KRams
Member Since 2019
Hi all, since her diagnosis and a complete switch to wet food (Friskies pate) Xena has been improving drastically!
But I'd really appreciate if someone with more experience could take a look at her chart; I'm only administering 0.25 U when her BG is above 200. I'm hesitant to administer more because sometimes that seems to be enough for her to drop very low.
I'm worried about two things:
(1) reliability of administering such a low dose. I'm using BD 1/2 unit syringes but I don't think it's particularly accurate when the dose is becoming quite so fine and I worry that some of her swings could be due to dosage variability. I know some folks use calipers to try to measure, but that still relies on lining up the syringe and calipers perfectly. Does anyone have an even smaller needle or know how to dilute Lantus properly (what solution is it dissolved in? I know it's suppose to be acidic).
(2) Any advice on if this is even the correct approach? When I initially was doing research, I had hoped to move from SLGS to tight regulation. With such fine dosing, I am extremely hesitant to do so, not wanting to risk hypo episodes when I'm not home and have just stuck to a guideline of not shooting unless BG is above 200.
TIA!
But I'd really appreciate if someone with more experience could take a look at her chart; I'm only administering 0.25 U when her BG is above 200. I'm hesitant to administer more because sometimes that seems to be enough for her to drop very low.
I'm worried about two things:
(1) reliability of administering such a low dose. I'm using BD 1/2 unit syringes but I don't think it's particularly accurate when the dose is becoming quite so fine and I worry that some of her swings could be due to dosage variability. I know some folks use calipers to try to measure, but that still relies on lining up the syringe and calipers perfectly. Does anyone have an even smaller needle or know how to dilute Lantus properly (what solution is it dissolved in? I know it's suppose to be acidic).
(2) Any advice on if this is even the correct approach? When I initially was doing research, I had hoped to move from SLGS to tight regulation. With such fine dosing, I am extremely hesitant to do so, not wanting to risk hypo episodes when I'm not home and have just stuck to a guideline of not shooting unless BG is above 200.
TIA!