4/3 Sid not doing so good right now

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lydia & Sid & Jake(GA)

Member Since 2010
Sorry I haven't posted. I've been stressed over Sid's glucose levels and lack of desire to eat food. This actually started about Sunday. The only difference is that is when I started the zeniquin. I don't see how that could affect things so I am not blaming that. His bg levels have been absolutely crazy so that I do not even want to update his SS but I will. For example he dropped 300 points in 2 hours yesterday and then spiked up. At this time he did eat some wellness in a packet pretty well. This is in start contrast to the lows we were getting just a few days ago.

I do not know what to do and where these crazy numbers are coming from if it is from his infection or from a bad vial of prozinc? I opened it mid January? Should still be good but I have purchased a new bottle for when this one runs out. I may open it early just to see. The other crazy thing is that Sid's HCT has gone from 22% to 36% Neither the vet or I believed this so we retested his blood to find it was true on 2 tests. The vet said that dehydration could spike the HCT like that but Sid is not dehydrated. We are not sure what made Sid regenerate red blood cells like that but I am suspicious because of his lack of appetite. I'm afraid it may not be a good thing (but I hope I am wrong).

Tonight we were back at the vet getting some mirtzapine. He just picks at his food and doesn't really want to eat (only lick the juices and eat a little baby food). I have increased his fluids to 80 -100 ml/day. he is alert and playful - just doesn't feel like eating and his bg levels have been crazy.
 
Sorry to hear he's not feeling well. He looked so active and playful in the videos you linked earlier (yesterday?). Anyways, I'm sure part of it is he's not feeling well, and the other part is the meds... I think Kim's Kitty is probably in a similar zone.

Sending you my best for a better appetite, more activity and lower BGs for your darling guy!
 
I am so sorry Sid's not feeling well. I can imagine how stressed you are. I am so sorry you're going through this too. Sending you both lots of hugs and healing energy :YMHUG:
 
Maybe his injection of cerenia kicked in something because he ate a jar of baby food. I lowered his dose to 1.2 today because he kept dropping into the 40s. (I'm disregarding yesterday because I am not sure what was going on with his bg. I think he dropped too low too fast yesterday morning and that affected the entire day.)
 
Could it be possible that you may have given a fur shot at PMPS on 4/2 ? Yeah, his BG's are all over the place. Poor kiddo, I hope he gets to feeling better. I know you are trying everything you can :YMSIGH: Just looks to me that he's not getting enough insulin or should I say... It's not lasting enough. I would of gone to 1.3 and I know that even throws numbers out of wack, so I am sure you had your reasons for 1.2. I know it's easier said then done because of your work situation, but it looks like TID would be helpful to keep him from those high numbers. Then you have the challenge of going too low etc ohmygod_smile Depending on his low tonight and that only if you're able to test him cause it's already 1am your time. I would see what his numbers look like tomorrow mid day and maybe go to 1.3 Hang in there, Lydia!!!!
 
Sorry Sid isn't doing well. I am always so impressed when I read your notes at how well educated you are about Sid and what's going on with him. He's a lucky fella to have you in his corner!

Praying for better days to come!

Libby
 
Hi Lydia,
I am so sorry that Sid is not feeling well,
Yesterday's drop is very harsh, and PZI USUALLY does not do that,
but I have seen some extemes once in awhile
could be a fluke, or maybe the not eating did affect him
I hope he starts eating soon and feeling better
Hang in there
Denise
 
Nope there's no way it was a fur shot because Sid gets his injections IM. At +8 he was 205 and +11.5 he was 238 so that means he surfed in the 200s all last night which was good. But, In 1/2 an hour from 11.5 to 12 he spiked up to 338 and that was his AMPS.
He is eating a little bit better today maybe due to the cerenia injection he got yesterday.
 
Come on Sid, buddy, EAT!

Lydia, how was the anemia results in the bloodwork?
 
Hi Kim
Since january his hemocrit has been dropping and it was 22% las check in late february. This check it was at 36% neither the vet or I believed it so we reran the blood and it was right. Im not sure why it improved so much or why he isn't eating now suddenly.
 
Hi Lydia, I'm sorry to hear that Sid isn't feeling so well. I agree with Michelle about the dose, I would try 1.3u. I know it's a balancing act though, with him not eating well and you not being home to monitor closely, 1.2u might not be a bad dose under the circumstances...as long as those ketones stay away!

I would not be so sure the higher numbers are not related to the Zeniquin, it could be related to him not feeling well from the AB. Ditto on the not eating....it could be the Zeniquin, side effects include decreased appetite, vomiting and diarrhea. You might want to ask the vet about a different AB.

Does he have any signs of nausea? If so, I'd be careful about using an appy stimulant without something to treat nausea...it can cause food aversion. Ondansetron is good for nausea...you might want to ask the vet about that vs Cerenia if he isn't vomiting. Did you join the yahoo feline assisted feeding group? If not, I would encourage you (and anyone else with an inappetant cat) to do that, there's a ton of great info there about eating issues, meds, etc, even if you are not assist feeding! You might want to add a probiotic...I know fortiflora makes him vomit, but you were using a different probiotic before, weren't you? As always, I need to say that I'm not a vet, I'm suggesting ideas that you might want to discuss with your vet.

Don't forget that if he's not eating well, feed him whatever he will eat, even if it's HC. You can always increase the insulin to offset the carbs...but he needs the calories. I would also consider assist feeding if he isn't eating enough on his own (I know you will if you need to!) He's ketone prone, has an infection and you reduced the insulin dose (not criticizing, just pointing it out!)....not eating well spells trouble IMHO. I know you know to keep testing for ketones.

I would think that HCT being normal is a good thing? I'm really not much help with BW, sorry! (I did see some info that Zeniquin can depress neutrophils though.)

My experience with ProZinc is that it is very stable, we used the same vial for 3 months with no potency problem, and some people have used a vial for 6 months with no problems. We switched after 3 months, or I would have continued to use my vial until it was gone. I would continue to use the vial unless there's clear evidence that it has lost potency, it is discolored or the appearance has changed in some way. It's not a fragile insulin. Others may have a different opinion though...that's just my experience.

Please eat, Sid....sending eating vines!
 
Wishing you and Sid the best. Come on buddy, let's see about eating something, okay?

I know you & Kim have already discussed the Zeniquin and appetite loss. Maybe another AB would be in order. It's so tough to find the right things for all the different issues that don't interact or wreak havoc on another condition. Sounds like you're handling it very well. Continuing to keep you both in prayers and close to my heart.

Lu-Ann
 
Thanks for your well wishes everyone! Sid has a good attitude and he is playful - just not as keen on eating. He does eat just not as much as before. So far his ketone levels have not been elevated much higher than before and I've been giving fluids more often. His BUN and CRE were elevated at the last check (BUN 50).

As for his dose, 1.2 is dropping him down - last night he hit the 50s again. This is very similar behavior to when he had an infection before. Also his AMPS has been in the 200s yesterday and 303 today - that is why I'm not convinced he would benefit from TID dosing. I'm still monitoring that and deciding.

I also agree with Laurie about the Feline Assisted Feeding group. I've been a member for a couple of years - and have had to assist feed several cats. Sid is not a good candidate for assist feeding because he fights so much. He would get another feeding tube installed if it comes to that. That group has a lot of good information about assist feeding and feeding tubes. I knew exactly what to do with Sid's feeding tube because of that group!!

I'm considering paying for a consultation with DR. Lisa to have her look at Sid's bgs and records and give me her advice about insulin and dosing. Has anyone else had a consultation ?
 
Lydia,
In case she doesn't see the question, PM Lori (owlgirl). She had several consults with Dr. Lisa when she first joined FDMB. Dr. L posted in a few of her early threads too.

Carl
 
Hope everything is going alright over there. Been checking SS, but I know you're busy and hadn't updated in awhile. Just thinking of you guys! Hugs to Sid and I hope you all have a nice Easter holiday :smile:
 
Hi Lydia!

I saw your post a few days ago, but have not had a chance to reply. I have never posted in PZI...hope it's ok?! ;-)

I just wanted you to know that Latte had similar wild swings in BG when she had infections going on. I could not dose her high enough to combat the high bounces, because she was not a reliable eater and would vomit often (decreasing her bg's). She could go into the 60's, and on the same dose sit in the 400's. I think we talked about in LL how she would commonly drop 100+pts in an hour and ride back up almost immediately. I wish I had an answer. I just wanted you to know that the infection could possibly be causing these wild swings.

I did not realize Sid had eye issues, too! I have a foster (almost 1 year now), who came to me blind in one eye due to trauma. She had that removed in Oct 2011. She has severe herpes in the other eye that never seems to respond to any medication. We just do our best to prevent ulcers and other complications that cause her to lose sight in that eye, too.

You are such an angel. You take such wondeful care of Sid. I hope you are able to find time to take care of yourself as well!
 
carolynandlatte said:
I have never posted in PZI...hope it's ok?! ;-)

I just wanted you to know that Latte had similar wild swings in BG when she had infections going on.

I have a foster (almost 1 year now), who came to me blind in one eye due to trauma. She had that removed in Oct 2011. She has severe herpes in the other eye that never seems to respond to any medication. We just do our best to prevent ulcers and other complications that cause her to lose sight in that eye, too.!

Hi Carolyn and welcome - of course it's okay to post here! Support from our friends using Lantus, Levemir, and other insulins is especially welcome! Every now and then someone even changes from one to another insulin... if we couldn't post and ask on other forums, we would be doing ourselves a disservice! Kind words from friends are encouraged anytime!

I just wanted hijack the thread for a moment here, and to share, after having 4 cats with 5 eye ulcers... and now a new little one who has become #6 and #5 respectively... with a herpes infection...the key is the meds. Hope, (#6/5) was scheduled to have her eye removed the day after I met her. At the time, she was a Humane Society foster. Having been to an eye specialist for my dog and the 4 other kitties, I volunteered to take her to the specialist. With the right drops - initially 12 of them per day, she's cleared up beautifully. The first cat I had with an ulcer was treated locally, and the specialist noted that the AB they gave him was totally ineffective - not addressing the type of infection he had - so it has paid to go to the specialist - and really didn't cost any more to treat (just the time to get there) - in fact Hope's treatment cost less than the scheduled surgery and meds that were proposed. When she has flare-ups, and they do occur from time to time, she gets a drop of Vigamox. The other drops she was on initially were Tobramycin .3% soln, and Ketorolac Ophthalmic Solution 10mL, and also had the long acting injectable AB given in the hospital of Cefovecin. It was amazing the change I saw after this treatment protocol!

Okay... back to the thread...Hopefully Sid's swings are just a reflection of the infections as noted by others. I hope that by now they are somewhat managed, and his appetite has returned.

It's so hard when we know our babies are in pain. Finding the solution can sometimes be an uphill battle, but when we do, it makes the climb all the more worthwhile! Continuing to send my best to you and Sid!

Lu-Ann
 
Yes, we know you are busy Lydia, but we’re just concerned. When you have time let us know.
Good vibes comin’ your way....
:YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top