4/3 Tessie Lou AMPS 320 PMPS 274 - 96 hours now

Status
Not open for further replies.

tessielou

Member Since 2010
Morning LL beans!
Well, it's been more than 72 hours and she's still in the 300s this morning. I need to re-read the protocol sticky to see if I'm supposed to increase her again?

It's a gorgeous 60s day here, and Tessie, T.J. and I are enjoying life on the screen porch. Tessie scared me yesterday evening with some kind of stomach spasms about an hour after her 4pm meal. She was very uncomfortable and kept moving to find a comfortable position. It went on for about 5 minutes or so, then she finally settled down. Anyone ever notice their kitty having these spasms? I could literally see and feel her tummy jerking! I thought we were going to have to go to ER! She seems ok today and ate breffis just fine...my DH says I'm going to drive myself crazy worrying about these cats...

We are going to a luncheon today, to remember a dear friend who passed away a year ago. I should say, we're going if Tessie Lou's BG is ok before we leave! :?

Enjoy Sunday, everyone!
 
Re: 4/3 Tessie Lou AMPS 320 - More than 72 hours...

hi Sandy

not sure what the stomach spasms could be,,,maybe burping?
but if she seems ok today, if you see it again, might be good to get it checked out.

hope the morning cycle goes well for her, just mentioning a dose increase could convince her to get her butt in gear huh :lol: that's called kitty reads boards phenomenon :lol:
 
Re: 4/3 Tessie Lou AMPS 320 - More than 72 hours...

Hey Sandy: glad the spasms passed quickly. Ronnie is right....they either read it in their condo or you get someone like Pat to threaten them!! I hope some of the experienced folks will come along and give you some thoughts about the dosecrease. FWIW, I would think upping her dose would not be a bad idea if you are past the 72 hour bounce period...but it's best to have the others weigh in. I'm sorry about your friend but I hope the luncheon is a celebration of a life well lived.
 
Re: 4/3 Tessie Lou AMPS 320 - More than 72 hours...

No dose advice, but rather just a good morning (barely!!)

As a former Iowa farm girl (still one at heart!), just curious what part of the state you're from!! :)

Hope Miss Tessie Lou sees the gauntlet has been dropped and gives you better numbers soon!!
 
Re: 4/3 Tessie Lou AMPS 320 - More than 72 hours...

She may just need a little nudge. Good luck whatever you decide,

BTW, you've got me hooked on the eagle cam, # 2 is out but the parents aren't letting it show off much.
 
Re: 4/3 Tessie Lou AMPS 320 - More than 72 hours...

Good luck with the dosecrease. Hope it is what she needs.

I don't know what the stomach spasms could be. It would have made me nervous also.
 
Re: 4/3 Tessie Lou AMPS 320 - More than 72 hours...

Have you ever watched Tessie as she tossed up a hairball? I assume the tummy spasms were different and that is why you were concerned.

This is what I witnessed yesterday as BigMac presented me with a hairball. He stands with his face down and his whole abdomen jerks ... he is quiet at first while his stomach is spasming. Then he really gets going and the spasms get very pronounced just as he hacks up a tiny hairball. He's so dramatic. Then he looks at his accomplishment with curiosity before looking up at me since I'm hovering with the paper towels. :lol: But sometimes he does the spasm thing and then gives up... no hairball. I assume it wasn't big enough yet.

I hope that is all it was with Tessie.
 
Re: 4/3 Tessie Lou AMPS 320 - More than 72 hours...

Good luck when you increase the dose and hope the stomach spasms weren't anything other than a possible hairball. My Siamese used to do something similar, and it would scare me at times until a long stringy hairball got upchucked on the floor.
 
Re: 4/3 Tessie Lou AMPS 320 - More than 72 hours...

Hi Guys! I hope the tummy spasm was nothing, just maybe a hair ball in the making.

I too am sorry about your friend, but I do hope the luncheon is a remembrance of a life well lived.

good luck with the dosecrease!

Hey Tessie Lou - you ready? we is off to Canada for another party. SWEET, huh! uhhhh..... no hairball upchucking on the bus though, ok? See you! ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 4/3 Tessie Lou AMPS 320 - More than 72 hours...

Hi Ronnie, let's hope the "phenomenon" works wtih her--I am so over this bounce!

Marjorie, how can I reach Pat? Sounds like we need her talents about now. The friend who died a year ago, left behind his wife (also our dear friend) and three kids when he had a sudden heart attack at age 63. It was a good luncheon, lots of hugs, tons of food, flowers, and shared memories. He was a great guy and we miss him. So, ladies, hug your husbands tonight--I did.

Christie, I'm from southwestern Iowa, then moved to Omaha, NE as a young adult, lived there most of my life, then moved back to Iowa 15 years ago, and NOW we're moving back to Omaha for retirement. Like you, though, always an Iowa farm girl at heart. :-D

Ann, I am totally hooked on it! And, they actually showed it on NBC Nightly News tonight! Wasn't it amazing to see that rabbit in the nest? I didn't see the "dad" bring it, but yikes, I don't think they'll be getting hungry any time soon! :o

Thanks, Karrie, I hope so too.

Sienne, thanks, I will run it by vet in morning and then go up to 2 units.

CD, you're not going to believe this, but Tesser Lou has never had a hairball. Not once. Once, a month or so ago, she hacked a little bit, but nothing came up. That was it! No, these were more like involuntary, repetitive jerks. She was laying on her side when they started, and she meowed, then jumped up and laid down on my lap, and they continued, so she jumped up again, and laid down on her other side, and clearly could not get comfortable. It went on for 5 minutes or so. It was awful. I just tried to calm her, and held my hand gently over her tummy where it was jerking. Finally, it stopped. I'm going to call the vet in the a.m. about the dosecrease and ask her what she thinks it was.

Ann, it might be a hairball, as you said. I have yet to see her have one, but there's always that first time...

Michelle, thanks, and yes he did live a good life, albeit too short. I hope Tesser is behaving herself at the party! I told her not to overdo it on the hors d'oevres, but that menu sounded irresistible! I heard her ask Mannie if he thought he had made enough fud! :lol: :lol:
 
Okay, Miss Tessie Lou... the time for good numbers is now!! Well, not RIGHT now, but this cycle, okay?

Hey, Sandy! I grew up in the opposite corner of the state... southeastern Iowa. I spent 3 years at school in Lincoln, NE though (among many other places!). Omaha is a great little city! I was also really impressed with all their doing in Des Moines these days... was always a trip I dreaded growing up... I didn't understand how the "big city" could be so lame!!! LOL

I've got my fingers crossed that my FSIL will get a job in Osceola so they will be "just up the road" from me in KC. :lol: :lol:

Hope you get to the bottom of Miss TL's tummy shenanigans. hopefully it is just her first hairball!!

have a great night!
 
Hi Christie,
I personally love K.C. We love to go stay in Country Club Plaza area at Christmas time, and there is so much to do in K.C. year round. It makes for a great mini-vacation for us (or it used to, before FD!) Yes, Omaha is a fun city--it has really grown! I was never a big fan of Des Moines, but maybe just never gave it a chance. ;-) I hope your FSIL (favorite son in law?) gets the job in Osceola!

Yes, I'm hoping her tummy thing was just a fluke or a hairball. I'm letting my imagination run wild--intestines tied in knots, large malignant tumor, you get the picture! Not helpful at all! So, I'm going to talk myself down and go to bed early tonight (pre-2am).

Have a good evening! Willie is doing amazing with the increase! Yay!
 
Hope Tessielou's tummy thingy doesnt ever come back! Just watch her, & yes, hairballs do look frightening while they are happening--The cough & tummy wrenching can happen then minutes to hours later, Up comes a hairball- a truly yuccky thing!--I wish it Gone!-Dont let your mind freak you out

Have a good night!
 
hmmm, the fact that she came to you when it started would make me lean towards hairball too. discerning kitters prefer to deliver hairballs only onto fine surfaces. none of this vinyl flooring stuff, oh no. hairballs need their bean's lap to land on, or the best piece of furniture. at the very, very least, this sweet gift could be deposited upon a good carpet. no bare floor, of course - that's not good enough. ;-)

seriously though, i hope the sweet girl is ok and it's nothing serious. is she using the litter box like normal? i upped punkin's dose tonight - you know how Tessie and punkin like to travel together!
 
:lol: :lol: on the eagle cam!

I never saw this with Binks prior to his Dx (cuz then we're watching closely)...but a few months back he went through a week or so where
he would get the hiccups for 5-10 minute spells...but i think you would have been able to tell with her.

hope she's feeling better!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top