? 4/3 - Gen, AMPS 370, +4 64 - any steroids experience to share?

Allie & Gen

Member Since 2025
Tuesday

Hey friends, happy Friday! I hope you've all had a chill week, and that your precious kitties are surfing safely.

Work gets pretty intense for me in the lead-up to the end of the academic year, and unfortunately it looks like this year is going to be a doozy, even more than usual. I suspect my posting will be more intermittent for awhile. 😿

I've been struggling with Gen's ongoing high numbers lately, although today he's taken a huuuuge dive, which is nerve-wracking in its own way of course (though it's nice to see some green, especially since he had his first pink nadir since early February last night :arghh:). The internal med vet suggested that I reduce his budesonide dose from .25ml to .2ml to see if it would improve his BG at all. He's two days into that change ... it seems so unlikely to me that such a small reduction in the steroid would make a dramatic difference to Gen's glucose, but I have no idea!

I was hoping that some of you might have experiences to share re: having to put your diabetic cats on insulin-antagonizing steroids for some period of time, what that looked like, and how you managed? ECID, but I could really use some context.

I think he's starting to adjust to the new feeder schedule ... I hope. He ate just about everything from his PM meal in the 4-hour window, which was a first. He doesn't seem to have been eating his AM meal as eagerly or rapidly today, though. I'm extending the window to 6 hours, especially given that I just had a Libre alarm go off for the first time in weeks. I suspect I may have to run home on my lunch.

Never a dull moment, alas.
 
Some cuteness from a couple of days ago. ❤️

PXL_20260329_164040690.jpg
 
No help here because Leroy is a weirdo
anon.gif
My vet isn't too concerned about bgs, mainly because it's Leroy and he's got a lot of health issues going on. The diabetes is the least of our concerns.
 
Back
Top