4/30/24: Mr. Mazi AMPS 103 +3 118 +5 103 PMPS 108 +4 94

@Mazi's Mom
Put today's date first before Mr Mazi
Tap on Thread Tools to the right , then tap on Edit thread and add the date then tap save

You can also add 1st post on the Lantus Forum , was posting on Feline Health
Introduce yourself something like Hi I'm Theresa Mazi's mom
 
Last edited:
@Diane Tyler's Mom Opppss, will do! I'm just reading your other response on how to post a link. I'm gonna jump in the shower, and then I'll reread the message about posting links and I will do my best at posting my last post here about Interpreting spreadsheets.

Thanks for all your help! I hope you and Tyler had a great day yesterday!
 
@Diane Tyler's Mom Yay! I did it!

So tomorrow on the Lantus board I will post the current date, Mazi's name, AM and PM BG'S in the title and then inside the post I will post the same link.

And if I ask a new question in the future, I'm assuming I will then no longer post this link, but the link to the most recent question?

Thank you for all your guidance! I am so thankful for everyone in this community! Everyone is so helpful and patient!

Yup, I'm from Milwaukee about an hour north of Chicago. I'm excited to say I officially know a new jersey gal!
 
@Mazi's Mom yes you did it :cat:
Tomorrow when you post tomorrow,
you will link your post from today (4-30) not the one above the question about your spreadsheet

If you have a question you can just ask your questions on the same post you are doing for that day.
We all see in the alerts that your name shows up again, or you can always tag someone after your question. Either me. Wendy&Neko, Suzanne & Darcy,
Bron and Sheba, tiffmaxee (Elise ) , Angela & Cleo or Bandit's Mom Those are the more experienced members Bron lives in Australia ndo I usually Google time in Sydney Australia to see what time it is there, and Bandit's Mom her name is Bhooma lives in Mumbai India so I Google to see what time it is there. When you start typing the first couple of letters of the person you want to tag a drop down menu will appear and just tap on their name , remember to always put @ first.
Do you understand .let me know. You can always tap on the word Forums up top and at the bottom you will see who is on the site
Yep I'm a Jersey girl through and through :p
I live by Giant Stadium and the Meadowlands Racetrack,

I would get another test in after that 108 PMPS test
 
Last edited:
@Diane Tyler's Mom Ohh okay, that all makes sense now! I really appreciate it!

And no worries, I will definitely get a +4 at 1 am on Mazi. I just started making sure I do night checks since last week. Last week, Wendy had suggested I do them, so we have a atleast 2 pieces of the night cycle puzzle. Plus, that way I know Mazi isn't going too low at night. I sleep better and have less anxiety knowing I checked him PM +3/4 and I leave him a pate snack to prevent a hypoglycemic episode.

For 3 almost 4 weeks my vet was great and had me call everyday to give him Mazi's BG numbers. I was happy because I felt I wasn't alone. Im just shocked he never suggested I atleast get a BG 3 to 4 hrs after his night time injection. But that is why I am so grateful for this community.

The vet also did not recommend snacks in between injections. But I've decided to do them anyways, I feel less anxious and I feel Mazi is safer.

I'll update and explain my reasoning to him next week when Mazi goes in to have his Libre sensor placed. The vet wants Mazi to have the sensor placed for his curve testing. Im sure he'll understand my decision, if not, oh well. I understand his goal is for Mazi to have the tightest glycemic control, but I get to have some say in Mazi's treatment too, especially if it's not causing any harm or making matters worse.

Physician's would never tell a diabetic human patient not to snack on low carb foods after injections, why would I treat my cat any differently. I can't be home 24/7 so this is just whats the most safe for our family.

Thats awesome you're so close to the stadium and the track. I'm 4 blocks away from Lake Michigan, 10 mins away from the Bucks stadium and about 15 mins away from the Brewers stadium. The Greenbay Packers stadium is about a little less than 2 hours from me.
 
Last edited:
@Mazi's Mom
You're doing a great job with Mazi.
I saw you were asking about automatic feeders on one of your others posts
some info on auto feeders always add a little water to the wet food
Here is an auto feeder that hold 5 slots and comes with 2 ice packs for wet food
https://www.amazon.com/Cat-Mate-C500-Digital-Automatic/dp/B01AUYLVU8/ref=sr_1_6?gclid=EAIaIQobChMIuM_y2p79_AIVDvrICh1_xAy6EAAYASAAEgJBDfD_BwE&hvadid=178540036693&hvdev=t&hvlocphy=9003521&hvnetw=g&hvqmt=e&hvrand=6990619631848479728&hvtargid=kwd-12652445711&hydadcr=10635_9894649&keywords=petsafe 5-meal automatic pet feeder&qid=1675560889&sr=8-6

Extra ice packs so you can keep them in the freezer ready to go
https://www.amazon.com/Cat-Mate-Rep...5c-bd5c-e23f6094563c&pd_rd_i=B091HTXNHR&psc=1

This one has 3 slots with one ice pack
https://www.amazon.com/Cat-Mate-Automatic-Feeder-Digital/dp/B01MXDFB28?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

Extra ice pack
https://www.amazon.com/Mate-Replace...cb-974a-deec2fb8a80c&pd_rd_i=B07KFP7PRG&psc=1

You can even order the stainless steel inserts for the 5 slot if you don't like your kitty eating out of plastic, from what I have heard plastic could cause acne on some cats
https://www.amazon.com/Cat-Mate-Sta...36-830d-6cc20f385409&pd_rd_i=B0B3MS1MWR&psc=1

@Mazi's Mom

I read you just graduated from nursing school, Congrats !


I meant to ask you, are you withholding food 2 hours before you test Mazi first thing in the AM (AMPS) and PMPS test.
You don't want his BG to be influenced by food
@Mazi's Mom
 
Last edited:
Oh my gosh! Thank you for all the suggestions for the automatic feeder! I plan on purchasing one before I start at the hospital in June. I want to get a feel for how it works and to make sure Mazi will eat out of it before I rely on it on days that I work or have to be away.

Thank you, I just graduated in December and earned my license in late February. I was just starting my job search in early March when Mazi was diagnosed with diabetes. I'm kinda happy if this was going to happen, it happened before I started working. This way I was able to take a little break from my job search and focus on understanding how to manage Mazi and keep him safe. I'm starting to get the hang of things and am learning how to trust Lantus. That said, I think June will be a good time to get back to my career. I do have my significant other and my father close to me that are a great support system.

I'll be working 12+ hour days, hopefully only 3 to 4 days a week. My significant other works 8 hour days and my father is retired. I've been making sure they understand how to care for Mazi and how to manage him safely, which has been going great. So I think the transition of me going back to work and having to trust Mazi's other caregivers will be fine.

I plan on doing the AM feedings and injections at 6 am, my dad or the automatic feeder can help with snacks at AM +3/4 and + 7. Plus, I'll be having my dad here at home to keep an eye on Mazi and call if he suspects any changes in behavior or eating. I'm also teaching my dad how to check BG'S this week so he is all prepped for June..The boyfriend will check Mazi's BG when he gets home at 4pm (+10) and either him or I will do the night time injection, night time snack, and PM BG checks..Those are our plans thus far.

I don't have any children, so Mazi (Maserati), Bentley (our other kitty), and Chevy (our 1.5 yr old German shepard/husky mix) are my babies and I'm very protective over them. BTW, the boyfriend is who named our animals. Can you tell he is into cars?! Lol Joey has a 1969 Chevy Nova that is his baby and my father has a 1950's coupe and has been racing cars since I've been in diapers. Since my babies are all boys, they had to have car names. Lol

Even thou I'm a new nursing grad, and having a little more of a better understanding about DM and Lantus than "some" in the beginning of the diagnosis, this has still been a struggle for me. For example, when I noticed him eating, drinking more,, and he had acetone smelling breath, i knew right away it was DKA, and got him into the ER right away. However, interpreting his spreadsheets is my weakness. For example, I know the within normal limit values, but being able to spot bounces, or when he needs a dose reduction has been tough. I'm pretty sure I know when he has earned a reduction as of recently, but being able to spot bounces have been a little difficult, especially when I can't check him every hour at night because I need to sleep. Wendy had noticed about a week or two ago he had his last bounce and that was when she suggested I get those before bedtime checks in so we can have more pieces to the puzzle and try to decide if he was having low drops in the middle of the night.

However, I still have so much to learn. So I truly feel and understand how caregivers with no or little medical backgrounds feel. My hopes are to fully understand this disorder and how to treat it inside and out, so I can pay it forward and help others that are overwhelmed in the future. Mr. Mazi has officially been my first patient, my 1st patient that can't communicate at that, and he has taught me so much. Because of him, I know I will be a better new grad nurse, better at picking up on subtle changes in my patients, and understand this disorder a lot better than I did 2 months ago. Also without this community I wouldn't be where I am today, and am forever grateful. I still have a lot of learning and growing to do, but knowing that I have resources to help me, makes the journey so much less scarier!

Yup, I dont feed Mazi past +7/8, to ensure that any late cycle snacks do not influence any of his preshot BG'S.Plus that way I know when it is meal time he will be hungry and eat a good meal before his shot. I also have Ketone strips as well. This weekend, im going to get a thermometer and lubricant that is dedicate for Mazi for the future as well. My goal in the near future, is to get a pediatric stethoscope, and start practicing on how to listen to heart, lung, and bowel sounds on Mazi as well.

Thank you forever and always @Diane Tyler's Mom for all your guidance!
 
Last edited:
@Mazi's Mom
Hi Theresa you sound like you have everything under control when you start your job in June.. That's great you have your dad and boyfriend there also to help with Mazi .I'm sure your dad will learn how to test Maxi with no problem.
I love the names of your other furbabies!
Yes I can tell your boyfriend is in to cars :cat:
That's so cool that your boyfriend and your dad have those cars.
They must be in mint condition.
I can tell you are going to be an awesome nurse when you start in June!
They are going to be lucky to have you.
Your goal in the near future for Mazi sounds great
You're a real go getter!
Any time I can help out I will and if I can't I'll make sure another member will be there to help you :bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
Mazi is a handsome boy !

I noticed on your spreadsheet you have the Relion meter as a back up and noted it on your SS when you used it
Great. I used to use the Alpha Trak in the beginning then switched to the human meter. Those Alpha Trak strips are so expensive.
Our numbers are based on human meters but it's absolutely fine that you're using the Alpha Trak.

I'm just so used to using the human meter now
@Mazi's Mom
 
Last edited:
Back
Top