4/3 Leda AMPS 206, +2 126, +3 102, +4 84, +7 107, PMPS 158, +2 119, +4 89

Status
Not open for further replies.

Madrona and Leda (GA)

Member Since 2016
Thursday. Deputy in training Leda seems to have decided that he needs to practice his cliff diving :eek:. He's adjusting to a new dose, and it looks like yesterday evening's big drop (174 at PS to 90 at +2) had got him on the trampoline. Hopefully he'll take his training more seriously soon ;).

Vines and good health to all, safe surfing for the kitties :cool::D:cat: (the other deputies are ready, even if Leda is still finding his way ;)).
 
Leda Leda Leda you like that
images
come off and stay off!!!!!!
images
Fritz got you this snorkeling stuff for your cliff dives!!!!
 
Later this month DH and I both have to be away for 2 days, and I'm trying to figure out what to do for Leda, in the past, when he was still eating dry food, we wouldn't have anyone come unless we were gone for at least 3 days since Leda is a bit anti-social about non-family. Obviously that won't work any more--so I'm trying to decide is I should just have someone refill his food, or try to have somebody test and dose him too. Right now, I'm leaning towards just food, but there is an awesome pet sitter on island who I could hire to test and dose. I just have to decide which is worse for Leda: high days or the stress of having non-family test and dose him.
 
Later this month DH and I both have to be away for 2 days, and I'm trying to figure out what to do for Leda, in the past, when he was still eating dry food, we wouldn't have anyone come unless we were gone for at least 3 days since Leda is a bit anti-social about non-family. Obviously that won't work any more--so I'm trying to decide is I should just have someone refill his food, or try to have somebody test and dose him too. Right now, I'm leaning towards just food, but there is an awesome pet sitter on island who I could hire to test and dose. I just have to decide which is worse for Leda: high days or the stress of having non-family test and dose him.
Could you have the pet sitter come over a few times and spend some time with him? Maybe test him and give him a shot, while you're still there, to see how he reacts to her?
 
The awesome petsitter is available, and she's going to come meet Leda before we decide if she's going to be just the food bringer, or also test and give insulin :joyful:

Thanks for the good advice!
 
Nice cycle, Deputy Leda (after AMPS, that is!).

I hope it will work out with the awesome petsitter. When Sienne had to be away she had a petsitter who would just feed and give the shot (her kitty, Gabby, wouldn't let anyone else test her, but didn't mind getting the shot). Sienne had the petsitter give a reduced shot, I think. ? @Sienne and Gabby (GA)
 
I second Lucy's suggestion to have the pet sitter come several times. That is what I did when I was gone. You could track the numbers before and after the pet sitter is there to know if the stress will hike him or lower him. When I was gone last summer, Bubba went lower with the Pet sitter stress and actually started a OTJ trial while I was gone. :rolleyes: That information will give you an indicator of how to reduce the dose while you are gone.
 
I always reduced Gabby's dose when I traveled -- Ella is correct. If you look at Gabby's spreadsheet, I marked the blocks when I was traveling in gray.

Gabby would get stressed by strangers. The two pet sitters I used seemed to be able to deal with her tortitude. The helpful aspect of her personality was that she was very motivated by food. She would gladly take off someone's arm is they attempted to test but would tolerate someone other than me giving her a shot because she had her head in her food bowl.

 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top