second guessing our decision not to give a dose (not that we can now - way too late). Should we have shot this?
 
Re: 4/30 Yemala AMBG 53 +3 143 Questions

Question about starting an OTJ trial - what are the indications that would suggest her pancreas is now working again, and how do we go about this? Given the blue number she has at +3 she may not be quite ready yet, but how do we get her ready? What should we see when she is ready?
 
Re: 4/30 Yemala AMBG 53 +3 143 +10 129

And now here she is at +10 down to 129 all by herself. We'll do a .1 in a couple hours, it looks like.
 
Re: 4/30 Yemala AMBG 53 +3 143 +10 129 QUESTION

Yemala is sitting at a 115 12 hours after we did her AMBG. She had no shot this morning, and she's been largely in the blues all day.

I'm thinking we shoot a .1, but I'm willing to be convinced otherwise. Suggestions?
 
Re: 4/30 Yemala AMBG 53 +3 143 +10 129 +12 115 QUESTION

Take a look at Mocha's SS. That will give you an idea of what a SS should look like for a cat that's ready to go on an OTJ trial. I think there's still too much blue.

Try the 0.1u. I tend to think it's best to shoot a consistent dose, twice a day. It's the only way to keep the numbers down and help to support the pancreas.
 
Re: 4/30 Yemala AMBG 53 +3 143 +10 129 +12 115 QUESTION

I agree, she's still got too much blue. I've been casing the SS of other kitties who are doing trial runs. Mala is close, but no cigar yet.

We're shooting a .1 and feeding. I'll post +4 numbers and see where she is.
 
Re: 4/30 Yemala AMBG 53 +3 143 +10 129 +12 115 QUESTION

But question - should we have given her a shot this AM, when she had a 53? How low is too low to shoot?
 
Re: 4/30 Yemala AMBG 53 +3 143 +10 129 +12 115 QUESTION

personally, i don't like to see anyone shooting when kitty is under 50. some people do, but they have tons (in some cases years) of data to support their decision. however, even when shooting a 50 you'll want to be available to monitor... especially until you've accumulated enough of data to know how your kitty will react. it's all about "knowing thy cat". :mrgreen:
 
woo-hooo! the last dose. :mrgreen:

when alex went back on insulin after being OTJ for almost 3 years i purposely tested her a lot to illustrate how we shoot full doses on low preshot numbers to achieve the shallow, flat curves lantus and levemir are known for. these shallow curves allow us to take the dose all the way down to 0.1u before trying an OTJ trial. we've found these gradual reductions give kitty the best chance at a strong remission.

click on the ss link in my signature and then choose the 2009 tab to see what i mean.
 
We'll monitor tomorrow morning. I've been reducing Mala's ear sticks, as the poor thing has a terrible scab on one ear and they really seem to bug her. We stick her ... a lot.

If she's under 100, we'll try and give just a drop. Had we done so today, I think she would have stayed out of the blues. We'll give some small snacks during the day, to keep her up as well.

She's so close now. I think the drop Mala got tonight was the one on the tip of the needle. Nearly nothing, but just a little something to help her out.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top