4/3 Shishi PMPS 306 +7 367 constant pinks

Status
Not open for further replies.

will and shishi

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=39286

Hello all

I am transitioning Shishi into a raw diet, and also feeding her multiple small meals at 2-3 hr intervals.

Despite increasing dose, the BG's just seem to be going higher and higher and staying in the pinks. Very frustrating.

Purring- stopped purring again
Peeing - has returned to normal amounts
pooping- formed stools.
preening- she still only grooms after meals, coat still full of dandruff.
playing - she doesn't play anymore, normal for her since diabetes.

Her appetite is very good now, seems to have fought off the pancreatitis completely. Wondering if I can increase dose faster than protocol, I suspect she need above 7-8 units at this rate.

She's still on zeniquin for her kidney infection, urine has just recently returned to normal concentrations. I want to take her off this drug asap as I suspect this is the cause.
 
Re: 4/3 Shishi AMPS 372 +7 363 constant pinks

Hi Will

nice to see you posting. I can feel your frustration looking at Shishi's spreadsheet.
Also read back to Libby's post in your previous condo, makes sense to me, to work your way up again.
Dont give up, Shishi is just...well, Shishi :YMHUG: does that help? not likely huh.
See what others can add, I dont have the higher dose experience, but hopefully others can weigh in for you.
 
Re: 4/3 Shishi AMPS 372 +7 363 constant pinks

When you note that you're feeding Shishi small meals every 2 - 3 hours, are you feeding after nadir? If so, you may want to reconsider that strategy. During the period post-nadir, the effects of Lantus are waning. If you feed then, there's a good chance your pre-shot test will be high since there has been less insulin to offset the effect of the food.

If you look at the Tilly Protocol, you can increase as soon as every 2 days (4 cycles). If you're going to be aggressive about dose, you need to monitor carefully. (I know you do monitor carefully -- I'm stating this for the newbies or lurkers who are out there.)
 
Re: 4/3 Shishi AMPS 372 +7 363 constant pinks

just stopping by to wish you and Shishi luck, Will...

celi & binks
 
Hey all

Thanks for dropping by as always.

To Sienne and Gabby, yes I am feeding post nadirs. This is a very helpful point, since I did not factor in that post nadirs lantus can be weening off.

I have to weigh my options here, since small frequent meals is easier on the digestive tract for pancreatitis. Her pancreatitis attacks are over, but I would like to avoid them if at all possible. Feeding post nadir will make the preshots higher. Is there a strategy that can satisfy both criteria?

The plan now is still to slowly reach a breakthrough dose (fingers crossed), Will still need more opinions for a good feeding plan for Shishi, I will do my part for reading and feeding.
 
Rather than feeding every 2 - 3 hours, how about trying to feed Shishi every 1- 2 hours? You'll be able to keep the portions small and just increase the frequency so you're not running right up to the next pre-shot. Much of the issues with food are trial and error. Keep notes on your SS so others can look with your and see if a different plan is working better.
 
So meals would look something like this? if she gets 8 oz of total food per day.

AMPS 1 oz food
+2 1 oz food
+4 1 oz food
+6 1oz food
+8 1 oz food
+10 1 oz food
PMPS 1 oz food
+6 1oz food
cycle repeats
AMPS ....... and so on

or would I have to make AMPS and PMPS bigger meals and make in between meals less?
 
I would eliminate the +8 and +10. Generally, you don't want to feed at +10 since it is very likely to cause the PMPS to be inflated.

I give my guys 1/4 of a 3oz can at pre-shot and +1. They get 1/8 of a can at +2 and +3. I front load the cycle because Gabby tends to drop fast and early. You might want to spread the food out from PS through +6.

Are you feeding differently during the PM cycle?
 
Yes, during PM cycles I am feeding differently due to me sleeping. But I can wake up to feed.

I can front load the PM cycles and then sleep.
 
You might want to think about a timed feeder. I have a 2 compartment one that I use, especially if I've the a pet sitter coming in when I travel.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top