4/30/22 Tucker PMPS: 166, +3 157, +4 92, +5 88 +8 45, 41,32 Update

Last edited:
I'm so upset I did this to my boy!! Tucker's history is that once he hits greens he can slide very quickly into lime green. I've shared that once he goes into greens (6 on the Australian meter, under 100 on the US meter), he drops very quickly into lime greens and goes hypo. Once hypo I have no choice really but to give him a smear of honey on his gums or gravy and then he bounces and gets extremely sick, for up to 2 days. I KNOW THIS ABOUT HIM. I don't know why I decided at 3am to put him through some kind of a test and didn't offer a tsp of medium carb food when I saw him slip into the greens at bedtime and continue to go down every hour... He hit the lime green about 3 am, the spreadsheet is not quite right those test numbers 45,42,32 were not an hour apart, they were about 5 minutes apart. (I was too upset to look up how to post that kind of test.) At 32 he went limp and I had to give him a drop of honey smeared on his gums. He immediately came to but now his BG is very high and he looks horrible and has been vomiting. I can't believe I did this to him when I know from past experience that once he goes green he will dip to lime without some food...I absolutely failed Tucker last night.
The first time he got pancreatitis and we came so close to loosing him was after this kind of an event. At the time we weren't sure if it was just a coincidence. Is there anything I could be doing now to ease him back into feeling better and/or avoid a pancreatitis relapse??
 
Last edited:
@Bron and Sheba (GA) @JeffJ @Wendy&Neko
Tucker is up to his old games! After a blue start to the night he slid into greens and I didn't give him any food to keep him bolstered to stay put, so he went hypo on me. I used just the tiniest drop of honey on his gums to bring him back to an alert state but this morning he has bounced from 32 to 481.07, 3 hours after the hypo. I texted Supavet this morning and she told me to shoot 1 unit but monitor him every couple of hours during the day to see how long it takes for him to recover from the honey. Since the 481.07, he dropped to 390.2, and now 7 hours after the hypo/honey he is at 324.32. That's the fastest he has ever moved downward after a hypo.
I thought I had a handle on all of this........but I really messed my boy up this time.
 
I would shoot 0.75 units next. He took way too long to get out of the lime greens. He wants that reduction
 
@Bron and Sheba (GA) @JeffJ @Wendy&Neko
Tucker is up to his old games! After a blue start to the night he slid into greens and I didn't give him any food to keep him bolstered to stay put, so he went hypo on me. I used just the tiniest drop of honey on his gums to bring him back to an alert state but this morning he has bounced from 32 to 481.07, 3 hours after the hypo. I texted Supavet this morning and she told me to shoot 1 unit but monitor him every couple of hours during the day to see how long it takes for him to recover from the honey. Since the 481.07, he dropped to 390.2, and now 7 hours after the hypo/honey he is at 324.32. That's the fastest he has ever moved downward after a hypo.
I thought I had a handle on all of this........but I really messed my boy up this time.
Don’t be so harsh on yourself, we all do mistakes and honey shouldn’t raise the BG so high and it works for very short time, continue monitoring to make sure he doesn’t go back down.

the 5 min values apart would be probably best not to put all in, i would only put in the lowest one. if they are 5 min apart they are literally the same with some meter variation. I would ask @Bandit's Mom for confirmation
 
I would shoot 0.75 units next. He took way too long to get out of the lime greens. He wants that reduction
I would shoot 0.75 units next. He took way too long to get out of the lime greens. He wants that reduction
Thank you for your reply.
I would shoot 0.75 units next. He took way too long to get out of the lime greens. He wants that reduction
Thank you for your reply. I thought he was having his all-time best recovery from his reaction to the honey as we watched him go back down over the 24 hours. Woke up this morning and he was back into the red zone for some unknown reason. The red zone is very hard on him…he was so nauseated he didn’t finish brekkie and nobody likes food better than Tucky. I decided to not reduce him to.75 when he was that sick this morning but am monitoring him and watching him ease into a better place. I’ll be looking to lower him to .75. (Our vet suggested we start with a couple of days of a, “skinny 1”, then a tiny sliver down again and then .75. My husband says the amount is so tiny shyest that the suggestion is ridiculous.). Your thoughts?
 
Don’t be so harsh on yourself, we all do mistakes and honey shouldn’t raise the BG so high and it works for very short time, continue monitoring to make sure he doesn’t go back down.

the 5 min values apart would be probably best not to put all in, i would only put in the lowest one. if they are 5 min apart they are literally the same with some meter variation. I would ask @Bandit's Mom for confirmation
Thank you, I knew better and should have saved him from getting so sick... mom guilt!
I understand what you mean by the 5 minute intervals. I was testing and sharing because I couldn’t believe how fast he was falling. I guess I was worried if I waited 15 minutes apart it might have been too late. 4 years in and still so much to learn!
 
I'm not on the forum everyday anymore. You are doing great. 4 years with a challenging sugar kitteh. Tucker is getting the best care....and if I know Tucker...he is probably just waiting to sneak his next carb treat (from anywhere!)

Nice to hear from you. And I hope Tucker is recovered from his venture to the lime green pasture.
 
I'm not on the forum everyday anymore. You are doing great. 4 years with a challenging sugar kitteh. Tucker is getting the best care....and if I know Tucker...he is probably just waiting to sneak his next carb treat (from anywhere!)

Nice to hear from you. And I hope Tucker is recovered from his venture to the lime green pasture.
Hi Jeff!
I know you aren’t around daily anymore, but I tagged you anyway because I wanted to check in with you. I have no idea where I would have been without you and Bron and the other sugar cat lovers at the start!
Tucker remains the biggest skallywag! (At least he doesn’t pull the lever on the water bottle anymore so the kitchen isn’t flooding?)
How are you doing? Have you added any babies to your life since we last touched base?
P
 
Hi Jeff!
I know you aren’t around daily anymore, but I tagged you anyway because I wanted to check in with you. I have no idea where I would have been without you and Bron and the other sugar cat lovers at the start!
Tucker remains the biggest skallywag! (At least he doesn’t pull the lever on the water bottle anymore so the kitchen isn’t flooding?)
How are you doing? Have you added any babies to your life since we last touched base?
P
And in typical Tucker style? He was 15.3 last night, then 12.9, 14.2…. Just checked him and he is 1.9!
Gahhh
 
(At least he doesn’t pull the lever on the water bottle anymore so the kitchen isn’t flooding?)
OMG what a rascal. I can't imagine why he would do that more than once. Maybe for attention. I'll tell Theresa so she can get a laugh off of it too. We still have
- Chinus, who is nearly 16, and was adopted the same week as Leo. They were such cute kittens (and buddies) together.
- Little Dude, is ~11, our neighborhood rescue and is the biggest luvbug ever
- Vid of LD getting laptime in mid-2020....which he pretty much does everyday
- couple pics, LD with Lucy in backyard, and also in the garden 2022-04-06. He's not fat, he's fluffy !!
LD in the garden 2022-04-06.png


LD and Lucy 2022-04-06 in backyard.png
 

Attachments

  • LD in the garden 2022-04-06.png
    LD in the garden 2022-04-06.png
    775.9 KB · Views: 187
  • LD and Lucy 2022-04-06 in backyard.png
    LD and Lucy 2022-04-06 in backyard.png
    932.8 KB · Views: 220
OMG what a rascal. I can't imagine why he would do that more than once. Maybe for attention. I'll tell Theresa so she can get a laugh off of it too. We still have
- Chinus, who is nearly 16, and was adopted the same week as Leo. They were such cute kittens (and buddies) together.
- Little Dude, is ~11, our neighborhood rescue and is the biggest luvbug ever
- Vid of LD getting laptime in mid-2020....which he pretty much does everyday
- couple pics, LD with Lucy in backyard, and also in the garden 2022-04-06. He's not fat, he's fluffy !!
View attachment 64197

View attachment 64198
Omg… I’m so happy you shared these with me! So much cuteness. You two are the best mom and dad ever.
I actually think of you every time Tucker does something insane, I know the two of you would laugh at his antics. This morning I found him hanging from all fours from the netting of the roof of his cat enclosure! I walk out and he just turns his head like, “Oh, hey…nothing to see here.” He took a reduction from 1 unit to .75 so was pretty sick for a few cycles. Happy to report he just came back to the land of blues today (thus the Batman imitation- he’s clearly feeling better!)
I know you don’t currently have any sugar babies but it’s lovely catching up with you again.

Patty
 
I always love hearing news about Tucker. He is such a nut. I'm glad he is good health again, you are doing a stellar job ....still all these years after he first was diagnosed. He is a miracle kitteh in my eyes...having made it from the pancreatic shutdown, and also doing so well as a sugar kitteh.

LD's trick in the past year. We have a stick toy with a string and a mouse-thing at the end. He runs and gets the mouse and hisses at it when he attacks it, and rolls on the ground with it. Then rinse and repeat 20 times. I need to get it on vid. How can so much cuteness be bundled up into these little furry treasures?
 
I always love hearing news about Tucker. He is such a nut. I'm glad he is good health again, you are doing a stellar job ....still all these years after he first was diagnosed. He is a miracle kitteh in my eyes...having made it from the pancreatic shutdown, and also doing so well as a sugar kitteh.

LD's trick in the past year. We have a stick toy with a string and a mouse-thing at the end. He runs and gets the mouse and hisses at it when he attacks it, and rolls on the ground with it. Then rinse and repeat 20 times. I need to get it on vid. How can so much cuteness be bundled up into these little furry treasures?
And I will look forward to seeing this mouse hunter video!
 
Back
Top