4/3 Ma AMPS318+4=6=18 PMPS195+3=1 61+5=76+6=64 +7.5=81

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
YESTERDAY:
Mostly 300-333 all day. Nadir 289. He woke me early again and wouldn't stop meowing so I caved and gave him some freeze dried chicken. I knew I wouldn't be concerned about a low number AMPS and of course I was right. I hope he gets better numbers today. I don't know what more I can do to help him along. :?


Is it time to go up yet again? When would I consider Max starting insulin? He had his first dose November 15th but went off it for 3-4 weeks in December.

Thanks.
 
Re: 4/3 Max AMPS 318

Morning, guys. ~O)

He's definitely in the low 300's for the PS #s. You've been on this fat 1.75u for some time now, and although he's starting to show a hint of green, you may want to ask for advice about going up to a skinny 2u dose at the next shot time.

Good luck!
 
Re: 4/3 Max AMPS 318

Hi guys .. ok max, down you go! If you get down a little lower maybe there will be some extra freeze dried treats headed your way?? have a great day guys!
 
Re: 4/3 Max AMPS 318+4=194+6=184

So Max is surfing in high blue. Maybe if he can stay there and then come down a little more tonight he won't keep bouncing. It has been suggested I increase his dose. What do you think?
 
Re: 4/3 Max AMPS 318+4=194+6=184 Dosecrease?

i can see why angela's suggesting an increase - he's had 10 cycles after the 51 and it looks like the lowest he's gotten is in the 80's.

you have room to increase if you'd like - that might help reduce some of the highs.
 
Re: 4/3 Max AMPS 318+4=194+6=184 Dosecrease?

So would I give him a little more than 2 units? At some point I need to get calipers as who knows how much Max is actually getting?? Thanks.
 
Re: 4/3 Max AMPS 318+4=194+6=184 Dosecrease?

Since you've had some good numbers on it, i'd probably go to a flat 2.0 dose. it's easier to measure if you're on the line.

the calipers might be a good idea - we do know that syringe markings can be off as much as 0.5u! Can you believe that? They aren't as careful and exacting as we need for cats.

While you wait to get calipers, the PDF (Management of a Diabetic Cat Using Long-Lasting Insulin) on the Tight Regulation Protocol page has directions for making a paper ruler that would be a substitute for the calipers. You just want consistency.
 
Re: 4/3 Max AMPS 318+4=194+6=184 Dosecrease?

I'll check that out about the paper caliper.I looked at the real ones that Marje mentioned but there were 2 that were 4" so I need to ask her which one to buy. I still have 1 1/2 boxes of monoject syringes and I really want to use them before switching to terumo as this all is so expensive. Do you think the insulin is getting weaker? I got it November 16th. It's still clear. Also, how long would I say Max is on insulin given that we took him off it for 3-4 weeks in December? K Passo is having a lot of success with levemir. Then again I read that it isn't good for a lethargic cat which Max is.

I'll increase to 2 units then. I just didn't know if it would make a difference giving such a little bit more. At least he shouldn't drop under 50 on such a small increase and maybe it will be just enough to level him more.
 
Re: 4/3 Max AMPS 318+4=194+6=184 Dosecrease?PMPS 195

With his PMPS 195, should I still increase?
 
Re: 4/3 Max AMPS 318+4=194+6=184 Dosecrease?PMPS 195

dosing is based upon the nadirs, not the highs. so i wouldn't think this pmps would have an effect on the dosing decision. it's not low.

where did you hear that about Levemir not being good for lethargic cats? I haven't heard that.

Lantus has been good for more than 6 months for many people. i don't think there's a problem with your insulin. You've had greens on it recently.
 
Re: 4/3 Max AMPS 318+4=194+6=184 Dosecrease?PMPS 195

Thanks, Julie. I started googling levemir and one of the sites I read mentioned lethargy as a negative. Okay, he just got 2 units.
 
Re: 4/3 Max AMPS 318+4=194+6=184 Dosecrease?PMPS 195

most cats seem to do extremely well on it. i suspect if punkin were still alive, i would have switched to it. it's got a nice long duration, and you can see some very nice flat cycles on Lev. I've seen them on Lantus, too, however. One of the downsides of Lev is that the nadir is later, which for many people means checking in the middle of the night. I did like being able to check punkin before going to bed and being confident that he wasn't going to go significantly lower later, and then being able to sleep a solid 7 hrs.

some bouncy cats flatten out, but not all. we encourage people to give any insulin (well, Lantus or Lev) a solid 6 months before considering switching.
 
Re: 4/3 Max AMPS 318+4=194+6=184 Dosecrease?PMPS 195

Julie, do I start counting Max's 6 months from the time he first got lantus or when he restarted it after the 3-4 week break? I'm still hoping it will work for him. I do want him to level out. K Passa got some pretty dramatic changes since switching.
 
Re: 4/3 Max AMPS 318+4=194+6=184 Dosecrease?PMPS 195

i don't think that's terribly critical - i think if you want to switch and the time is right for you, go ahead. nothing to be lost and perhaps something to be gained!
 
Re: 4/3 Max AMPS 318+4=194+6=184 Dosecrease?PMPS 195

I was actually more curious about the fact that the best chance of remission is the first 6 months. I know that many cats go into remission after that. I don't think Max is going to be one of the lucky ones like I thought when he was first diagnosed and responded so quickly. I need to read more about lev and discuss it with my vet who is missing in action right now by the way. I emailed him Max's ss last week and this week more than once and he hasn't called me. Very unusual. It's been two weeks. What would I do without you and this board???
 
Re: 4/3 Max AMPS 318+4=194+6=184 Dosecrease?PMPS 195

it's true that cats that get regulated as soon as possible after diagnosis have the best chance for remission, BUT, we've had cats go off after as long as 2 years, so don't give up yet! Newly diagnosed is considered under 1 year. just keep following the protocol - even if he doesn't go off, he can still live and be healthy!
 
Re: 4/3 Max AMPS 318+4=6=184 DoseincPMPS195+ 3=161+5=76

The reason I was questioning raising his dose was at PMPS he was 195. It seems when his pre-shot is under 200, his nadir is in the green. I think it might have happened without the increase. He will likely bounce tomorrow again. Since I am lousy at predicting maybe I will be wrong.
 
Re: 4/3 Max AMPS 318+4=6=184 DoseincPMPS195+ 3=161+5=76

I see Max is keeping you up for a PJ party too. It's really hard to predict what nadirs will be based on PS, but I do note that the times Max went under 50, he started at either yellow or pink.

cats.jpg

Cat Pajama Party in LL tonight
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top