4/30 Red AMPS 158 Need Advice!

Status
Not open for further replies.

carolyn16

Member Since 2013
Red is on 2 1/2 units of Lantus. I increased his dose 5 days ago to 2 1/2 units. Last night at PMPS he was at 226. Then this morning he's now @ 158. Some people told me to forgo his shot, others said to decrease it. Thanks for any help!
 
Hi Laura, I am not seeing any numbers in Red's spreadsheet since March 11. It's impossible to responsibly provide advice without any data. Dosing isn't just based on a couple of numbers but on the measurements from at least a couple of weeks. It would also be helpful to have some comments about how Red is feeling and behaving and any illness. It sounds like you are completely on top of his care so great job!
Liz
 
Do you have more data for your spreadsheet and you just haven't put it in yet?
If this is the lowest you've ever shot, it's difficult to be helpful.
That sheet helps every one be able to offer advice.
We see patterns and your cats reaction to the insulin.

I think they are telling you about a BCS shot. ( big chicken shot)
That is when you are afraid to shoot a low number but don't want to lose all the momentum you have.
And you give a lesser amount.


It's important to have the data to see ....
That amps which is an ambg until you shoot.... could be a rising number or a descending number. And that's important to know
to determine what to do.

You can also stall if you schedule permits and test again....in 30 minutes to see if the number is rising or descending....
 
Hi guys .. I don't think I've been to Red's condo before so welcome from us .. no dosing advice from us either, but I hope someone comes along soon with some ideas .. have a great day!
 
Sadly I can't get the spreadsheet to let me enter numbers as I'm on an old computer now. My teen spilled water on our Apple laptop & don't have $700 to get it fixed now.

Red was at 158 for his AMPS, +1 143 and now @ +2 he's at 107 so I have not given him a shot. Luckily I am home today & not working but have to take my oldest cat to the vet his afternoon. Red is on Lantus & I upped his dose from 2 units to 2 1/2 units 5 days ago. Holding off on his shot & re-checking him 1 hr. from now.

Thank you for responding. My vet & assistant are not up-to-date on diabetes at all & I really rely on this board & a few friends ALOT!
 
Sounds like skipping is the safest thing to do this morning. Generally, the dose should be increased in 0.25u increments so that you don't miss a good dose. Great job on testing! Vets are amazing, with all the different critters, diseases and conditions that they deal with in their practices. But they don't deal with FD 24/7 like the folks around here. I'm glad you found LantusLand to help with Red's care. I'm sorry about the computer. Could you possibly use one at the library?
Liz
 
Ouch! Water and computers don't play well. Any chance you have a smart phone? The Google Drive app will let you enter data into a SS from either a smart phone or tablet. If those aren't options, could you give us a couple of days worth of data in your thread if you still need help?

Usually, on the other Boards on the FDMB, a "post and ask for help" pre-shot number is 200 or below. On this Board, we use 150. With Lantus, we typically will aim to shoot progressively lower numbers. You may find this starred sticky note helpful. It discusses what to do if you have a low pre-shot or low numbers and walks you through the options and/or process for managing these situations. It sounds like Red's numbers were dropping so it was probably safest to hold off on the shot.

Just out of curiosity, were you seeing consistent nadirs that were over 300? If Red's nadirs were more generally below 300, you might have considered increasing by 0.25u. Otherwise, increasing by 0.5u is double the typical dose increase. With the Tight Regulation Protocol (or Start Low Go Slow, for that matter), dose increases are usually small and systematic so you don't inadvertently miss what would be a good dose.
 
Carolyn

If you shoot three hours late, you need to shoot 12 hours from the time you shoot and then make it up by shooting early 15 mins each cycle or 30 mins once a day. Unless he skyrockets. If he goes really high in the cycle, you can shoot as early as +10 from when you shoot today provided you watch him closely and test.

I hope you can get the SS updated....it is really hard for us to give dosing advice without it.
 
there is a typo....
that should say 15 minutes.... the colored part....


If you shoot three hours late, you need to shoot 12 hours from the time you shoot and then make it up by shooting early -5 mins each cycle or 30 mins once a day.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top