In keeping with the spirit of peer review on the FDMB, I'm replying to Julie's PM on the open board:
Does it look okay to bump her up to 1 unit tomorrow? The increase from .5 to .75 does not seem to have done much and she is also slowly but surely gaining a little weight. What other readings (other than PMPS and maybe a pm +2 or +3) can I get today if needed before upping dose to 1 unit?
Technically, the cycle count starts over after a missed shot (PM 3/29). You stalled a half hour and she was 203. Not sure why you didn't shoot the 203?
On the surface and given the data you've collected, increasing to 1 unit bid looks just fine. However, here's the 64,000 dollar question: What would have happened had you shot the 203 with 0.75u?
The effects of Lantus are cumulative. When there's the ability to monitor, lower preshot numbers are a gift. It's what you want to happen because of the cumulative nature of Lantus. It's an opportunity to create a shift in a positive direction. That opportunity was missed because of the skipped shot.
Because of that skipped shot, this is the 4.5 consecutive day at 0.75 unit. Since you're following SLGS, you'll want to hold the dose for 7 consecutive days before making any adjustment. Let's hope the opportunity to shoot a little lower comes around soon!
About curves at the end of a week when following SLGS...
Historically, those who *usually* choose to follow the SLGS approach do not test often and/or consistently.
However, the whole idea behind performing a curve is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty. Those who test often and/or consistently may have found that information making a curve a moot point. I like how you reached out to someone with a little bit more experience for advice. In time it won't be necessary, but it's a good idea for now.
You mentioned her ears being sore...
Are you using a folded tissue to exert firm pressure with your fingertips after poking? Cream or ointment or coconut oil? Are you hitting the edge of the ear? There's an awful lot of talk about hitting the "sweet spot", but truth be told, you can poke anywhere around the edge of the entire ear. That way you're not always poking in the same spot.
Unsolicited advice...
Two things jump out at me when looking at Honey's spreadsheet:
- The absence of either +2 OR before bed spot checks every night - While not mandatory, they're valuable data points.
- Start preparing yourself mentally and emotionally to shoot on lower preshot numbers by gradually lowering your "no shoot number". At this point, you shouldn't have any trouble shooting preshot numbers 200 or greater.
Just because I'm sharing in hopes of giving you a few more tools...
The +1s, +2s, +10s, and +11s are what we call the "forgotten" spot checks.
ECID, but
generally speaking:
- +1s will teach you how much a food spike Honey gets after eating (if any - not all cats do).
- +2s (with Lantus), +3s or +4s (with Levemir) will usually give you an idea of when onset occurs.
- +10s and/or +11s will tell you if kitty numbers are on the rise and how quickly they're rising going into the next shot time. If they're on the rise, it'll make you feel more comfortable about shooting a lower than usual preshot number because you know her numbers on on the way up. Conversely, if her numbers are dropping going into shot time, it might give you pause for thought. Eventually, learn to shoot a dropping number, but it won't be until you have a little more experience under your belt.
Hope this all makes sense. I know this is more than you were asking. Give yourself time to absorb.
Ask any questions you might have.
