4/30 AMPS 134.. 4/29 PMPS 156 (NS) per vet.. Do I give Tiggy his inj?

Status
Not open for further replies.

TigzMom

Member Since 2015
Hi all
Tiggy's numbers have been dropping nicely (from 421 from his initial dx). The vet has now approved him to reduce his Lantus from 2units x 2 to 1 unit x 2. But she said if he was under 180, not to give the shot.
That isn't within the go-slow guidelines, of 40-120. I'm at a loss as to know what to do. Wait and see? Or give 1 unit? Help!
 
You can try stalling, without feeding, and see if his numbers are high enough in 30 minutes.
 
this is a decision for you. Most vets aren't comfortable with numbers under 200. They think in regulation numbers, not in seeking remission numbers.


our guidelines for the go slow method
4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection? A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines. Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin. Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options: a.) give nothing; b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose); c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value. Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise. In all cases, if you are reducing or eliminating insulin, it's wise to check for ketones in the urine. Above the normal pre-shot value, give the usual dose, but if the pre-shot value is consistently elevated, it's a good idea to schedule a full glucose curve to see whether a change in dose or insulin is appropriate. In most cases, the target "peak" value should not be below 100 mg/dl (5.6 mmol/L), and for some cats it might be higher. Keep in mind that these are general guidelines, and they should be personalized to your own cat's reactions to insulin. If your experience is that your cat does not became hypoglycemic with a dose which is close to her usual, then your experience should be your guide.

In this forum, we tend to advise newbies not to shoot under 150.
As you collect more data on your chart, you will learn to shoot lower than 150. ( never give a shot if 50 or under)
You have to learn your cats patterns and reaction to insulin.
And the first time you shoot lower than 150, you might want to post and have someone watching over you. We try to do that.


I would also advise that you try to get at least one other test in the pm cycle besides the pre-shot.
Most of us set an alarm, call it sleep testing, just to see how kitty is doing.
 
Ok. Thank you. I skipped his AM shot today. I have a hard time not feeding Tiggy as he was hungry (as was my other non-diabetic kitty, Boo).
I had to leave so, I fed them both their regular no/low carb canned cat meat. Both gobbled it up. Sometimes Tiggy is finicky due to his diabetes, however my non-diabetic Boo is never finicky. He is my little "Hoover" ready to "vacuum" up any food in site!
 
Interesting things seem to be happening with Tiggy. Good call on no shot. Third cycle with no shot and he starts at 134. :cool: I'm curious to see where he starts tonight, but I'd be inclined not to give insulin tonight if you can't monitor (unless he's really high) and wait until tomorrow if you can monitor then. Any chance of getting a mid cycle test today?
 
Spreading the food thinly on a wide plate can slow down the eating, which slows the carbohydrate increase in the blood stream.

 
So, I was able to get a BG at 3:30pm [+9] = 100. I tried to hold off on feeding Tiggy, but he was insistent. I finally fed him the rest of his daily allotment of canned low carb canned cat meat at 4:30pm. His PMPS was 153, so I skipped his shot again this PM too, as his vet wants me to hold just to see where his numbers go for a day or so.
 
He is seeming to be back to his "usual" self as he now is more playful (playing with his catnip 'nana', and his 'bro, Boo), like he used to. He is also grooming himself too as he used to do before he started to show symptoms of diabetes.. i.e. Drinking more H2O, and peeing more. Although I'm need to be cautious, I feel like I can finally breathe just a little since he seems to be starting to get regulated somewhat.
 
And, good tip BJM about spreading the food thinly on the plate. I'll use that. So smart!
 
Rhiannon and Shannon- thanks for the info. I'll see where Tiggy is tomorrow as I certainly want him in remission. I'll try hard to get a BG at night as well.
 
You don't need to get a test at night if you haven't given insulin. His PMPS tonight is a little above normal numbers. If over the next couple of days his numbers creep up, you may have to restart insulin, but I'd go lower than 1.0 unit. I think if he's not quite ready to go off insulin, he's close.

Great news that he's back to his normal self again.:)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top