4/29 Rocky PMPS 111 +1 117 +2 95 +3 69 +4 109 +9 213

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
Good morning,

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=117973&p=1236826#p1236826

I didn't expect for Rocky to kick off the morning cycle with a below 50 number. :o If I had thought that he might go lower than 50 on this dose I definitely would have taken a +1. I just now fed him 1/8 can of the Artemis Turkey with 1/4 can of the MC Friskies mixed into it.

Rocky spent most of his AM cycle yesterday still recovering from a bounce. He then slid very nicely into the blue lagoon for his evening cycle. :-D

Yesterday's recap of the numbers;
AMPS 361 +2 321 +9 116 +11 131
PMPS 119 +1 125 +3 102 +9 150
 
Re: OOPS!! (f)1.0u 4/29 Rocky 120 +2 48 +2.5 39!!

Looks like Rocky is getting tired of the twice daily shots and multiple ear pokes! :smile:
 
Re: OOPS!! (f)1.0u 4/29 Rocky 120 +2 48 +2.5 39 +3 49

Sandy and Chris I just added the Karo syrup to that +3 mini-meal. I have not had to work this hard to keep his BG above 50 since 4/19.
 
Re: OOPS!! (f)1.0u 4/29 Rocky 120 +2 48 +2.5 39 +3 49

Test again in 20-30 mins.
If not above 50 I would feed a tsp of HC and re-test in 20-30 mins to see the results.
 
Re: hlp w/ 2nite's dose 4/29 Rocky 120 +2.5 39 +3 49 +4 63 +

We're a long way off from tonight's insulin shot but I want to practice and be prepared. Shot time is 7 and 1/2 hours from now.

I am guessing that Rocky's BG dropped to slightly under 50 at +1 but I didn't catch it because I thought that the (f)1.0u wasn't going to be enough insulin for him after seeing that long stretch of red numbers the day before yesterday. His liver continues to send out a very large S.O.S anytime he drops below 50, or goes without an insulin injection. It looks like he spent only 2 or 3 hours with a BG under 50 this morning, but I was caught of guard, again, that even giving him the normal 1/2 LC + 1/2 MC food did not immediately raise his BG above 50. Instead, he dropped even lower to 39.. :?

I think I would like to just shave the dose to 1.0u rather than decreasing the insulin to .75u. Would that be all right? confused_cat


I'm not likely to sleep much anyway tonight considering this morning's surprise BG. If Rocky manages to surf the greens or the blues for the rest of the day until PMPS, I will be worried after I give him his insulin shot tonight. I will feel this need to keep testing him. If he goes to yellow before PMPS I will probably sleep better.

I don't have calipers and I would probably waste a lot more insulin than I already do if I needed to count drops. :lol: I have not yet bought food coloring to practice micro-dosing, but maybe I should be prepared to do that? :? :-D

Wouldn't that be something if Rocky gets stuck as a diabetic cat needing a micro-dose for the rest of his life? Oh man, I pray that I can become excellent at dosing with the syringe PDQ :!:
 
Re: hlp w/ 2nite's dose 4/29 Rocky 120 +2.5 39 +3 49 +4 63 +

I disagree. A drop to 39 isn't trivial. Rocky keeps doing this and I really think you need to take a full 0.25u reduction. That's my 2 cents.
 
Re: hlp w/ 2nite's dose 4/29 Rocky 120 +2.5 39 +3 49 +4 63 +

Sandy wrote:
Rocky has entered a period of rapid change.
Expect the unexpected ;-)
No matter how many times I see this, it never grows old when cats enter this phase. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

I agree with Sienne - take the .25U reduction. Not only did Rocky drop to the 30's, the MC didn't do the job you expected.
 
Re: 4/29 Rocky 120 +2.5 39 +3 49 +4 63 +5 78 +9 164

Tina, be happy with the reduction. Congrats. Again I say he is heading in the best of directions. Look at Jersey's ss and see how rapidly she went down the scale. You can always go back up if needed. Just my two cents worth which ain't worth much.
 
Re: 4/29 Rocky 120 +2.5 39 +3 49 +4 63 +5 78 +9 164

i absolutely agree with sienne. the game Rocky was in before is over. he's in a new game now. he's holding his reductions, his bounces are very brief, and he needs less insulin.

i'd reduce by 0.25u tonight, even though i see the +9/164, even if he's higher at pmps (which i'd expect after the 164).

when a cat begins moving down the dosing scale like this and the bounces are brief, it is not a good idea to shoot through the bounce.

hehehe and congratulations. this is a good problem to have. :-D
 
Re: shot .75u 4/29 Rocky PMPS 111

His BG came down 50 points on it's own from the AMPS +9 OF 164 to PMPS 111. :mrgreen: I hope he can have some good and safe numbers on this new decreased dose. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top