? 4/3 Oren AMPS-277;+2-354; +7-420; +9-367; +10.5-362;+11-360; PMPS-341;pm+4.5-253-dosecrease to 5.75

Status
Not open for further replies.

Megan & Oren

Member Since 2015
Yesterday:cool:

Breakthrough for sure. The bounce didn't go higher than pink last night. I got up at pm+10 to find a 247, so am wondering if he went into hundreds again during night.

and not a big rise to AMPS now, so I guess he's stabilizing. This a.m. is cycle 8 at 5.25, so I guess it's time to think about what's next? another 2 cycles maybe at this dose and w/o green, go up .25?

Happy Friday everyone, I'm so happy for my little creamsicle boy!!! Hope everyone else in need has a good day.
 
+2 rise, not unusual for him. have to take my car in for scheduled tire rotation, should be back by +4-5ish.. if he stays true to recent pattern,he won't really fall till after then anyway. 3 small lc meals are in place for +2, +4 and +5
 
You could actually increase after 8 cycles, since you didn't see a green. As you are now over 5 units, you can move the increases to .5U. Think of increases in terms of 10%. Where .25U works at 2.5U doses, a .5U increase is better over 5 units. If you get to a dose where you are seeing lots of green and just want to tweak it down a bit, then try a .25U dose, which would be like skinnying or fattening a smaller dose. That's what I did with Neko when we got over 5 units.

It's great to see all that blue showing up on Oren's SS. Next stop green!
 
just got home from car and some shopping, to discover my biggest fear: I left the Lantus on the table!! it was out 6 hrs. Have I ruined it???:banghead::banghead::banghead:

i did read the sticky on handling which said if left on counter overnight "chances are its just fine" however, this one is already 2 months old... great gawddamn, just went momentum was going my way! Do I need to consider getting a new vial or at least a pen?
 
Last edited:
I think you are fine for now. Just keep using and see how it does. Lots of people have left it out overnight. Fortunately it's not the really hot time of year yet either.
 
boy i hope so!! i was very tired this a.m as i got up earlier than usual for an extra pre AMPS test and couldn't really get back to sleep. Grrrrrrr!!
 
bouncing again? perhaps the early meals keep it higher? edit at +9: maybe no blue today? I really wonder if the extra food (I normally don't feed past +4) may have anything to do with the numbers, or is he just still bouncing?
 
Last edited:
grr. back to his usual. I was so happy w/ blues, of course he couldn't stay there. Guess I will bump to 5.75u tonight?
 
Today could have been a mini bounce from yesterday's blues. Sometimes bounces can be delayed a bit. Neko would typically have the worst of her bounce 3 cycles after the low numbers.

He's been at this dose for 8 cycles now and we've seen blue but not green. While great progress, it's not quite where we want to be yet. I think you'd be good with an increase to 5.75U. Hmm, I just typed that as you posted. ;) Good luck with the increase.
 
Yes, I think 0.5u would be fine, for the reasons Wendy explained. As you get into bigger doses, you need bigger increases to move blood sugar.

I was hoping Oren would have a shorter bounce and be back in blues already today. Maybe tonight.

and ps, if i still had a diabetic cat, I'd absolutely trust Wendy with him! She's not only awesome, but smart too! :D
 
Julie, thanks so much, in no way was I discounting @Wendy&Neko advice , she has been awesome as has everyone, just like to get a couple opinions (I like reassurance of my own decisions I guess!). :smuggrin: The smart level in general here is truly humbling (except for us bumbling newbies!)
BTW - do you also agree the 6 hr lantus on the table thing shouldn't be a problem? It wasn't in direct sunlight and indeed the house was pretty cool...
 
yes - it's no doubt fine. If you start seeing floaties or threads, then wonder, but it's not as delicate as we thought back when.

I know you weren't discounting Wendy! It is good to see a couple of opinions when you're trying to figure things out. I like to see other opinions even when i'm offering my own for someone's cat - i just wanted you to know that if you didn't get more opinions, wendy's was sufficient!
 
@julie & punkin (ga) :oops::oops:

Megan - I totally get wanting a second opinion on dosing. When Neko was going upscale in dose and more than most kitties at the time here, I too wanted to hear from more people with similar experiences. Oren's not on what I'd call a high dose yet, more a good sized medium size. And even now, I like hearing other opinions as I am still learning too.
 
again, all thanks to the wondrous ladies here in LL, we'd be lost w/o you:bighug:.
Oren continued to drop at PMPS, but not out of pink. Upped him to 5.75u and am wondering if I should bother to test at +2 or not? He usually seems to have NDW rises right after a first increase, but because of the last few days dropping, I'm curious. he got a lot of late afternoon pokes though...Suggestions?
 
Neko has NDW, except the times she doesn't. :rolleyes: I'd get a before bed test tonight and that should be good.
 
well, encouraged by the +4.5 drop, doesn't seem large enough to worry about dropping more tonight? It seems likely he could hit blue again though. i never got my engines really started today and think i need to get to bed now, unless other experienced eyes (@Wendy&Neko )say different?
 
Last edited:
I think you are good for the night. You can always leave out a little low carb food if you are worried, but at this point I don't think you need to. Sleep well. Paws crossed for good numbers for AMPS.
 
the only reason I think i might, is he has seemed a bit low energy all night, seems a tiny bit uncomfortable or something? hard to explain, nothing hugely amiss; he rouses easily and is purry, but seems off a bit...maybe the bouncing numbers have him feeling oogie?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top