4/29 PenPen AMPS 146. Question about his last night BG

What dose did you give him this morning?
Have you done any tests this cycle?
Also what did you give Monkey this morning and have you tested him since?

Sorry for late reply. I was having some technical issue with google doc. I gave PenPen 0.1 dose as you suggested. Monkey is 0.75 U. I have tested +2 (Now is +3), PenPen is a bit low. I gave them can food with Honey. Since it was his meal time
 
Can you take a picture of where you're measuring the .1 unit dose?

Thanks for asking Chris. In my last post, Nan and Bron has discussed with me about that. Please see the attached image.

Btw, I am always curious what why do your cat named China:rolleyes:
 

Attachments

  • PenPen 0.1 U.jpg
    PenPen 0.1 U.jpg
    31.7 KB · Views: 49
Hey Peter,

I think the honey is too much for Penpen. Have you tried giving him his normal LC food or medium carb food when he starts dropping?
You also wrote "covered", I don't know if you mean really covered, or just a drop?
He seems to react quite strongly when you give him the honey.
I see you gave him honey at BG 59 and again because 40 mins later he was 61. But I think it would be good if you got some advice from the experts on this forum on what to do with dropping numbers and experiment a bit with what's in between LC and honey. At least that's the advice I received and it has worked really well.
Because I see this morning he went from 49 to 106 after the honey, that's a big jump!
 
Btw, I am always curious what why do your cat named China

I admit....her full name was China White because when I went to the shelter to look for a new family member and picked her, it was in the hey-day of the crack cocaine crisis. My teenage son was with me and was giving me grief by saying things like "I hope you're not going to give her a sissy name like Snowflake or something"

I answered him with "well what do you want me to call her, Cocaine?".....That's when China White popped into my head.

She was very fine boned....like good china is....and she was pure white without one hair of another color, so I thought it worked....and it wasn't a "sissy name" so my son was happy with it too!
 
Hey Peter,

I think the honey is too much for Penpen. Have you tried giving him his normal LC food or medium carb food when he starts dropping?
You also wrote "covered", I don't know if you mean really covered, or just a drop?
He seems to react quite strongly when you give him the honey.
I see you gave him honey at BG 59 and again because 40 mins later he was 61. But I think it would be good if you got some advice from the experts on this forum on what to do with dropping numbers and experiment a bit with what's in between LC and honey. At least that's the advice I received and it has worked really well.
Because I see this morning he went from 49 to 106 after the honey, that's a big jump!

What's LC food? I add 1ml of honey in his can food, maybe thats too much. just checked his BG and it remained the same
 
I admit....her full name was China White because when I went to the shelter to look for a new family member and picked her, it was in the hey-day of the crack cocaine crisis. My teenage son was with me and was giving me grief by saying things like "I hope you're not going to give her a sissy name like Snowflake or something"

I answered him with "well what do you want me to call her, Cocaine?".....That's when China White popped into my head.

She was very fine boned....like good china is....and she was pure white without one hair of another color, so I thought it worked....and it wasn't a "sissy name" so my son was happy with it too!

Interesting:smuggrin:You made me think of Chinese are relatively skinny compare to non-Asians. Also, the ancient ceramic pure white vase, or pure white jade. As a Chinese I have mixed feeling about my country. So I am curious how do other people
feel about the word China:joyful:
 
What's LC food? I add 1ml of honey in his can food, maybe thats too much. just checked his BG and it remained the same
LC=low carb
MC=medium carb
HC=high carb

Another factor is how fast and how much he dropped. It's true he went from 146 to 49 in 2 hours, and that's also huuuge. I still think it's not a bad idea to ask experienced people.
 
@Zsofi & Zokni
Peter doesn’t have any high carb food so he is using honey with low carb to bring the BG up. He is just learning how much to use. Today is the first day it has risen much at all after honey. It is often stubborn to rise much. I am happy with what he is doing.
We are having trouble finding a suitable dose for him and are aware PenPen drops quickly
He is doing SLGS so he needs to bring up numbers that drop lower than 90.
 
@Zsofi & Zokni
Peter doesn’t have any high carb food so he is using honey with low carb to bring the BG up. He is just learning how much to use. Today is the first day it has risen much at all. It is often stubborn to rise much. I am happy with what he is doing.
We are having trouble finding a suitable dose for him and are aware PenPen drops quickly
He is doing SLGS so he needs to bring up numbers that drop lower than 90.
Ah ok, sorry to chime in!
 
Peter, I know we have just reduced Pen Pen dose but I think we should reduce it further for safety. He has dropped under 90 for both the last 2 cycles, today 49. You take reductions under 90 with SLGS.
We can always increase it if necessary but I am concerned he might drop low again tonight when you are asleep.
Your new dose will be a drop. To get the drop of insulin, you push the plunger of the syringe right in as far as it will go, put the needle into the insulin and then release the plunger. It should suck up 1 drop. Try it a few times before you give the dose to Pen Pen.
Make sure both cats get a good feed before their insulin and try and give them a couple of good snack during the night. I would get at least a couple of tests in for both cats and please test again if they drop low.
 
Last edited:
Peter, I know we have just reduced Pen Pen dose but I think we should reduce it further for safety. He has dropped under 90 for both the last 2 cycles, today 49. You take reductions under 90 with SLGS.
We can always increase it if necessary but I am concerned he might drop low again tonight when you are asleep.
Your new dose will be a drop. To get the drop of insulin, you push the plunger of the syringe right in as far as it will go, put the needle into the insulin and then release the plunger. It should suck up 1 drop. Try it a few times before you give the dose to Pen Pen.
Make sure both cats get a good feed before their insulin and try and give them a couple of good snack during the night. I would get at least a couple of tests in for both cats and please test again if they drop low.

i am thinking, it seems that PenPen is closed to remission:)
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20200429_221148.jpg
    IMG_20200429_221148.jpg
    22.9 KB · Views: 58
Back
Top