4/30: Lando AMPS 81! +9.5 58, PMPS 68

TankNRK

Member Since 2022
Previous Post:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-29-lando-amps-96-1u-club.276988/#post-3067892

Lando's ending April with a bang!! We had a little flat bounce for about 24 hours and now we have a BEAUTIFUL 81 this morning!
He's slept in the bed on my pillow tucked under my chin every night for a week now, like he used to long before his diagnosis <3 we're in the 1u club now!

A mutual friend introduced me to someone else online on the other side of the country who just got her baby diagnosed and has been feeling a little overwhelmed not knowing where to start. I've forwarded her to here and to the FB group, and I've been doing my best to educate her and encourage her. It was hard for us when we were starting. The financial strain, emotional strain, exhaustion, everything to learn.... And I promised myself I'd pass along the love. I don't know all the answers but I know a lot that a newbie needs! So I've been helping guide her lately.
All the things she says I remember so well from my early days. I keep reminding her that she's not tackling this alone that everyone all over the world is here for her and to trust the process. Lando is proof of that!

Happy Sunday everyone, love y'all tons <3 :)
 
Came home from work, Lando was acting hungrier then usual... At his 9.5 he's 58!!!!

He had a snack at +1.5,+3,+5.5,+7.
I'm worried he was hypo while I was at work today, goodness! He's only had 3 doses at 1 unit so far... Should I reduce again tonight or is it just the DEPO and I should hold the 1u longer? I have a STRONG FEELING he went hypo today! :nailbiting:
 
The larger depot lasts 4-6 cycles after a reduction. When following TR, we wait until we see an under 50 before reducing. We don't consider what might have been. It's good you had food out for him to help him stay safe.
Understood! :) I'll need a confirmation of a hypo! So I'll keep holding the 1u until I see confirmation next time, and I can expect a couple more days of him cycling through that to see the REAL numbers from the reduction. Thank you for your advice!
 
A number below 50 may or may not be a "hypo", but rather a low number. Some cats not on insulin can test in the 40's, we just don't want to see cats ON insulin go there, hence we give reductions to newly diagnosed cats if they go below 50. Note, for long term diabetics (longer than 1 year since diagnosis), the TR reduction point goes to below 40.
 
A number below 50 may or may not be a "hypo", but rather a low number. Some cats not on insulin can test in the 40's, we just don't want to see cats ON insulin go there, hence we give reductions to newly diagnosed cats if they go below 50. Note, for long term diabetics (longer than 1 year since diagnosis), the TR reduction point goes to below 40.
Awesome this is great to know!
Lando's PMPS was 68, so hoping he doesn't go hypo again tonight even at 1 unit o_O if he does we're still gonna hold the dose, correct?
 
Back
Top