4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75~PMBG 100~+4 73

Status
Not open for further replies.

Randi & Max (GA)

Member Since 2009
Yesterday's Condo

Max did not have his shot last night because I got home too late to give it.
So it has been 23 hours without insulin and he is at 75.

Do I give a drop this morning? Do I skip?
Yesterday on 3 drops he went from 91 to 46 in 2 hours.
Maybe we are ready for a trial?
 
Re: 4/3 Max +23 75 - Do I shoot

Wowsers....this is a tough one.

What's your gut telling you?

Would be be around to monitor today?

You could shoot the 2 drops, see what happens and it would give you more data to help decide if it's time for a trial. But if your gut is telling you something different...
 
Re: 4/3 Max +23 75 - Do I shoot

I would say go for it! After 24 hours and he is still lookin very good, there is nothing left from that drop working here it's all Max!
 
Re: 4/3 Max +23 75 - Do I shoot

2 drops or 1 drop.
I have no where to go today other than maybe an hour and I can do it
whenever I want.
 
Re: 4/3 Max +23 75 - Do I shoot

I think Monique said to go for the trial!!!!!! Looks like a green light to start the trial.

What do you think????? nailbite_smile
 
Re: 4/3 Max +23 75 - Do I shoot

Wow look at u guys!!!!! Wish I had advice for u but just want to say how awesome he is doing!!!!! Can you imagine otj trial???? So cool!!!
 
Re: 4/3 Max +23 75 - Do I shoot

Amy and Six said:
I think Monique said to go for the trial!!!!!! Looks like a green light to start the trial.

What do you think????? nailbite_smile

Oh, I thought she said go for the drops and see.
Now I am confused.
Serves me right to ask too many questions.

ETA: Yesterday morning he had 3 drops.
 
Re: 4/3 Max +23 75 - Do I shoot

Have you re-read Monique's posting? PM her if your confused.

I read it again and I really think she is saying go for it...that this is Max's body working on his own.
 
Re: 4/3 Max +23 75 - Do I shoot

Amy and Six said:
Have you re-read Monique's posting? PM her if your confused.

I read it again and I really think she is saying go for it...that this is Max's body working on his own.

Yes but she said "drop" and Max had 3 drops yesterday so i thought if I gave a drop today
and his numbers were good tomorrow then OTJ trial.
No coffee yet and very tired so very worried.
 
Re: 4/3 Max +23 75 - Do I shoot

Yes I meant it looks like a good time to start the trial, you are already at day 1 so keep chewing!
 
Re: 4/3 Max +23 75 - Do I shoot

:RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT

Yes I meant it looks like a good time to start the trial, you are already at day 1 so keep chewing!


DID YOU READ THAT??????? is there a way to wake everyone up in LL to see the good news???????
 
Re: 4/3 Max +23 75 - Do I shoot

Okay. I am so nervous. I hope he is ready. I was still thinking 2 more weeks.

Okay, holding my breath and going to change the subject line.
That will shock everyone when they wake up.

Thanks my friends for being here this morning.

MAX IS GOING ON OTJ TRIAL
nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile
 
Re: 4/3 Max +23 75 - Do I shoot

:-D :-D :-D :-D :-D :-D :-D :-D :-D :-D :-D :-D :-D :-D :-D :-D :-D :-D :-D
Yep, Yep, that's what I read too....time for Max to start chewing!!! Hahahahahahaha what wonderful news for a Saturday morning!! Way to go Max (and Randi, of course!) :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT Gooooooo Max!!!!!
 
Re: 4/3 Max AMBG 75 Day 1 OTJ Trial

I was going btb after this morning's shot and posting...then read your condo and then...well, let's just say I'm waaaaaaaaaaaayyyyyyyyyy too excited to go back to bed.

Max can totally do it!!!!!!!

Nothing to be nervous about...this boy has been telling you for a while that he's done with the diabetes thing! Besides, you bought him a new pink bed yesterday to celebrate! :lol:

Congratulations on the trial!!!!!
 
Re: 4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75

Thanks Amy, me too.
Now I also am wired. Oh well, guess I will have my coffee now
and sleep tomorrow.
 
Re: 4/3 Max AMBG 75 Day 1 OTJ Trial

:RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT

HOLY CARP!

:dizcat :dizcat :dizcat :dizcat :dizcat :dizcat :dizcat :dizcat :dizcat :dizcat :dizcat :dizcat


bcatrun_gif bcatrun_gif bcatrun_gif GO MAX GO! You didn't even wait for permission Max dude, you just ran with it! bcatrun_gif bcatrun_gif bcatrun_gif

I bet your mamabean is a nervous wreck! nailbite_smile Be a good boy and give her lots of extra loves today.
 
Re: 4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75

Randi,
Today is PERFECT to start the trial, if you think about it. It's the weekend and he actually already started with that missed shot, so he's already doing well!

I know you're nervous but what's the harm in trying, especially how he likes to go freaky low on you. For all you know, he's been hinting at you for awhile but you're just not listenin'!!

Best of luck on it all. If it works, great; if not, no biggie.
But let's all pull for the first choice!

Good job Max!!
 
Re: 4/3 Max AMBG 75 Day 1 OTJ Trial

I'm pretty sure what Max went through was some insulin resistance and once that broke and it started working for him he went with full speed towards remission. He seems to very sensistive to insulin now (a few drops sends him quite low at +3). I'm sure as long as he stays on his appropriate diet his pancreas will stay strong and he will make it through. I think you could have shot the one drop and he wouldn't have gone to low today because his shed was empty from skipping last night, but with a number like 75 and no insulin, shooting a drop for 3-5 to send him low again is just formality. If he drifts back up at some point and doesn't come back down on his own you can always pause the trial and shot a drop for a few weeks.

We need to get some partys going on around here!
 
Re: 4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75

:o Wow! This is crazy exciting! :thumbup

Congrats for giving it a go. All fingers, toes, paws, and whiskers are crossed over here for a successful trial....and lots more sleep for you, max, and your family!

Btw....quite an adventure you had yesterday...11 cases! :shock: :lol:
 
Re: 4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75

(((Randi & Max))) Sooooooo excited for the two of you :thumbup
Supporting & encouraging you both!! Happy Caturday & have a wonderful weekend!
 
Re: 4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75

Randi, I'm just dropping back in to say...Giggle Giggle.....I am so excited for you. I know the feeling you are having...I had that not to long ago when it was suggested that Spot start his gum trial....I was scared and excited at the same time. I dance with Spot...especially on day 17 when I decided that it was time to end the trial. I am so happy that you guys are at this point flip_cat
 
Re: 4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75

yay!!!!!!!!!!!! How awesome and unexpected for you!!!!!!!!! Wishing you the best of luck!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
:RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT flip_cat
 
Re: 4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75

YAY MAX!!! This is GREAT news....so excited for you both!!! :dizcat
What a nice surprise, eh?
You guys will do great!!! HUGS!!! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75

RANDI!!!!!!! MAX!!!!!!!!! OTJ TRIAL DAY 1!!!!!!!!!! WE ARE SOOOOOO EXCITED!!!
GO MAX GO!! MR. P IS AWAKE & FUNCTIONING!! CHEW GUM DAY 1 dancing_cat flip_cat dancing_cat flip_cat bcatrun_gif party_cat
 
Re: 4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75

I am so happy for you guys! I bet the entire family, including DPS, is going to be holding their collective breath for 2 weeks.
 
Re: 4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75

Boys like Pink Beds too...

besides, Max thinks you bought it for the trial celebration.

:lol:

It sounds like there will never be a bed you could buy that Max wouldn't like. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75

Wow! That's just great news! The feeling in the pit of your stomach will go away. You'll start to believe it--mostly.

BEST OF LUCK!
 
Re: 4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75

Excellent. Congratulations on starting Trial Day 1. This is very exciting news!!

Goooooooooo Max !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
Re: 4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75

:RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT

I heard thru FB the good news....Happy Day 1 Randi and Max!

So so happy for you !

All the best of luck and good positive stuff for a successful trial!

:RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT
 
Re: 4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75

Alex is so excited for you guys that he could just BOUNCE all over the place....

confused_cat confused_cat confused_cat confused_cat confused_cat confused_cat confused_cat confused_cat

YAY Max! :thumbup

Fingers toes and paws crossed for your success :dizcat

Hugs,
Caryl, Alex & Jackson :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75~+6 66

OMG!!!!! :o CONGRATULATIONS MAX! GOOD FOR YOU! :thumbup

AWESOME!!

GO MAX!! :RAHCAT

Go MAX!! :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT


B&H
 
Re: 4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75~+6 66

dancing_cat dancing_cat Congratulations !!! Randi and Max!!! dancing_cat dancing_cat
:RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT​
How did I miss this this morning! :shock: Way to go!! WhoooooHooooo!
 
Re: 4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75~+6 66

Congrats on beginning your trial! :) I know Max (and you) will do wonderfully. Can't wait to see how he progresses!
 
Re: 4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75~+6 66~PMBG 100

Thanks everyone for the amazing congratulations and visiting Max today.
I am still in shock over this and when I saw his 100 I had the urge
to get his insulin ready.
He still thinks he can be served his dinner on his chair and I guess he
was right. I brought his dinner there as his sisters ate in the kitchen.

So I have seen quite a few OTJ trials since I joined but I was wondering, when are
the best times to test Max to see how he does?

Today is bitter sweet because my dd's are in Vermont with their dad and they
do not know Max has started his trial. I hope they come back to a great
surprise on Monday.
This will be the longest 2 weeks I think.
 
Re: 4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75~+6 66~PMBG 100

wow, an OTJ trial! Congratulations!

Usually we suggest testing before his AM/PM meals like usual. If green, he's doing ok. If blue, then you would want to feed and test again in 3-4 hours to see if he came down. In general, if you want to do extra tests then 3-4 hours after a meal is good. Feel small meals as much as possible, so as not to overwhelm the pancreas.
 
Re: 4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75~+6 66~PMBG 100

One day at a time, and it looks like Mad Max is surfing along nicely!
As for the bittersweet part, naw, I think this is more personal and between you and Max. You were the one who worried and stressed and stayed awake to feed him to safety. And Max knows that too.

I sure don't know when would be the best times to test, and only you will know those times cuz you know Max. How about check the ss for some of the others on trials?
What's really important are the ps and the others may be up but you want him to bring himself down, right? When would you like to test. That's when you should test.
I am sure there are proper times to test, so someone will be along to give you the exact times and why.
 
Re: 4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75~+6 66~PMBG 100

Whoo Hoo congrates on day one.
Question: I was looking at your SS and noticed that you went from 4.00 to 2.00 units without holding the 3 day cycles and then gradually reducing. I am just curious cause I want to make sure I am doing the right thing,,,
 
Re: 4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75~+6 66~PMBG 100

What an awesome day! I agree, this is between you and Max. Celebrate this day together =) You've both worked hard to get here. Congrats and a great day one =)
 
Re: 4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75~+6 66~PMBG 100

skippy and birten said:
Whoo Hoo congrates on day one.
Question: I was looking at your SS and noticed that you went from 4.00 to 2.00 units without holding the 3 day cycles and then gradually reducing. I am just curious cause I want to make sure I am doing the right thing,,,

Birten, the 2u shot was a BCS shot - Big Chicken **** because of his PS # being low and I wanted to fill his shed with something. There is a comment on the ss. I have pretty much followed protocol however have a look at the top of the ss as I don't know how familiar you are with Max's journey. He did make up his own rules on his way down the dosing ladder and those with the exerience believe that Max was possibly insulin resistant or possibly had glucose toxicity which could explain how we went up to 6u.
Then he cracked and started crashing down very quickly. The holding of the dose for the 3 days applies to going up the ladder. Decreases happen when the numbers drop and ECID.
As long as you follow your gut and the advice here, you wll do the right thing for skippy.
I am not the best at making comments on my ss but where there is important info, you should see it. Max's nickname is "Mad Max" so he is not the best example to follow but hey, it could happen.
Hope his helps.
 
Re: 4/3 Max OTJ Trial Day 1 AMBG 75~+6 66~PMBG 100

Whoo Hoo hope the OTJ trial is a success way to go Max :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT party_cat party_cat party_cat party_cat party_cat party_cat party_cat drinking24
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top