Re: 4/30 Ella +11=142 +11.5=113 am=95+1=65
tpr said:
Sorry for the delayed response!
So she was 40 on my way out the door so I boarded her at the vets!
This is nutty!
I spoke quickly to one of the vets (the least desirable one) and he was shocked that she was on 1 or two drops. He suggested since she was higher at ps at night and that it seems to last so longein her system, that we dose her .5 once per day. Has anyone ever heard baout that with Lantus?
I hope they are checking her levels throughout the day. He didn't seem worried at all that she would go hypo even though I told him about the bg drops over two hours. He said metres (both human and animal) run 20% lower so that people don't inject themselves and cause possible hypos. Does it seem like he knows what he's talking about. he says he's been treating diabetic cats for 30 years.
I don't know what to do anymore
hi tamara. i'm so glad you went ahead and boarded ella today! better safe than sorry.
generally speaking, your vet is right in that human meters will often read lower than the alphatrak meter. in the TR Protocol dr. jacquie rand mentions the alphatrak reads about 30 points higher than human meters in the low range. however, most of us have noticed that when you get down to low numbers (less than 80 on the AT), the gap closes up considerably depending on the human meter used. so i don't count on that 20% cushion/30 point difference in the low range.
so what to do now?
there are some cats who do well with only one shot per day when it's obvious kitty is trying hard to get off the juice. it's
rare. very rare. there are also some kitties who make their way off insulin being shot only as needed. again, this is rare, but it has been known to happen. however, it's also possible that the higher numbers you're seeing are simply bounces... the result of ella's blood glucose dropping so low. if this is the case, continuing with insulin will only create a vicious circle of highs and lows.
your vet is presenting you with one option. it could work, but i have to be honest. given what we've seen ella do with the tiniest dose... if ella were mine, i would be deathly afraid to shoot 0.5u even once a day.
let me present you with another option.
presuming ella bounces from this low, you could shoot at the zero line again tonight. in other words, shoot through the bounce tonight and then withhold insulin as soon as she clears the bounce... in an effort to see what she can do on her own. she may surprise you!
if she doesn't bounce by shot time tonight, i don't think i'd shoot any amount of insulin. it's time to see if she can handle things on her own.
if you decide to withhold insulin, don't panic if you see some higher numbers since it can take up to 72 hours (3 days) for a kitty's numbers to come back down after seeing lows like that. ride it out. after 3 - 4 days, possibly sooner, we'll have a clear picture if ella needs any insulin at all.
think about it. you have time to make a decision.
fwiw, just my thoughts...