4/30 Ella pmps 509 +2=475 +5=468

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 4/30 Ella +11=142 +11.5=113 am=95+1=65 +1.5=40+11=482

Ella, you are such a mystery.

Someone will get back to you on your dosing question for tomorrow morning.
 
Re: 4/30 Ella +11=142 +11.5=113 am=95+1=65 +1.5=40+11=482

tpr said:
Just called the vet to see what time the kitty crack was given and she ate it at 9:30am. Not sure if this helps to put anything in to perspective but I thought I would share.
I would add that to your spreadsheet, if you haven't already done so.
And you can now change your Subject Line to (what is hard to write..believe me, I know) PMPS 509
 
Re: 4/30 Ella +11=142 +11.5=113 am=95+1=65 +1.5=40+11=482

Wah!!! I don't want to Dyana:(
I'm so peeved at them!
 
Re: 4/30 Ella +11=142 +11.5=113 am=95+1=65 +1.5=40+11=482

tpr said:
Thanks Jill:)
pmps 509 ...an all time record high:(

If she is in the pinks tomorrow shall I dose her again?
Wow, what a time you have had the past few days!

Let's see how tonight goes before deciding about the morning. I would say the answer is that most likely you will want to skip tomorrow. Usually once Ella starts to come down, she comes down pretty fast, and we want to see if she will do that again tonight. If you can get a couple of spot checks tonight, we might be able to have a plan before you go to bed. Then plan on posting your +11 in the morning. I'm really interested to see what Ella does with this dose tonight.
 
Re: 4/30 Ella pmps 509:(

Believe me, I know how hard it is to write that.
You don't know, maybe the vets tried all kinds of wet food, and finally got her to eat a little kibble, knowing she had to eat something.
Did she eat her dinner tonight, okay?
 
Re: 4/30 Ella pmps 509:(

Yes she scarfed it down unassisted! probably due to the fact that she's so high and didn't get her pm snack.
Why can't she do that all the time?! Geez Ella....help me out a little will ya!
I don't think they tried heating it up how she likes it even though I wrote it on her sheet!
 
Re: 4/30 Ella +11=142 +11.5=113 am=95+1=65 +1.5=40+11=482

tpr said:
Just called the vet to see what time the kitty crack was given and she ate it at 9:30am. Not sure if this helps to put anything in to perspective but I thought I would share.

Remembering that ECID, my cat would get a spike from dry about 3hrs after eating it. It would last a few hours beyond that (3-4). Her dry was EVO lowER carb, so its hard to say with a higher carb food and how sensitive one is to it. She could start clearing the dry food spike the same time insulin kicks in. Another good reason to monitor tonight. (which I know you planned on doing! :mrgreen: )
 
Re: 4/30 Ella pmps 509:(

Wow what a carpy day! Greg just left Nestor's dry out and found Ella over it. She couldn't of gotten much, hopefully not any, but this is not what I needed! ohmygod_smile

Carolyn, she's SUPER sensitive to dry:(
 
Re: 4/30 Ella pmps 509:(

breathe! :mrgreen:

it's ok. if she did get into the dry there's nothing we can do about it now. it's not the end of the world anyway.

if there's one thing we know for sure... ella will come down. so take a break. come back with a few spot checks tonight. let's see what her plans are.

i'll be back later to check in on you. there are lots of eyes on ella...
 
Re: 4/30 Ella pmps 509:(

Tamara. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

There is probably not one of us who hasn't overcarbed our own cat at some time. Today was out of your control. No, they didn't do what you wanted but Ella was safe. As the others said, she'll come down.

Julie and I are on the west coast and can generally stay up much later than the others. So I'll also be checking in on you tonight for as long as you need if Ella makes a mad dash down.

Try to relax for this evening. Tomorrow will be better.
 
Re: 4/30 Ella pmps 509:(

Like Jill suggested, a couple of deep breaths. There's nothing you can do about the vet. They think they know better despite your having left instructions.
 
Re: 4/30 Ella pmps 509:(

+2 -475...
Thanks everyone:)
I should look at the positives...she was safe and that's the most important thing:)

Why do you think they are not concerned with her going hypo at such low numbers? They said they have never even had a cat come to clinic during a hypo episode. They think I'm insane for testing so much!
 
Re: 4/30 Ella pmps 509 +2=475

it also sounds like your vet is counting on human meters running at least 20% higher in low numbers.

not much of a drop between pmps and +2. i'd grab a before bed spot check though. how do you feel about skipping tomorrow morning's shot no matter what number she gives you in the morning? i think you'll feel a whole lot better about going to work tomorrow if you skip.
 
Re: 4/30 Ella pmps 509 +2=475

I like Jill's idea of skipping tomorrow morning, even if she is still high. I bet she will come down some more on her own, and if she doesn't then at least we'll have a more clear idea of what she needs. We can evaluate tomorrow evening. What do you think?
 
Re: 4/30 Ella pmps 509 +2=475

She's not budging here +5=468.

When she's this high I don't feel that comfortable with not shooting her. Is that still the consensus if she's at 468?
I also don't want the risk of ketones.
 
Re: 4/30 Ella pmps 509 +2=475

tpr said:
She's not budging here +5=468.

When she's this high I don't feel that comfortable with not shooting her. Is that still the consensus if she's at 468?
I also don't want the risk of ketones.
like libby, i think she'll come down some more before morning, but if she's still 468... i'd have a hard time not shooting. lol!
here's the thing, we know she can drop from high numbers into double digits. it's your call if you want to shoot at the zero line if she remains where she is, but if she's come down some... i'd skip. she's shown a tendency to drop and drop fast as the bounce is breaking. kwim?
 
ok will see in the morning. tomorrow is a day that i can come home over lunch to check on her:)

thank you for all your support:)
 
I'm scanning my ss...and I don't see a time that she has fallen dramatically into the double digits when she's been in the 400's in the same cycle. We usually see the effects the following cycle...am I correct?

edited: not trying to be difficult...just looking at the data:)
 
when she was on a higher dose she dropped from the 400s at pmps and ended up with a green amps, but that was at a higher dose. i also see cycles with preshots of 295 @ 0.25u and a 367 @ 1.25 units.

ella drops rapidly towards the end of one cycle and the beginning of the next cycle. it makes it hard to predict exactly what she'll do... which makes it rough when you have to get to work. frankly, shooting any insulin when she can't be monitored makes me a little nervous... and i'm used to low numbers.


edited to add:

i have to clarify... shooting when she may be clearing a bounce makes me nervous because she may continue to drop too fast before onset occurs.
 
Hey Tamara,
You've had quite a day! Ella too!! Don't overanalyze the situation tonight. You need to sleep. Tomorrow morning you and your "team" will see where she is and decide what dose, if any, to give.

Sleep well. I admire you very much for holding up so well in these difficult circumstances. Brava!

Ella & Rusty
 
i've been gone today - just wanted to lend you a little support tonight. i'm glad you've gotten some awesome advice today! the important thing is that ella is safe.

sleep well!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top