4/30 Pumpkin AMPS 331, IGF blood draw success

Jacques and Pumpkin

Member Since 2023
Yesterday

Drifting up a little since the nice results we got after the increase to 9U. Looks like we're on our way to another increase tomorrow.

I just got back from the vet to get Pumpkin's blood drawn for the IGF-1 and IAA tests.

I can't say enough good things about the team at Modern Animal. They're a chain, and they have a fancy IT system to manage appointments, medical records, lab reports, virtual consultations, and whatnot. It's nice and seamless when you're doing things within their system. But, their system doesn't integrate with the MSU lab, so the only way they can order the IGF-1 and IAA tests is via Idexx, who apply a massive markup and then lose the sample :banghead:. Instead of saying "sorry, that's just the way it works" they worked with me to collect a sample so that I could send it myself for 1/5 the cost.

When I showed up, the vet tech had been fully briefed by the vet on what was up. She had the instructions from the MSU site on sample prep requirements, and talked through what I needed to do to send it in. It was stuff I'd already read up on, but for someone who isn't quite as confident navigating the medical world it would have been a lifesaver.

I went home with a sample packed up and on ice. I just need to put it in the freezer overnight, put it in a thermal insulator tomorrow, and then overnight it to the lab.
 
I was looking for an update for Pumpkin. How long before you get the results?

We just upped Allie's dose to 6 units twice a day. I printed the instructions for the IGF-1 and IAA tests and will more than likely drop them off at my vets either tomorrow or Tuesday on my way back from the doctors and discuss the issues I'm concerned with.

Insulin goes fast at these high doses and she is always ready to eat!

Wishing you and Pumpkin all the best!
 
I was looking for an update for Pumpkin. How long before you get the results?

We just upped Allie's dose to 6 units twice a day. I printed the instructions for the IGF-1 and IAA tests and will more than likely drop them off at my vets either tomorrow or Tuesday on my way back from the doctors and discuss the issues I'm concerned with.

Insulin goes fast at these high doses and she is always ready to eat!

Wishing you and Pumpkin all the best!

They run the IGF-1 tests on Wednesdays and they take two days, so I’ll hopefully have results on Friday. The timeline for the IAA test is less clear.

Good luck with your testing.
 
Sounds like a great vet, working with clients to make things happen.

The sample has to get to MSU by Tuesday for you to get results this week. Paws crossed for fast shipping. Me on the other hand, totally messed up the timing and had to wait an extra week for results. :banghead:
 
Back
Top