4/30 Luci AMPS 230 ,1+203,2+139,3+73.3.5+56,4+72,4.5 69,5+51,5.5+69,6+63,6.5+93,7+114,9+358,PMPS361

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sue and Luci

Member Since 2017
Yesterday

Going for an increase today - the numbers are telling me she's too high - too much sugar flying around in there - let's get to the lagoon for some rest and restoration of our little pancreas. She should see how quickly some of the other kitties turn around and stay in the low blues and greens...come on Luci...:bookworm:
 
Yesterday

Going for an increase today - the numbers are telling me she's too high - too much sugar flying around in there - let's get to the lagoon for some rest and restoration of our little pancreas. She should see how quickly some of the other kitties turn around and stay in the low blues and greens...come on Luci...:bookworm:
Looks like a drop at +1....... might want to get a +2 given that Luci likes those dramatic early dives.
 
Ok, she's surfing along now - I wasn't able to get a 2.5 - however did give her a tsp of MC + one drop of honey - I put it on my finger and then on the back of her paw - she immediately licked it...so I can check her again at 3.5 to see what the effect of the MC + honey will be. I'd sure like to keep her surfing for a bit and not scare her back to the beach...surf Luci, surf!!
 
Take it easy, Luci. Take in the views on the water!!
mockup-380e853b_800x.jpg
 
Take it easy, Luci. Take in the views on the water!!
mockup-380e853b_800x.jpg
She's surfing! I'm so excited. Still testing every half hour -- trying to steer her a little this way and a little that way. So far, so good. I'll keep checking her every half hour until she's back on shore. She seems to be feeling just fine - playing with her toys! It does appear that the dosecrease came at a good time - hope she's going to be able to surf for a while. Just gave her another teaspoon of HC since she dropped a few points...fingers and paws crossed! :nailbiting::nailbiting::D:nailbiting::nailbiting: mama is standing on the beach shouting instructions...Luci! Can you hear me? Stay on the board now!!
 
Is it always going to be this tightrope walk? She's at 51 now - testing every half hour otherwise I'm sure she'd be down with the sharks! Every half hour she gets some food - this time it was HC + 1 drop honey. She eats it all right up...another half hour will tell the tale...either the food is going to steer her in the right direction or she'll visit with those darn sharks...:nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting:
 
Luci is getting close to nadir. Do you know when that normally is?
Usually around 3+ or 4+ however on 3/18 and 3/26 she would have said much later! As late at 7+ / 8+ - we may have a few more hours in front of us - or the HC will take hold and fling her up a tree - beyond the beach...she's done that before too...

Is Levemir an insulin that helps cats with all the bouncing? When I see the vet in the next week or so (for the dental cleaning)...I would ask him, unfortunately vets don't always have the best answers for those kinds of questions...He doesn't understand why I reduce her dosage when she drops below 40...so that kinda tells me that he may or may not know anything about a different insulin. I've just been reading around on the board and noticed someone commented that it made quite a difference in stabilizing their kitty.

We still have half a vial of Lantus...not ready to toss it by any means...just wondering. I'd sure love to see her surf along every day this week - but she's a 'diver' and shark lover as we've all seen from her response to other dose increases...I'm just hoping she'll settle down at some point and stay in the safe green lagoon and not go so far down - scares me to death when she does that!
 
Usually around 3+ or 4+ however on 3/18 and 3/26 she would have said much later! As late at 7+ / 8+
On 3/18, that was a bounce clearing cycle. On 3/26, that was a nice flat green cycle once you pulled her out of the lime green.

I just realized that Luci had another flat yellow cycle overnight. She may have come down either way with or without the increase this morning. But let's see if 1.5u can keep her in greens more than 1.25u did.

Now Luci, I know that HC food is yummy, but if you could come up into the 60's and surf there, that would make your bean thrilled!! :D
 
So, with the response we had today - should I still hold the dose at 1.5 for tonight? I know that as a general rule doses are held for at least 4-6 cycles before changing - has anyone ever had a larger dose in the a.m. and slightly smaller dose in the PM to avoid all this steering? I had to test her every half hour to keep her away from the sharks - she got awfully close at 5+ - would hate to have to do all that steering in the middle of the night - it's happened...but DH is usually the one on watch at night - and he's not very happy about testing every 30 minutes - he typically waits and tests her at 2 hour intervals - 1 hour if I insist! But asking him to do it every 30 minutes, might be pushing it...he'll probably just tell me to get up and take care of her :(

Anyway, is it ever done so as not to push her in too deep at night?
 
Lantus needs to be given in consistent doses or you will get wonky numbers.

I would recommend to stay with 1.5u. I think it should be fine. You aren't increasing so there shouldn't be a reason for Luci to be crazy tonight. I see she is already up to 114 so she might be high at PMPS.

@Gill & George and @Bobbie And Bubba:
Your thoughts?
 
I would try to hang on to it if you’re up for it. If it was a real struggle to keep her numbers up today and you desperately need some rest, that’s a different story. She will likely be high from all the sugar today as it can have a delayed impact and/or will bounce the next cycle. She’s rarely had 2 determined green cycles in a row (but you know because I’m saying this here, she’s going to throw mud in my eye and prove me wrong :p). Even if you did decide to drop the dose, I wouldn’t do it on tonight’s cycle if PMPS is pink or something, I would shoot through that bounce and hope for a better start on a reduced dose the next cycle.
 
Looks like she is bouncing up all ready so I would hold this dose. I was sort of thinking this was going to happen. She had that flat yellow cycle the AM of the 27th then the FS which disrupted the depot. I think she might have made her way to greens with the 1.25 dose had that not happened. This is the 2nd time she has tried 1.5 and gone low......

Probably tonight she will be fine with the 1.5 dose because she is heading upwards all ready and then really monitor her tomorrow as you did today. I do think it's a matter of time for the reduction and for 1.25 to show you what it can do.
 
Looks like she is bouncing up all ready so I would hold this dose. I was sort of thinking this was going to happen. She had that flat yellow cycle the AM of the 27th then the FS which disrupted the depot. I think she might have made her way to greens with the 1.25 dose had that not happened. This is the 2nd time she has tried 1.5 and gone low......

Probably tonight she will be fine with the 1.5 dose because she is heading upwards all ready and then really monitor her tomorrow as you did today. I do think it's a matter of time for the reduction and for 1.25 to show you what it can do.

Now she's really into the bounce! Look at that +9... Hopefully tomorrow will be a good day for her...and soon maybe we can think about that reducie again? She does seem to be improving over all - I'm seeing more greens and blues in the last month...than we had in any previous month :D:D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top