Hi! Okay that's good to know, I'll probably shift over his snack times similar to this so it aligns better to the insulin dosage.I'm just letting you know what I do, but your cat may be different.
I feed 1 can at AMPS and 1 can at PMPS, and I used to give Jackson 1/2 can (snack) at about +2 and another 1/2 can at about +4 each cycle, for a total of 4 cans a day.
After the second snack, he only gets freeze dried 100% meat treats.
I was feeding him extra when he showed ketones in January. And I just kept doing that. He's always been around 14lbs, and he has since gone from 14lbs to 15lbs, so I reduced his four snacks to 1/4 can each recently, for a total of 3 cans per day.
I feed his main meals at the PS time, and then snacks at about +2 when the insulin should onset, and again at about +4 to slow the BGs as he approaches the nadir. I normally don't feed him after +6 because that is when the dose is starting to wear off. I try to only give him the freeze dried treats after +6.
Hi! Just about to post an 05/01 update (had to work a double yesterday) - we definitely saw an improvement in energy with the 2u. Have (attempted) 2-3 ketone strip tests each day and they either come out as negative or 'trace.' Ordered a Keto-Mojo so that arrives later today (I think)!I hope all is well there. I see one BG below 300 and hope he had more. Glad you increased to 2u. Please update today when you can.
Please also be sure and link the previous condo in the next one you post so we can go back quickly to read advice if need be. I’m out most of the day but will look for you all later when I get back. I hope ketones are staying low and Caesar is doing well.
Just post today’s date with whatever info is important.Hi! Just about to post an 05/01 update (had to work a double yesterday) - we definitely saw an improvement in energy with the 2u. Have (attempted) 2-3 ketone strip tests each day and they either come out as negative or 'trace.' Ordered a Keto-Mojo so that arrives later today (I think)!