? 4/29 Simon AMPS 114; +1: 59; +1.5: 51

Katrina & Simon

Member Since 2025
Recent post

He hasn't dropped this low in a very long time, do I need to give him something different than his low carb food? I will have to leave for ~2 hours in 3 hours. Please see his spreadsheet and previous posts for more info, just looking for help deciding what to do next for him today. I *think* he will be trending up soon, as that is his usual, but this is the highest dose he has ever had.

EDITED: to remove 911 as he is now 94 @+2
 
Last edited:
Not experienced enough for true advice, but just in case no one else is able to respond... can you get another test at +2? Based on his SS, he may be hitting his nadir at +4/+5 so it may be fair to assume he'll continue to drop. Do you have MC or HC food available? For me, I always opt to feed the curve a little bit, rather than risk going to low. This may be best here, if you need to leave in a bit.
 
Not experienced enough for true advice, but just in case no one else is able to respond... can you get another test at +2? Based on his SS, he may be hitting his nadir at +4/+5 so it may be fair to assume he'll continue to drop. Do you have MC or HC food available? For me, I always opt to feed the curve a little bit, rather than risk going to low. This may be best here, if you need to leave in a bit.
I just tested him 94@+2 so I removed the 911 as he does seem to be coming up 🙂
I have MC and HC but I know HC will spike him and he's already prone to bouncing, so I was trying to stick it out and hoping to avoid the bounce (I don't think we will, but I'll try!!).

Thank you so much for your response!
 
I just tested him 94@+2 so I removed the 911 as he does seem to be coming up 🙂
I have MC and HC but I know HC will spike him and he's already prone to bouncing, so I was trying to stick it out and hoping to avoid the bounce (I don't think we will, but I'll try!!).

Thank you so much for your response!
Great to hear he's coming up!!
 
20s is way too low! Do you have any high carb food or syrup? I’ve never personally dealt with low numbers like that but I would be testing every 15 minutes trying everything I could to get him over 50.
 
How so? It’s okay. I’m glad he’s acting normal. It’s good experience. I’m sure you’ve seen this but just to have handy regarding symptoms and actions:

Sticky - How to treat HYPOS - THEY CAN KILL! Print this Out!!
I don't know exactly I just feel like I should have reduced his AM dose but TR says the PS number isn't as important as NADIR so I really don't know. Good news - he's coming up after syrup and HC. He's at 48 now. I am printing out another copy of that because I couldn't find it in my kit when I needed it, thank you.
 
I see the 48 at +5. That’s great. Nice job! Sorry about your appointment. I’d still monitor closely, +5 is still pretty early in the cycle and the syrup doesn’t last long.
 
Sorry I missed this, Katrina!! Glad you had Tim here to help you through. Agreed, I would've shot the same... Admittedly, I've shot in the 50's but I knew were Binx was going at the time. Please don't be hard on yourself, you checked him plenty and even saw the numbers going up 🤗 🤗 Also, sorry about your appointment.

How's Simon doing now?
 
Sorry I missed this, Katrina!! Glad you had Tim here to help you through. Agreed, I would've shot the same... Admittedly, I've shot in the 50's but I knew were Binx was going at the time. Please don't be hard on yourself, you checked him plenty and even saw the numbers going up 🤗 🤗 Also, sorry about your appointment.

How's Simon doing now?
I appreciate that so much, just knowing that you and Tim would have done the same, means I was on the right track even if the results weren't great, eases my mind a bit.

Simon is doing great! He loved his friskies in gravy, and he's napping in the sun right now. Just got 118 at +6, I need to go back and see where I messed up the other times. Now time for me to review the TR reduction sticky... I'll be testing hourly as he's rising, and reevaluate at +2 from syrup and HC food.
 
Great job handling that low number, Katrina! I would have shot the a.m. preshot as well. Forgive me if what I'm about to say is redundant, but now that you're beginning to get into lower numbers, this is important. One thing to always watch is the difference between the preshot number and the +1/+2/+3. If you see a big drop (like around 20% or so), that is a signal that he's likely going to have an active cycle, and what you want to try to do is get ahead of the drop, if possible, by feeding higher carb food--small amounts, every 20 mins or so, and then testing to see where he is. You're boosting him up on that surfboard with small amounts of higher carb food and helping him to surf in safe numbers, if that make sense. It's always better to err on the side of a spike than to err on the side of a drop too low.

Now, that 94 he hit at +2, after two tests where he was in the 50s, followed by another drop to the 20s is kind of weird to me. You didn't feed him at the +1 point, right?

Also, I'd say the 3.50 depot is built!! Sheesh! Now you get to take a reduction.
 
I'm looking back at his ss and realizing you and he have been in this rodeo circuit for a while now, so most of what I mentioned earlier IS redundant for you.
 
I'm glad you were around to catch that +4!

A couple comments about today - scary as it was, it was a learning experience. I always gave high carb food under 40, and typically a topper of syrup (karo). The Sticky on handling low numbers suggest HC for low numbers under 50. This is recommended, especially when those low numbers occur in the first part of the cycle before nadir, when the insulin effect is at it's strongest.

Simon was on a bounce breaking cycle last night, and those cycles can have numbers still drop into the beginning of the following cycle, ie. this morning. I was always on alert when I saw a pink slide to low blue.

Some cats can take 10-14 days to see inflammation from dentals subside and see impacts on the numbers. Today is day 14.

With a number in the 20's, the depot is super full. It's possible you'll see some active cycles for the next couple cycles, even with a reduction. If you have any must attend outings in the next couple days, keep this in mind. Hope you can rebook today's appointment soon.
 
Great job handling that low number, Katrina! I would have shot the a.m. preshot as well. Forgive me if what I'm about to say is redundant, but now that you're beginning to get into lower numbers, this is important. One thing to always watch is the difference between the preshot number and the +1/+2/+3. If you see a big drop (like around 20% or so), that is a signal that he's likely going to have an active cycle, and what you want to try to do is get ahead of the drop, if possible, by feeding higher carb food--small amounts, every 20 mins or so, and then testing to see where he is. You're boosting him up on that surfboard with small amounts of higher carb food and helping him to surf in safe numbers, if that make sense. It's always better to err on the side of a spike than to err on the side of a drop too low.

Now, that 94 he hit at +2, after two tests where he was in the 50s, followed by another drop to the 20s is kind of weird to me. You didn't feed him at the +1 point, right?

Also, I'd say the 3.50 depot is built!! Sheesh! Now you get to take a reduction.
I'm honestly not sure if he ate more at +1, I think so. He was snacking all morning, I don't take his food away during the day unless he finishes his meal or tries to bury it, also 2 hours prior to shot times. I know you think it was redundant, but I sincerely appreciate the reminder as my brain is totally fried rn. Thank you.
 
I'm glad you were around to catch that +4!

A couple comments about today - scary as it was, it was a learning experience. I always gave high carb food under 40, and typically a topper of syrup (karo). The Sticky on handling low numbers suggest HC for low numbers under 50. This is recommended, especially when those low numbers occur in the first part of the cycle before nadir, when the insulin effect is at it's strongest.

Simon was on a bounce breaking cycle last night, and those cycles can have numbers still drop into the beginning of the following cycle, ie. this morning. I was always on alert when I saw a pink slide to low blue.

Some cats can take 10-14 days to see inflammation from dentals subside and see impacts on the numbers. Today is day 14.

With a number in the 20's, the depot is super full. It's possible you'll see some active cycles for the next couple cycles, even with a reduction. If you have any must attend outings in the next couple days, keep this in mind. Hope you can rebook today's appointment soon.
I thought this was drilled into my mind until I went blank and couldn't think of what to do in the moment. I'm writing reminders out until I can get to a store to print stuff.

The pink slide to blue had me take a second look, I think that I should have considered the entire day with that change instead of shooting 3.5U.

I was able to get into the dr tomorrow morning by some miracle, I will have to be gone at least an hour and a half as I live far away, and it would be at +1.5 in the AM cycle. I don't have anyone who can spot check him for me when I'm not home. I also have an appointment Friday morning around the same time, other than that, I can stick pretty close to home.

So if I'm following TR correctly, he gets a full 0.25 reduction, right? It mentions drops into 30s, but he was 20... The lowest I've EVER seen. Does that mean I should do anything different for reducing his dose?

I am also trying to move his shot times back by 30 minutes, I moved it back 10 minutes this morning, could that have dropped him? I know changing the time can act like slight increase/decrease, but since it was less than 15 minutes, I didn't even think of it until now. I will start noting the changes on his ss too. Should I hold off on adjusting it back 15 minutes this evening? Or since the depot is full, is it an opportune time to adjust the time?
 
Sorry I’m late to this thread. So glad you and Simon are doing well and Tim and then the others popped in to help today.
I would also have shot that preshot number this morning.

Having a hypo kit ready is so important and I’m glad you had the food/tools to keep him safe.
Good luck with the reduction! And let’s drain that depot a bit.
Have a very safe and calm night 😻💝🥰🌊🏄‍♂️
 
20's still gets you a 0.25 unit reduction at his size of dose. Unfortunately, I have seen the 20's. :banghead: Don't be surprised if he looks for another reduction soon.

Moving the shot by less than 15 minutes shouldn't have made a difference. What you do tonight might depend on whether he bounces hard by PMPS time. You can test him at +11 to give you an idea where he might be going.

I'd call the depot overfull, not a time to shoot early unless he's bouncing.
 
20's still gets you a 0.25 unit reduction at his size of dose. Unfortunately, I have seen the 20's. :banghead: Don't be surprised if he looks for another reduction soon.

Moving the shot by less than 15 minutes shouldn't have made a difference. What you do tonight might depend on whether he bounces hard by PMPS time. You can test him at +11 to give you an idea where he might be going.

I'd call the depot overfull, not a time to shoot early unless he's bouncing.
Was it just something that happened for Neko or was there a pattern? I know ECID, I'm just curious why some drop like this. I'm sure you're right that this is related to the dental for Simon... And finally doing TR...

Ok I think I understand and had it mixed up. Simon's depot is topped off full and we don't want to overflow his tank, right? He's at 324 at +7 so looks like he's going to bounce hard 😭 can I ease off the hourly testing and grab that +11 or would it be best to keep checking between +7-11?
 
Was it just something that happened for Neko or was there a pattern? I know ECID, I'm just curious why some drop like this.
The time I saw 20's were after she had radiation therapy treatment for her acromegaly. She wasn't a "regular" diabetic. Her diabetes was caused by a benign pituitary tumour that in turn caused the need for insulin. Blasting the tumour meant tumour cells died over time, resulting in reduced doses. So, yes, very ECID. Simon's recent dental may also influencing things.

At 324, you can take a break on testing.
 
The time I saw 20's were after she had radiation therapy treatment for her acromegaly. She wasn't a "regular" diabetic. Her diabetes was caused by a benign pituitary tumour that in turn caused the need for insulin. Blasting the tumour meant tumour cells died over time, resulting in reduced doses. So, yes, very ECID. Simon's recent dental may also influencing things.

At 324, you can take a break on testing.
It sounds like Neko was a very special kitty.

I hope we'll see lasting effects from Simon's dental, I will get another test at +9 just to see what's going on. Thank you.
 
You did great today keeping Simon safe! We haven't had a really low episode in quite a while, but I know how terrifying those can be 🤗
 
Back
Top