4/30 Atlas AMps 199,+3 166,+6 178, PMPS 157, +2 153, +4 117

Status
Not open for further replies.

Beth & Atlas

Member Since 2010
Good Caturday Morning!!! ~O) ~O) ~O)

Kitty prayers and well wishes for all our sick kitties today.

Yesterday's Condo

Recap
267 1.50
272 +4
116 +9
117 1.50
79 +2
73 +3
86 +4
91 +4.5

I remain very grateful for the advice received this past week about not returning to "the last good dose" too soon.

Busy night last night. Gary finally made it to the family room for a visit. He investigated and nosed around while Attie and MudCat observed him. Attie did jump up to greet Gary, but this frightened Gary under the settee where he sat and hissed at Attie. I convinced Attie to return to his seat and wait. Gary came out from under the settee, but kept a wary eye on the Attie. Attie lay down like an old grandpa and watched him.

Gary noticed the MudCat on her perch and approached her with the kitty chortles inquiry of "Friendly?" It was quite cute to watch him stand on his hind legs several times to get nose to nose with MudCat. She decided it was a tortitude time and turned her ears ever so slightly down and flat. It was a barely perceptible move, but it changed her whole expression from curiosity to ...."don't you dare jump up here!" She did not hiss and Gary didn't push his luck.

Gary then came over to check-in with me for some pets and head butts. I reassured him and he went to play with the roulette wheel and a ball batted around the room. The other two remained seated and just watched him wide-eyed for over an hour. Toys, playing, up to the big window to watch the birds etc.

It is hard to figure out how to transition from this point as Gary freaks-out at the approach of the other two. I suspect it is just a matter of time and exposure. I realize there will be a few spats to go through, but the more we can normalize without a cat spat, the less likely a full cat fight will occur. At this point the best I can tell is Gary is learning ...not all kitties are out to fight with him.

While all this was going on...the hav-a-hart trap was sprung by the other stray cat in the yard! Hurray we now have both the Gary-look-alike at the shelter (female) and now the big black tomcat will go too. He will be taken in this today as they closed at 8pm. So this guy is rooming in the trap, in the garden shed with several towels over the cage. He was quite the feisty one last night. I had to convince Gary to retire to the bedroom so I could round up the trap and get it safely secured for the night.
 
Re: 4/30 Atlas AMps 199

Hi, and Attie is looking good. I know it is so tempting to change the dose and sometimes it's too soon. So what will happen with the black Tomcat? It's so fun seeing how your three interact. Gary is moving closely. I bet soon the three will interact and be friends. What will now happen with the black Tomcat? Will the shelter neuter and check to see if he's adoptable? We have a roaming beautiful kitty here in the apartments complex, and a neighbor in the other building is trying to trap him. We think he's a Tomcat. She contacted the Feral Cat Coalition, and they are going to lend her a trap and give help on where to take him to be neutered. We're hoping he might have a microchip and just be lost, but he's so frightened that we can't get cloe enough.
 
Re: 4/30 Atlas AMps 199

G'Morning. It's interesting to read about the introduction of your Gary. For all the caution, suspiscion, and timidity, these guys will be fast friends before long. I've only had difficulty between 2 females. Who'da thought?? Attie's got a fine start to the weekend. Not so much over here, but it wil get better. Have a good one.
 
Re: 4/30 Atlas AMps 199

There were three Gary's = I missed that. It makes my heart smile every time I read about Gary in the house. You have such a big heart and the patience to make it work well. Sending hugs.
 
Re: 4/30 Atlas AMps 199

Ann & Maggie11 said:
So what will happen with the black Tomcat? .

We have a No Time Limit Shelter. He'll get needed medical care etc. and then if socialization therapy is need he'll get that too. Then up for adoption.

I made the mistake with Gary of trying to go directly through the shelter, even as a foster volunteer I got turned away.

This time though with several more roaming about...I called the Animal Warden and she provided the traps. Their agreement with the city is to always have several empty cages available for the City of Berea strays. I hate going this route, but as a resident I don't think I should be penalized for also being a volunteer.
 
Re: 4/30 Atlas AMps 199, +3 166

Hi guys .. nice numbers today atlas! That was sweet that gary came out and investigated around the living room last night .. and knew he felt comfortable enough to come to you for headbutts and scritches .. Hanging out with the other kitties will come in time .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 4/30 Atlas AMps 199, +3 166

That's great about the No Time Limit Shelter and what a great thing you're doing with the rescues. I hope for good things for the black cat and that he gets adopted. There are so many kitties in the shelters needing homes. Our PetsMart and Petco stores have adoption centers in the store where people can visit and adopt. These are kitties all rescued from Animal Control by different rescue groups, and some of them were on their last days before being pts.
 
Re: 4/30 Atlas AMps 199, +3 166

Both my precious Krueger (GA), MudCat, and now Atlas all came from them. Krueger had been at the shelter nearly 3 years, Muddy nearly 2 years and of course we all know Atlas' story.

OT:

The chickadees are busy at the nesting box. Attie got hooded and groomed this morning with the furminator. I tossed the excess cat hair into the yard and it is nearly all gone! :lol: Chickadees love soft materials for their nests and have been gathering it and tucking it into the box. Attie has been watching them fly from the ground outside to the nesting box...I told him they were very grateful. ;-)

I don't think he is entirely convinced.
 
Re: 4/30 Atlas AMps 199, +3 166, + 6 177

Just back from the shelter and dropping off the big black cat.

He is going into the iso-ward. Seems sick and kinda raggedy. During the transfer he got loose and we had to physically "catch" him. ohmygod_smile No need to say he was none too happy at the moment.

The little Gary-look-alike, has been named Quartz. They say she is actually quite sweet, but skittish.
 
Re: 4/30 Atlas AMps 199, +3 166, + 6 177

Aww, poor black kitty; sounds like he's had it hard for a while. Hope they can help him. "Quartz" - cute name for your Gary-look-alike!
 
Re: 4/30 Atlas AMps 199, +3 166, + 6 177

What an awesome report on Gary. And it sounds like your kitties are really doing quite wonderful around him. It really gives me hope with my two kitties.

Please keep us updated.
 
Re: 4/30 Atlas AMps 199, +3 166, + 6 177

Tena and Curry said:
What an awesome report on Gary. And it sounds like your kitties are really doing quite wonderful around him. It really gives me hope with my two kitties.

Please keep us updated.

Thanks Tena. I'd have to go way back through the condos to find when I first brought him in, treated him for pneumonia, released him, only to have him back a week with an URI. From that point it has been human socialization and now kitty socialization. This has not happened as a whirl wind, but more like the slow train to China... It has been more than several months, but ultimately I think he will be just fine.

We had several long sessions again today. Again Attie played the reserved role...even falling asleep. MudCat walked in the room and Gary got up to greet her...much to her surprise! She wasn't ready for that approach. It was kinda funny the two almost getting nose to nose, but not quite, but sniffing the air. She gave Gary a curt "Meow." Gary looked at me for direction it seemed, so I called him over. He came and head butted and got pets all the time watching MudCat. It was like he was trying to show her...'friendly.' :lol: And to think a few months ago he was the cat she was pawing at through the window, rubbing against the window, flirting with him. Uh...Tortitude!
 
Re: 4/30 Atlas AMps 199, +3 166, + 6 178, PMPS 157, +2 153

Great WCR! Wow on Gary - I think that with time he will get used to the other two, learn that, as you said, not every cat is out to fight him. What a happy great thing for Gary.

nice too that you have been able to help the strays.

nice blue surfing there Attie!
 
Re: 4/30 Atlas AMps 199,+3 166,+6 178, PMPS 157, +2 153, +4

nice numbers, and I love that Atlas seems to be holding onto the lower dose. Yeah!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top