4/3 Tasha's AMPS 397, +3 267, +6 189

Status
Not open for further replies.

Karisa and Tasha(GA)

Member Since 2011
In for a long day, gonna try +3,+6,+9 wish me luck on not getting too torn up :l

Just some growels and a bearly there scratch bout 5 mins after the fact :-D

I GOT HER EAR!!!!! :cool:

head jearks while trying to get blood but got it--took 2 or 3 pricks but got it again
 
Re: 4/3 Tasha's AMPS 397

hello, good morning,
welcome to Lantus Land!

I'm linking your previous thread/condo here, so that others can peek back easily if needed.
Previous Condo
Looks like Sienne posted an early morning post in there for you with some handy info. Check it out!

Read up on the stickies floating around plus the ones up top, with the star icon. Lots of useful info there, print them out if you can.

Good luck with Lantus!
 
Re: 4/3 Tasha's AMPS 397, +3 267

Nice job!! That's a good sized drop for +3. Here's what an "ideal" Lantus curve should look like (info is in the New to the Group sticky):

+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number

Just to make sure you're prepared for all contingencies, do you have extra strips and high carb (HC) food in the house? We use gravy formulations for HC -- basically grilled, marinated, or gravy lovers varieties of Fancy Feast. The gravy is where the carbs are so it's easy to squeeze out and feed if numbers are needing to be bumped up. Any food that's over about 15% carbs is fine.
 
Re: 4/3 Tasha's AMPS 397, +3 267

Does petco, petsmart or walmart carry anything i can give her as a treat? I would like to try to stay away from anything that has a sauce.

the only high carb food i have is dry, however i do have karo if needed. still trying to find out what type of food she really likes that is affordable. friskies did ok w/d ok not so much on the merrick (good thing at 1.09 for a small can :? ) gonna have to try some ff. I know you have to switch dry food slowly, what about canned food?
 
Re: 4/3 Tasha's AMPS 397, +3 267

A lot of people here feed either Friskies or the Classic variety of Fancy Feast. (FF changed the name of the low carb, pate style food. The names on Janet & Binky's list doesn't reflect the name change.)

Petco is closest to me so that's often where I shop if I don't get things on-line. (I usually get food and treats from PetFood Direct.) They do carry the Wellness jerky treats, Purebites freeze dried chicken, and tuna flakes. They also carry several of the Catswell products -- they are a jerky-style treat. With treats, you just want to check the label to make sure that all that's in the treats are a protein (chicken, beef, fish, etc.) and maybe some vitamins or other nutrients. Check one of the brands against something like Temptations and you'll see the difference in content. Generally, freeze dried or jerky-style treats are the best options. Also, you may find the freeze dried treats in the dog treats aisle.

Karo is fine to use. Many people here who have cats that are either gluten sensitive or have a cat with a delicate system will opt to use Karo over a gravy-style food. You just need to keep in mind that only a few drops of Karo will bring numbers up. Depending on how carb sensitive your cat is, 2 or 3 drops of Karo may do the same job as a teaspoon full of gravy.
 
Morning Karisa...nice to see Tasha has come down into blue today!! I use the Wellness pouches for steering Gracie as I like to keep her under 14% carbs; some cats need higher, some lower for steering low numbers. You'll have to see what works for Tasha. The Wellness Tuna pouch is 14% and the chicken/chicken liver is 13%. They usually have lots of good gravy as well. But I know alot of folks use FF...I just can't give Gracie anything with by products....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top