Marvie and Tugger
Member Since 2009
Happy Caturday LL! Yesterday's Condo:http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=10872&p=108224#p108224
I got good sleep last night I guess, bc I woke up bright eyed and bushy tailed this morning before 6am. On Caturday. No clue. Would have been a great day to sleep in a lil bit, but I was awake.
A good thing because kitties hated dinner last night so it sat uneaten. Needless to say they were STARVING when I got up. I had a bit of time before +10 pickup so I gave them a snack to tide them over till real breffis. They mowed through it fast. I only put out two cans of FF for the five of them, so it was literally a snack. They're now mowing real breffis.
Kind of hoping Tugger asks for another doscrease today, but then again, I dunno.
Tomorrow is the day we'll be gone all day. From +2 till PM shot. I'm a bit worried that he'll drop tomorrow. I know it's impossible to predict with any cat, and especially Tugger these days, but I'm half considering giving a slightly reduced dose tomorrow morning, depending on how today and tonight go.
The PS will be here two times at least and she will check his BG but I'm not 100% confident that she'll be successful on her own. She mentioned possibly bringing her housemate with her, he's a vet tech, but I don't know if this guy has ever used a home meter to test a cat's ear. And after Tugger's vet used a huge needle and opened a vein to get blood in the office that day.... I don't want a tech doin' that to him and I presume the techs learn how to check from vets... do all vets open a freakin' vein or is mine just stoopid? (ok I know he's probably not stoopid but I'm not feeling very nice about him these days)
Tugger doesn't really show signs when he's going low. Other than hunger, but he's always hungry. Or so he'd have you believe. Maybe he gets lazy, but again, he's always kind of lazy. He doesn't do anything that would be super obvious to someone who doesn't know him super well though. Which is one of the reasons I'm considering a reduced dose. If she can't get a successful test, she will have no way of knowing if he's going low.
I guess I could just leave out a higher carb food than usual for her to feed, would that be better than a lower dose? Just let him regulate himself for the day and trust him not to let himself get too low? Or do I just give in to the worry and call the IL's and cancel? The kid seems to be kind of looking forward to it though, and it's hard to get an almost 16 yr old boy interested in anything that doesn't involve 16 year old girls yanno?
So what do you think? What would you do or recommend?
I got good sleep last night I guess, bc I woke up bright eyed and bushy tailed this morning before 6am. On Caturday. No clue. Would have been a great day to sleep in a lil bit, but I was awake.
A good thing because kitties hated dinner last night so it sat uneaten. Needless to say they were STARVING when I got up. I had a bit of time before +10 pickup so I gave them a snack to tide them over till real breffis. They mowed through it fast. I only put out two cans of FF for the five of them, so it was literally a snack. They're now mowing real breffis.
Kind of hoping Tugger asks for another doscrease today, but then again, I dunno.
Tomorrow is the day we'll be gone all day. From +2 till PM shot. I'm a bit worried that he'll drop tomorrow. I know it's impossible to predict with any cat, and especially Tugger these days, but I'm half considering giving a slightly reduced dose tomorrow morning, depending on how today and tonight go.
The PS will be here two times at least and she will check his BG but I'm not 100% confident that she'll be successful on her own. She mentioned possibly bringing her housemate with her, he's a vet tech, but I don't know if this guy has ever used a home meter to test a cat's ear. And after Tugger's vet used a huge needle and opened a vein to get blood in the office that day.... I don't want a tech doin' that to him and I presume the techs learn how to check from vets... do all vets open a freakin' vein or is mine just stoopid? (ok I know he's probably not stoopid but I'm not feeling very nice about him these days)
Tugger doesn't really show signs when he's going low. Other than hunger, but he's always hungry. Or so he'd have you believe. Maybe he gets lazy, but again, he's always kind of lazy. He doesn't do anything that would be super obvious to someone who doesn't know him super well though. Which is one of the reasons I'm considering a reduced dose. If she can't get a successful test, she will have no way of knowing if he's going low.
I guess I could just leave out a higher carb food than usual for her to feed, would that be better than a lower dose? Just let him regulate himself for the day and trust him not to let himself get too low? Or do I just give in to the worry and call the IL's and cancel? The kid seems to be kind of looking forward to it though, and it's hard to get an almost 16 yr old boy interested in anything that doesn't involve 16 year old girls yanno?
So what do you think? What would you do or recommend?