4/30 Latte AMPS~354, PMPS-227 (vet update)

Status
Not open for further replies.

carolynandlatte

Very Active Member
I'm 100% certain Latte has a UTI.
She peed herself last night while I was brushing her. She woke me up screaming this a.m. @ 5am, in/out of LB, urine spots everywhere she lays.
It is the absolute worst to watch this and be able to do nothing, but wait for the vet to open in 1.5hrs.

She has been sitting mainly above renal threshold for weeks now. Add the pred and its a perfect recipe.

Since I increased her dose earlier this week she has been below RT, but only until she bounces. I feel like there is nothing I can do.

After I get her in I have some important and unfun biz to take care of, so may not be able to update until later this afternoon or evening. I certainly hope its 'just' an infection..

So much for my first day off in 2 weeks :(

At least she has eaten some this a.m. and overnight.

yesterday
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=13207
 
Re: 4/30 Latte AMPS~354 Infection

Hi and good luck at the Vet. I am not sure, but I have a feeling my little girl may have the beginnings of a bladder infection. She digs and digs in the litter box and does urinate, but not as much as usual. Other times she digs and digs and covers it up, but when I check, there's no poo in the box. Is this what Latte would do in the box? I may take her in just for preventive care just in case there is something going on! Take care and keep us updated on Lattee when you are able.
 
Re: 4/30 Latte AMPS~354 Infection

Poor Latte. I hope it's just a UTI and the vet gets her fixed up. Hugs to you both!
 
Re: 4/30 Latte AMPS~354 Infection

(((((Carolyn & Latte))))) I hope all goes well at the vet and that Latte is feeling better soon. Poor kitty, cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 4/30 Latte AMPS~354 Infection

((Carolyn & Latte))

I hope all goes well at the vet today and nothing serious for sweet Latte.
Hugs to both of you.
Please let us know when you have news.
 
Re: 4/30 Latte AMPS~354 Infection

(((((Carolyn & Latte))))) Hope it is a UTI and not anything else. Sending healing vines. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 4/30 Latte AMPS~354 Infection

Hi, Carolyn & Latte!! Soooooo sorry to hear about the possible UTI, but good luck at the vets.. healing for her & some relaxation/sleep for you!! sometimes it just never seems to get easy :YMHUG:
 
Re: 4/30 Latte AMPS~354 Infection

wow - sorry to read that! I hope all goes well at the vet,and that latte recovers quickly! Good luck - ((((hugs)))) from Mannie and me.
 
Re: 4/30 Latte AMPS~354 Infection

Oh Carolyn!!! I am so sorry for our latte girl....I hope the vet can help her quickly...
you poor babies... (((((Carolyn & Latte)))))
I have been thinking of you two soooo much...I hope she will feel better soon.
Isn't it great that you had the day off so you can bring her to the vet right away? Good luck with your other stuff...
unfun things are a pain. Thinking of you both and hoping the day goes well for both of youz...
:YMHUG:

FWIW...here is your last condo from Wed... viewtopic.php?f=9&t=13207
 
Re: 4/30 Latte AMPS~354 Infection

(((Carolyn))) Sending Latte healing vines. I hope the vet can give her something that will work quickly.
 
Re: 4/30 Latte AMPS~354 Infection

Oh what a start to your time off. Hope it is a UTI and she can get comfortable fast.
Sending healing thoughts
 
Re: 4/30 Latte AMPS~354 Infection

Got in/out quicker than we thought. Had to see the vet I do not like. Strangely she was incredibly kind AND waived a few charges.

Her immediate question when she saw her butt was "Can we clean and shave her?" She thought there was a good chance she actually does not have a uti, rather major irritation from constantly being wet back there. She was very sore and red. I refused the steroid cream so she suggested zinc oxide. Does anyone know if there is a problem using that? I was given an e-collar to assist ME when trying to clean her. Its going to be very hard.

Her bladder was empty so they only got a potentially contaminated drop. I have some orbax, but will try and wait on giving it until tomorrow when we get culture results. Depending on the results we will try again tomorrow , just start the a/b, OR decide it was her poor inflammed butt as the cause. If she continues like she did this a.m. I will give the a/b today.

The vet said her bg,s should not be going up/down so much and wanted to see a curve. She is aware that I home test. I showed her Latte's bg ffrom before we left, then tested in the office. She had dropped 100pts. She was amazed. I will send her the link to my ss. Its nice of her to consider trying to figure it out. (Little snicker).

I stopped on the way home to call Amy. Latte was meowing in a demanding voice. Guess she wanted to get home. Got stuck behind a garbage truck in the alley just houses away. Latte started scratching at the carrier. She found a treat (who knows how old/stale) and started eating it. Had to nicely nudge the truck along..."Cat going hypo!" haha. Dropped Latte off in front of her wet food, but went to kibble instead. She ate so fast she pushed the bowl onto the floor and then tried to continue figuring out how to eat it! I just switched it with wet at that point with kibble sprinkled on it. She ate that too.

Her +4.5 was 165. +2.5 was 317.. Guess we will be getting another bounce soon.

I will stay home a few more hrs to nap and watch her before heading out to the dreaded errand.

Maybe tomorrow Latte and I can rest together all day, and even catch up on everyone in LL
 
Re: 4/30 Latte AMPS~354, +4.25~165 (vet update)

Glad you got her in and out quickly, sorry about the frantic start to your day. Good luck with the unpleasant tasks, too, hopefully they'll be just as quickly dispensed of.

Scritches to your princess, hope she heals quickly.
 
Re: 4/30 Latte AMPS~354, +4.25~165 (vet update)

At least there are some options to sort out.

There's some info on zinc toxicity in cats on the web. There are also some comments about Sudocreme, which has a number of problematic ingredients. On the other hand, there are other comments about the use of these creams and zinc oxide is a primary component in ointments used to treat diaper rash -- so it's safe in babies. I think the concerns are more regarding ingesting zinc.
 
AMPS- 354
+1- 309 (pred)
+2.5- 317 (fluids,then left for vet)
+3.5 - 215 (at vet)
+4.25- 165 (immediately after returning home...and her eating escapade :lol: )
+6- 139
PMPS-227 (pred)

I think I might go back to my theory of a UTI. I noticed a little blood on her pee pad outside the litter box. Though Im not seeing dribbles anywhere. However, I do think I see a very tiny bit of dried blood in her butt area (I may need some education on all the parts :? ). So maybe it came from there as she was peeing? :YMSIGH: I think she has been sleeping all day since I left. She is quiet this evening, but that is not unusual for this time. I will do what I can to hold off on the a/b (orbax) until tomorrow. Im guessing we will need to do a c/s.

I looked at the zinc oxide but couldnt get myself to buy it. It says on the package, if ingested seek Emergency care immediately. Well gosh. I dont think latte can reach that area. But what if I got it accidently on a spot or misjudged how far back she can clean?!?! So, I went to the holistic pet store. They told me to go accross the street to the food coop. The woman suggested Shea Butter. I bought a small bit in bulk. Does anyone know if nuts, specifically shea is bad if a cat ingests it?!? She also found some milk/honey bar soap with no fragrance or residue that she thought might be good to use for cleaning the area. Unfortunately, when I tried gently wiping with a cloth...she PEED herself on her throne. :sad: Did I make her do that?!?! Now, how am I suppose to clean her if she is just going to pee when I do it?

This day really stunk, I tell ya. BUT...Pat is right, at least it happened on my first day off in nearly two weeks. Its almost as if she planned it! :twisted: Poor thing. Really, though. She was just waiting until she knew momma could take care of her. Then the vet I never liked had to see her and she was incredibly kind, compassionate, funny, AND wiped off some of the charges. :shock: :shock: The people at the food coop were so generous with their time to help me find something that might help and not hurt Latte...they didnt laugh at me! A few other dirty errands were uhhhh ...not resolving, but productive in the right direction I hope. NOW, I get to eat dinner and take me a mid evening nap.

Tomorrow...tomorrow I soooooooo want to catch up with everyone!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
My goodness! what a day you have had! I hope you get some rest. I think Latte knows you have time for her, and are doing your best for her.

It is an interesting discussion on finding something for the cleaning aspect... been there with Mannie, so am more than interested on how it all pans out. I could you some help in that area, as it is amazing what areas a cat can reach to clean and remove some obnoxious item we beans have used on them, when they put their minds to it...

Good luck, take care. Mannie and I send positive thoughts to you, for you and Latte.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top