4/3 Sweetie +12.75=48 PMPS=65 +1=70 +2=60 +2.8=49

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 4/3 Sweetie AMPS=289

Nice work last night! Sweetie is definitely in good hands! Hopefully he doesn't go any higher today. Slide down the rainbow to the lagoon lil one!
 
Re: 4/3 Sweetie AMPS=289

Cathy I noticed that you feed Friskees LC. Why not Wellness wet it has the best rating. Good work with your sugar kitty !
 
Re: 4/3 Sweetie AMPS=289

Hi Rick, actually I feed Sweetie Fancy Feast classics at meal time now and keep to 5% carbs or lower. I just haven't tried the Wellness yet though I may need to if he is just so sensitive to carbs that I need to go to the 1 or 2% range - is that where Wellness rates for carbs?

Anyway, when I'm feeding at a low number to get him to surf or rise up a bit, sometimes I'll give him 2tsp of his bro's Friskies pate which is still considered "low carb" but is around 8-10% carbs, rather than his 3-5% FF. His bro gets Friskies because it is 1/2 the price of the FF.

I'm still figuring out my strategy and watching what my sugarcat does with every (mis)step I take :lol: !
 
Re: 4/3 Sweetie AMPS=289

Foods are definitely a tricky dance with our sugar cats...ECID, for sure! I can't remember where Wellness stands in carbs - it's pretty low - but whenever I fed it to Trixie, her BGs would bounce all over the map! She did her best work on FF Chicken and Purina One Turkey Pate. However, those are now both too high in phosphorous for her, so I'm having to try out all sorts of new foods. There is one Friskies - Special Diet Turkey and Giblets - that is OK in carbs, and it's very affordable.

Have you seen Dr Lisa's chart? Here's the link:
Dr Lisa's Food Chart

Have a great evening!!!
 
Re: 4/3 Sweetie AMPS=289 +7=221 +12=56 Stalling Shot

Uh oh - Sweetie seems to have been doing a steady fall since +2=294 today; I was hoping it would start going up in the last 2 hours but NO!

I can stall tonight, but can't get too far off my usual schedule. Would love some help here - I don't think I feed because I want to wait until he starts to go up without any food lift, right? Test in 30 or 15 or :?: :?: :?:
 
Re: 4/3 Sweetie AMPS=289 +7=221 +10=129 +12=56 Help w Stalli

Correct...don't feed.

I'd like to see him come up a bit before you shoot since he's dropping. Can you retest in 30 mins and see where he is?
 
Re: 4/3 Sweetie AMPS=289 +7=221 +10=129 +12=56 Help w Stalli

Wellness Chicken or their Turkey flavors are 4%. It's not that Wellness is lower in carbs. It's a better quality in that there are no animal by-products. It's a human grade food.
 
Re: 4/3 Sweetie AMPS=289 +7=221 +10=129 +12=56 Help w Stalli

Cathy

See my post above. Just post your next number in your condo and the subject line. Thanks!
 
Re: 4/3 Sweetie +12=56 +12.75=48 Stalling, still dropping

So sorry for the delay - I still have guests and had to help with dinner for 10!

Wow - I waited 45 min and he is now lower, at 48!!! I may have to skip, or shoot a reduced shot when he does come up because I have to leave for work tomorrow morning at a set time, so a 1 hour delay is all I can afford.

Would love your advice!
 
Re: 4/3 Sweetie +12=56 +12.75=48 Stalling, still dropping

Give him 1 tsp of LC and retest in 30.

If you do shoot a full dose if he comes up, shoot 1.25u because he just earned a reduction.
 
Re: 4/3 Sweetie +12=56 +12.75=48 PMPS=65 Reducie

By the time I read your last post Marje it had been almost 20 min since the previous test, so I tested without the LC first. And since it was now up to 65 I went ahead and gave him the reduced dose of 1.25u before he drained his shed too much. And he was so happy to get his dinner finally.

Hope that was a good decision!

So test in 1 hour?
 
Re: 4/3 Sweetie +12=56 +12.75=48 PMPS=65 Reducie

I love it that you made that decision! Perfect.

See you in one hour :-D
 
Re: 4/3 Sweetie +12.75=48 PMPS=65 +1=70

He's up a little from PMPS and dinner, but it looks like it might be a busy night for me :mrgreen:

I guess this is what you mean when you say if kitty wants a reduction, he finds a way to let you know! So although we avoided one last night, we got it right at the end of the next cycle :shock:
 
Re: 4/3 Sweetie +12.75=48 PMPS=65 +1=70

Thanks for clarifying about Wellness, Sienne. Maybe one day I'll try the raw diet and use Dr. Pierson's recipe, but for now I'm happy to just open a can with the right level of carbs.
 
Re: 4/3 Sweetie +12.75=48 PMPS=65 +1=70 +2=60

Now at +2 he's at 60. Should I give 2tsp LC again, or something stronger since onset should be happening from the PM shot?
 
Re: 4/3 Sweetie +12.75=48 PMPS=65 +1=70 +2=60

Ha! He is going to get an honorary membership in Gracies "Lil Stinka" club.

A couple more tsp LC and I'd probably retest in 30.
 
Re: 4/3 Sweetie +12.75=48 PMPS=65 +1=70 +2=60

Just saw your post. You know him best. Since its early, if you prefer to add a drop or so of gravy to the LC, that's fine.
 
Re: 4/3 Sweetie +12.75=48 PMPS=65 +1=70 +2=60

Is this the club for kitties that like to keep their beans up at night :shock: :lol: :?:
 
Re: 4/3 Sweetie +12.75=48 PMPS=65 +1=70 +2=60

This is the club for kitties who can be 192 at PS and 27 at +2......with no sign. Of course, there are varying degrees of Lil Stinkas :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 4/3 Sweetie +12.75=48 PMPS=65 +1=70 +2=60

:o yes that kind of drop deserves a special prize!

I gave him 2tsp of LC again, plus added a bit of HC gravy-lovers.
 
Re: 4/3 Sweetie +12.75=48 PMPS=65 +1=70 +2=60

Ok...see you soon. Have to feed the original one and only Lil Stinka. Tiara and all. :-D
 
Yes - it was down again, to 49. I fed 1tsp HC gravy lovers right away at that number, not sure if I should do more. I normally give him his bedtime meal around +4 which is in another hour after the stalling, but I'm really tired. So I'm thinking about giving him that meal now and going to bed but I will set an alarm to check on him. Would every hour be OK until he goes up?
 
I think you should give him some gravy and retest in 30 since its early. If he's up in 30, then feed some LC and lay down a bit....no more than an hour unless he shoots way up. Please be sure you get a rising non food influenced number before you stop testing for the night. One will be fine.

If he bounces, you can shoot through it in the a.m. And take the reduction tomorrow night. If he doesn't bounce, reduce in the a.m.

Any questions before I let you go for the night?
 
Yes - do you mean he gets another reduction from this 49? I don't think he held the 2 reductions close together back on 3/21 & 3/22, so I was thinking of just staying at the 1.25u he got tonight which is already a reduction from the 1.5 this morning.

Also, can I give him his regular meal of LC soon or just give 2tsp at a time?

I'll go give him another tsp of HC while I wait for your answer.
 
No...only one reduction to 1.25u. I was just reminding you :-D ;-)

He could go below 50 five times in two cycles but he only gets one reduction for the entire day. Ok?

Sorry I confused you.
 
Sorry...I forgot to answer about the meal....yes give him his regular meal instead of just two tsp. that's fine.

And you saw my response on the reduction? :-D :-D

Good job....I know how hard it is to have company and have to test, feed, etc.
 
Thanks for the clarification Marje! He'll be happy to eat now - just heard him hiss at the civvie; cranky when he's hungry :lol: Yes my family thinks I'm a little obsessed about the cat but they are being good natured about it.

Courtney & Rich - thanks! It is great to have him responding to the TR protocol even though I could use more sleep I-)
 
Cathy,

My family and friends thought I was obsessed with Rex's numbers. But they are now amazed how Rex's health has improved.
He really didn't play with toys when we adopted him - Now he plays with all his toys and pulls them out of his toy box.
He is now cleaning himself and his coat is beautiful! He is like a new kitty!

Keep up the awesome work!!

ALL of us on here totally GET YOU!! :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top