4/29 Trixie PMPS 289 +2 236 +4.25 285 - Increase is ON!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy&TrixieCat

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

No surprises here, with these numbers :roll: . Yes, my frustration continues to grow, and I've reached a point where I pretty much always dread that +2.5 test. I'm thankful she doesn't seem to go any higher, but am baffled why she won't go any lower, despite many increases over the past few weeks. Another increase is slated for tonight, taking her up to F4.0U. This was her break through dose a year and half ago, when we had another round of needed more juice...hopefully it will work again. She was beautifully regulated for a long time on F2.50 while eating FF...

It's a work day, so I'll probably catch condos this evening. Have a great day, everyone!

Amy
 
Re: 4/29 Trixie AMPS 218 +2.5 267

How old is her Lantus? Maybe you got a bad batch? Could it be her food? Sneaking kibble? I sure hope she comes down today!
 
Re: 4/29 Trixie AMPS 218 +2.5 267

Just started a brand new pen last week....she's been running in the 200s ever since I switched her to lower phosphorous fuds. It's definitely fuds related, but the fuds change was necessary, since she has early renal issues. I was expecting to have to adjust her dose when I made the switch, but I was not expecting to go up and up and up, and still get no response, which is why I'm just pounding my head against the wall. And, this is the second pen since we've made the switch. Any time I've thought it was the juice in the past, it never has been. It's just good ole FD....
 
Re: 4/29 Trixie AMPS 218 +2.5 267

I agree on the frustration. I like jigsaw puzzles but FD is like having a 2000 piece puzzle on the table all the time.

And I've experienced bg spikes with higher phosphoruses and can't come up with another explanation. Shadow loves raw shrimp and the only thing
in it has to be the high phosphorus content.... since it's 0% carbs.
so lower phosphorus... gotta be something else in the food.
Hope you can figure it out.
 
Re: 4/29 Trixie AMPS 218 +2.5 267

Morning Amy, first condo I looked for was Trixie's to see if she came down the ladder. I hear your frustration, too, as this isn't like Trixie. When was her last b/w and exam? In the beginning of changing to low phosphorus fuds, Mags also had very high numbers and in time i guess she got more used to the switch. She's on Cowboy Cookout alone. I noticed a spike on the BFF Tuna & Chicken, so I cut that one out. I can't remember which ones Trixie is now eating. Wish we knew what's up here.
 
Re: 4/29 Trixie AMPS 218 +2.5 267

Trix's last BW an exam was mid-March. The only thing amiss was her renal values, which were just barely out of range by a hair.

Currently, she is primarily eating Paw Lickin'. She LUVS it, so I would like to try and make it work for her. She didn't like CC, and hates EVO. There are a couple others on Dr Lisa's list, but I haven't been able to find them. Trix seems to give me the same range of numbers whether it's Paw Lickin or BFF. She MAY go a little lower on Friskies T&G, but I do prefer the idea of rotating amongst foods, to be sure she really gets everything she needs from a nutritional perspective.

Back to work for this bean!
 
Re: 4/29 Trixie AMPS 218 +2.5 267

Morning Amy ~O) ~O) ~O)

Wish I had an answer for you too... I think it is partly the adjustment to new foods, and mainly just FD being FD. sometimes they just need more juice... Such a frustrating thing it can be. All one can do is test, look at the patterns, and up the dose when needed. I wish you luck. I think you've done a great job with her. I know the yellows aren't the best, but at least she is steady. I like Rhiannon's puzzle analogy: all those pieces and it always seems like you are missing one or two.

Have a great day -I hope TBP goes well.
 
Re: 4/29 Trixie AMPS 218 +2.5 267

Thanks Amy, that Paw Lickins is really a fav of a lot of our kitties. Hope Trixie reads her condo on the threat of a dosecrease and does a nice slide and joins Mags on the blue floor and green, too. Have a nice day, Amy.
 
Re: 4/29 Trixie AMPS 218 +2.5 267

Oh gosh Amy...I certainly hear your frustrations. When you figure it all out, you'll tell us the secret??
Hope Miss Trixie reads her condo, and decides to start coming down. :smile:

Try to have a good day. :-D
 
Re: 4/29 Trixie AMPS 218 +2.5 267 PMPS 289 - Increase is ON!

F4.0U, here we come :cry: ...gotta do what we gotta do, though.
 
Re: 4/29 Trixie AMPS 218 +2.5 267 PMPS 289 - Increase is ON!

Trixie, now you've got to work that juice and show us some pretty blues and greens. I guess no condo reading, huh!
Amy, good luck with the increase for Trixie and hope this is the dose that brings her sliding down. Have a nice evening.
 
Re: 4/29 Trixie AMPS 218 +2.5 267 PMPS 289 - Increase is ON!

I've been reminded many times from lovely LL-ers that it's only a number. Trixie doesn't care, it's just what she needs at the moment. I know it's hard to get over the dose amt.
You're doing such a great job of taking care of her, ((Amy)).
:YMHUG:
 
Re: 4/29 Trixie AMPS 218 +2.5 267 PMPS 289 - Increase is ON!

Well said, Josie! You are doing a great job, Amy. I know it's hard to go up in dose and especially not to see the numbers come down like you want. Sending messages to Ms. P to rev her up.
Liz
 
Re: 4/29 Trixie PMPS 289 +2 236 - Increase is ON!

Well, at least she is finally heading in the right direction - for now!

Thanks everyone. I know, it's just a number, it really doesn't matter, and we'll eventually hit a breakthrough and get her back to the lagoon. Until then, I'll just continue venting with my "argh's" and " ohmygod_smile ".... :lol: !
 
ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile

It's a good thing this is a "family" site...you can imagine the language that is running through my head right now.
 
I hope you pushed that plunger full of the fat four units of insulin with PRIDE and said "TAKE THAT, BEEGEES! HA!"
(And then, of course, gave Trixie loving scritches and told her how much you love her :-D )

cat_pet_icon
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top