4/29 Smokey AMPS 499, PMPS 361 (increase)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Smokey

Member Since 2010
Oh boy! I got a 499 at pre-shot this morning and immediately tested the other ear at 533! wth!

I was shocked to see the numbers off 30+ points from each other witin 2 seconds of testing! Does this mean something that I don't know about my meter? It is Bayer Countour and only a month old!

Needless to say, I increased his dose back this morning to 2units. I was on my 9th cycle of the reduced dose of 1.75 so based on the protocol, I was to go back to the previous dose with that reading (and the others I've been getting lately).

It's raining here and the shuttle is about to go off in 3 hours! Keep your fingers crossed for a safe launch! I am only a few miles away from the launch pad so I've seen them all! I remember the challenger explosion like it was yesterday :(
 
Re: 4/29 Smokey AMPS 499,533!!

I think there can be as much as a 10% difference between meter readings, yes, even if only a few seconds apart. I used to frustrate myself, doing that taking double readings - so now I take the first reading as what she is and don't double check it, unless it is really way off from where I expected.

We won't get to see the shuttle today - usually we can see it from the front yard (here in Ft. Myers) - but supposed to be cloudy. :sad: Enjoy the launch!
 
Re: 4/29 Smokey AMPS 499,533!!

I usually don't check twice unless, like you said...there is a reason to go, "What"!! :o

How far away is Ft. Myers from Melbourne?
 
Re: 4/29 Smokey AMPS 499,533!!

Smokey said:
I usually don't check twice unless, like you said...there is a reason to go, "What"!! :o

How far away is Ft. Myers from Melbourne?

I think it is 2.5 - 3.5 hours away? I am trying to remember how long it took us to come back from watching a shuttle launch - not terribly long.....we saw the Cloumbia launch (the one that didn't come back :sad: ).
 
Re: 4/29 Smokey AMPS 499,533!!

Hi guys .. sorry to see smokey so high this morning .. we always took one test too, unless like stated, it was an eye opener, either to high or to low .. I hope that smokey comes down for you today .. have a great weekend guys!
 
Re: 4/29 Smokey AMPS 499,533!!

Perhaps Smokey was just excited about the launch? Sorry...in all seriousness, I'm sad to see Smokey so high in her condo. Maybe with the new dose she'll be slightly more afraid of heights and come on down. Good luck!

How's her hyperT coming?
 
Re: 4/29 Smokey AMPS 499,533!!

Smokey...come down from there! Actually, there can be as much as 20% variance in readings from one reading to the next or from meter to meter. We consider 5% to be the same number so it's pretty close to that 5%. I've found that if I retest right away using the same meter, I get some really different numbers so if I retest, I always use my backup meter which is the same type and is always usually within about 2-3 mg/dl of the other one. I sure hope she comes down.
 
Re: 4/29 Smokey AMPS 499,533!!

Marjorie and Gracie said:
I've found that if I retest right away using the same meter, I get some really different numbers so if I retest, I always use my backup meter which is the same type and is always usually within about 2-3 mg/dl of the other one.

That is very interesting! I'll have to try it this way with another meter!!

Kristin and Abby said:
How's her hyperT coming?

I really just don't notice much of a difference, maybe it is because he is on such a low dosage only once a day (for a month) before the new blood test to see what result the low amount has had on him.

Shuttle was scrubbed today! So yes, Smokey will be coming back down to planet earth here real soon! :lol:
 
Just wanted to chime and say "hi" to you Denne' and to Smokey! Guinness and I are plugging along here. Looks like you are struggling with some high numbers today. I hope this weekend is full of beautiful Florida blue for you! Have a great one!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top