4/29 Rumpy AMPS 350 PMPS 310

Hiya Shelly! I feel your pain with those high numbers. I'm thankful Lou's having a good run at the moment, but we've had plenty of those highs in the past. Rumpy has been only hinting at lower numbers by hitting blue, but he just can't quite get to the beach or stay a while. Looks like tonight is the 6th cycle on the 1.75u dose. Since you're following TR, are you planning on increasing to 2.0u tomorrow if he doesn't see any action tonight? With the recent DKA, I wouldn't hold this dose too long.
 
Hiya Shelly! I feel your pain with those high numbers. I'm thankful Lou's having a good run at the moment, but we've had plenty of those highs in the past. Rumpy has been only hinting at lower numbers by hitting blue, but he just can't quite get to the beach or stay a while. Looks like tonight is the 6th cycle on the 1.75u dose. Since you're following TR, are you planning on increasing to 2.0u tomorrow if he doesn't see any action tonight? With the recent DKA, I wouldn't hold this dose too long.

Yeah, I’ve been so frustrated because the number just won’t come back down. I was thinking I should go to 2U.

What does the DKA have to do with the dose? (Still new!)
 
What does the DKA have to do with the dose? (Still new!)
The DKA is more relevant to the higher BGs than the dose. Since Mr. Rumps had DKA, we want to keep his BG numbers down as much as possible (which you're doing by giving the insulin). Since he's only seeing high blues on the 1.75u dose, I would increase him to 2.0u tomorrow unless something drastic happens tonight.
 
Yeah for neg ketones. The basic recipe for developing DKA = an insufficient supply of insulin + inappetance + infection OR other systemic stresses. Hence we want to make sure the dose is not too low. Good luck with the increase.

I too got very frustrated with high numbers for what seemed forever. You will get to a dose that gives better numbers. You are doing the right things, it's up to Rumpy now.
 
Yeah for neg ketones. The basic recipe for developing DKA = an insufficient supply of insulin + inappetance + infection OR other systemic stresses. Hence we want to make sure the dose is not too low. Good luck with the increase.

I too got very frustrated with high numbers for what seemed forever. You will get to a dose that gives better numbers. You are doing the right things, it's up to Rumpy now.
I just got another negative ketone test.

Rumpy has been so aggravated and fussy with us when we test him or shoot. I want to give him the night away from tests. He is eating fine, using the rest room fine, has not been hiding, and has been playful.
 
Back
Top