4/3 AMPS 338 Day 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kristina & Charlie :)

Member Since 2013
TOP A THA MORNIN' TO YA ~O) ~O)
Well, we live in an age of instant gratification...I too am a victim.
I wish he would at least be in the 200s at AMPS and PMPS...but it's only day 3... :roll:
I know I need to calm down. I just want the boy to feel better.

QUESTION:

I want to give his body a chance to get used to it..and empty its shed? (new term for me, don't know if I used it correctly ohmygod_smile )
how long do you recommend I keep him at .5U until I up it to 1U???

Thanks!!
 
Good Mornin to you too!

Okay first off you are building his shed not draining it. But you got close.. :-D When first starting out on Lantus you hold the dose for 5 days or 10 cycles (a cycle is the period between one shot to the next so there are 2 cycles per day).

Second when and if you need to increase his dose upwards you aren't going to be going from .5u to 1u...you will be going from .5u to .75u...Yeah I know there is no line of the syringe for that, so you are just going to have to eyeball it. But we will cross that bridge when we get there, there are some tricks to figure out how to do that easily.

Lastly this isn't a sprint it is a marathon, Charlie didn't become a diabetic overnight and he isn't going to be 'cured' overnight either. And one way to look at it is Hey at least today is a better start than yesterday, and hopefully tomorrow will be better yet.

There is a reason why you will hear a lot of us refer to this as a Dance...because just like any new dance it takes steps, and every dance has some steps in common and some that are very different depending on the dance you are doing. And well also like learning any new dance there will be days where you trip over your own feet, step on your partner's toes, fall on your hiney or just completely forget what comes next etc. That is just the nature of dancing, but with time and practice and patience one day without even thinking about it you hear the music start and your body just naturally responds and you glide across the floor in perfect sync with your dance partner. The only problem with this particular dance is only Charlie hears the music you two are dancing to, so while we can teach you the steps you are going to have to look to Charlie to tell you what dance you are doing and how fast or how slow he wants to dance.

After having 3 diabetic cats I can tell you no two sugarcats dance alike...My Maxwell was a nice slow waltz until he decided one day he just wasn't a dancer and didn't want to dance anymore and gave up the juice...Musette she likes to Salsa, she kept me doing all kinds of fancy footwork to keep her BGs in line, and finally passed away from anemia, and now I have Autumn who is somewhere inbetween, she is more of a tango kinda girl, most of the time she has a very set pattern to her dance and is easy to follow her leads, but every now and then she likes to throw in a few fancy flair steps just to make sure I'm still on my toes. :-D

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
First of all, I love to dance...lol
Second of all, thank you for that explination, it helps my newbie brian.

When the .75 comes into play, I will definately be asking for your tips!

Thanks a bunch for the response!!!
 
LOL I'm an ex-exotic dancer so I love to dance as well...actually I started out when I was just tiny as ballet dancer, but it doesn't pay very well...lol Lastly I'm married to a roofer by day...bass guitar player for a local classic rock band by night...so I definitely need to know where my dancing shoes are. ;-)

Now I'm just the crazy cat lady married to an equally crazy cat man.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Kristina, Looks like you are doing a great job taking care of Charlie!! MommaOfMuse already gave ya great advice! Cant wait to see charlies numbers in a few days! You are catching on so quickly!! Looks like you are doing a great job testing too!
 
Hi Kristina, sorry I haven't introduced myself yet, been a rough couple days for Lucian and I. @-)

Welcome and if we can help, don't hesitate to ask. :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top