4/29 TR Jenks AMPS 161 +6 149 +PMBG 48 +0.5 46 +1 48 +1.5 47 +4 59 +6 95

Status
Not open for further replies.

AZJenks

Member Since 2014
4/28

That's not good at all. At this point, I'm prepared to call 3.0U a failed reduction. We'll return to 3.5U this starting evening and hope that he hasn't forgotten the way to the lagoon.
 
Good luck with the increase. I find it interesting to see that the .5U decrease did not work at this point. When Neko went racing down the dosing scale a while ago, I did .5U decreases until 3.5U, after which I needed to go to 3.25U decreases. I think that next time (and there will be) that Jenks earns a reduction, you should move to .25U changes.
 
Oh joy. A 48, why not? Because that makes perfect sense after the other numbers so far today.

It appears that we'll be stalling. If he shows no signs of coming up on his own, it will probably be another skip, which I'm sure won't be great for getting him back on track.
 
Well? ....You threatened a dosecrease and you know what happens when you do that?....LOL

Jenks....your driving your mamabean a little crazy...might want to chill for awhile and stop throwing her so many curves!
 
At what point does it become too late for a shot? For instance, if he doesn't come up within the hour, do we skip?

Because presently, he shows no signs of rising. Even if I were to give him a little food right now, anything over 50 would be all food induced.
 
Last edited:
You can either feed just a very little LC and hope he rises a lot, but you'll have to wait. Or you can skip.
 
@Wendy&Neko - Thanks! Is there a generally accepted cut-off time beyond which it's not recommended to shoot? 1 hour? 2???

We're already approaching the 1 hour mark. So unless something drastic has changed, tonight appears to be headed to the skip column.
 
@Chris & China - If it is flexible enough, then is there essentially no limit to how long you can wait?

Let's say he was scheduled to get a shot at 8pm tonight.
But he doesn't rise above 50 unassisted until 10pm.
It would then be acceptable to shoot at 10pm provided that the AM dose could be given at 10am?
And then worked back in 15min increments over several days to get back to the regularly scheduled shot time of 8pm?
 
From the Shooting and handling low numbers sticky

** 40s or lower – you have a couple of choices.

  • When 40’s occur at the end of the cycle, it can be beneficial to withhold food and test in 15-20 minutes to determine if kitty is on the rise or hasn’t reached nadir yet.
  • If they are hanging in the 40s for a while, or if they are still dropping, it is ok to feed a tsp or two of LC and retest. This is very tricky. You want to avoid feeding too much while you’re waiting for them to go over 50, because you don’t want to artificially inflate the number with food.
  • --- Example: if kitty is 43 and you feed a whole meal, or feed some HC, and the number bumps up to 52, is that the cat’s natural end-of-cycle rise, or is it food spike? What if it is food spike? Then if you shoot the 52, when the food wears off he might drop back to the 40’s (and when insulin kicks in a couple of hours later, you might have a problem). If the 52 is the cat’s natural rise, then he will probably keep rising for the next few hours until insulin kicks in. If you can’t tell whether the number is food spike or natural rise, it’s safest to wait. Your data will help you here. Study the spreadsheet. How much food spike does the cat usually get? How many hours after the shot does the insulin’s onset usually occur in this cat? At what number is the cat likely to be when onset occurs? If the cat does drop, how easy/hard is it to regain control of the numbers? How carb sensitive is he?

** Test often (every 15-20 minutes, or at most every 30 minutes). You want to catch the rise the minute it starts. With most of our cats, once they start to rise they will really zoom. You want to get the insulin in as soon as possible, because it will be another 2-3 hours before the insulin kicks in and you don’t want to let the cycle get too far ahead of you.

Perhaps the most important guideline in shooting low is that any time you shoot your lowest ever number, you should get a +1 and +2 to give you an idea of how the cycle will go. If the +1 is not higher than PS, or if +2 is much lower than PS, that means “pay attention” over the next few hours. Those tests will also help you become even more data ready for the next time you are presented with a low preshot reading.

Using the overlap by shooting low is a great way to take advantage of Lantus/Levemir’s long, flat cycles, once you have learned to do so safely.

~ written by Libby and Lucy
 
I give up. He's not budging even after 90 minutes. The other cats are starving. But he didn't even eat much of what I put out anyway. Whatever.

Cat 1, Me 0.

No shot.

We'll just have to reset tomorrow and hope this isn't a sign that all of the progress we recently made isn't starting to slip away.
 
I don't think all the progress you guys have made lately will slip away that easily!

He's gone from 5.25 to 3U in less than a month...that cat is on a mission and I don't think one or two bumps along the way are going to keep him from getting there
 
He's had several other skipped doses and BCS and he's been spending a lot of time in green, so something is working right...One day in higher numbers doesn't wipe out the great progress he's been making :D
 
Thanks for the encouragement @Chris & China because right now I'm not feeling so optimistic. Jenks went through a phase like this last November, and it too went away. Then he was stuck at the same dose for five months before anything changed. Additionally, I just learned that I likely have to go out of town next week for family, and the last time I left Jenks, his numbers went out of control. All of that combined has me in a down mood at the moment.
 
The biggest difference between now and last November is that he's doing a lot of reductions this month. Even if his dose has to go back up a little, I think his body has now gotten used to greens and he won't be so bouncy which means he's spending most of his time under renal threshold and in regulation.

Will OH be around while you are gone next week?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top