4/29 Neko PMPS 270 +4 148 +6 102 +7 94

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Neko

Member Since 2012
Moderator
Yesterday was a green start to her regular morning bounce, then the evening was a slow drift down to the blues. Might have gone lower while I was asleep, according to this morning's AMPS and bounce.

4/28 Recap:
AMPS 88 +1 149 +2 229 +5 321 +9 224
PMPS 261 +4 177 +6 148

Sorry for the late post, been another crazy morning around here. Civie Theo started doing frequent LB visits again last night, and leaving tiny puddles in various places. I woke up a +10 this morning to a wet smelly bed cover. ohmygod_smile Theo had been sleeping beside me for part of the night. So, we did a quick bedding change - it was probably time to switch over to the summer quilt anyway. :roll: Theo got dropped off at his regular vet today and I'll go to pick him up in 1/2 hour. It looks like an idiopathic thing, just started for no reason that I know. Apparently FLUDT cats tend to have episodes more frequently in the spring and fall. The vet tech taking Theo to the back has a cat that does the same. One of the reasons I really like this vet office is that they are fairly up to modern thinking and can relate to the conditions I'm taking care of. The vet who saw Theo today, and two other staff have all had diabetic cats. And they are OK with a raw diet, in fact, suggested it. The other reason I like them is they didn't have an open slot, but they'll take animals in and work on them when they have time between appointments. He is getting a cartrophen injection (similar to Adequan), cerenia (for pain relief) and I'll get some bupe to come home. Apparently his bladder was quite full, but he did manage to clear half of it in the LB while he was still there. The urethra spasms are causing the little puddles. I left him there for an extra couple of hours to see it that would die down.

And yes, this is Neko's condo. :lol: She did her traditional daytime bounce and spent a good part of the day in the solarium in the sunshine. Neko went out on the deck a bit, but not much further. There is a pretty stiff wind here today and she doesn't like her fur ruffled. I got a good combing in. Much less hassle with Theo not around, he comes to investigate her noises which makes her even more irritated.

I'm going to be investigating watering fountains. Anyone have a good ceramic or metal (non plastic) one they can recommend?
 
Re: 4/29 Neko AMPS 159 +3.5 350 +8.5 341 - Theo at vet again

I hope the vetty visit helps Theo feel better and get back on track. Hopefully Neko will slide back down.
 
Re: 4/29 Neko AMPS 159 +3.5 350 +8.5 341 - Theo at vet again

Wendy, glad you asked! :lol: :lol:

Are you ready for the mother of all drinking fountains.
Amazone - Drinkwell 360 Pet Fountain, Stainless Steel
Manufacturer Site
Product Model Kitty
Manual

I need to get more filters - so Rex is using a stainless steel bowl right now.
It is huge and I crackup every time I look at it. Kind of overkill for 1 cat!

I really hope Theo gets better really soon! Poor little guy can't help his bladder :(

And Neko sure does like her brunch time pink!
 
Re: 4/29 Neko AMPS 159 +3.5 350 +8.5 341 - Theo back

Poor Theo! I hope he's feeling better soon. Sorry about the bedding. What do you use to get the smell out? Thanks for the fountain info, Rick. We've tried other fountains and neither cat was interested. :roll: Neko, how about doing a little flip and going low during the day? Your bean would really appreciate that.
Liz
 
Re: 4/29 Neko AMPS 159 +3.5 350 +8.5 341 - Theo back

I have the plastic one but Shadow never took a drink from it....gave up.
and this the chin acne thing from the plastic auto feeder ....so I 'd stay away from the plastic ones...




found this....

http://www.moderncat.net/2010/08/28/finally-an-alternative-to-plastic-pet-drinking-fountains/

Neko's cycles as of late just don't fit the 12 hour scheme....
Hope Theo gets better.
You may need a few summer quilts/ matelasse coverlets to alternate.....
 
Re: 4/29 Neko AMPS 159 PMPS 270

PMPS 270
So Theo is back and calmly sitting beside me. They gave him bupe and he doesn't seem stoned so hopefully I can just give him the same amount tomorrow. He hasn't gone to the LB yet, but he didn't yesterday after vetty for a while. Paws crossed all the meds are helping him now. He even got on the cat post above Neko and swatted at her, so he's feeling better. :twisted:

Neko went out for a little bit this afternoon, in spite of the wind. Wind warnings have gone but the large trees are still swaying. And of course Neko's numbers continue in her usual pattern of late, up during the day, down at night. One night, I'll get more than 4 hours sleep.

Thanks all for the water fountain recommendations, now I have to see where I can find them. PetSmart just had the plastic ones. Amazon.ca charges twice as much as Amazon.com :roll:

@Carla - Theo seems better, I'm much more confident in this vet clinic. The clinic I went to yesterday called to discuss urinalysis and tried to sell me the high carb vet food.

@Rex - Thanks for the links. My time for more research. :-D Theo's urethra spasms sounded downright nasty. So far so good. And yes, Neko really loves those mid day pinks. ohmygod_smile

@Liz - I would so love Neko to go low during the day sometime. Could you get Zener to have a word with her? :lol: Down quilt is at the dry cleaners, not an uncommon problem for them. I use the Natures Miracle on the rest of the stuff. Unfortunately the bedding was light brown/yellow colour so really hard to see where the stain was.

@Rhiannon - I've got little ceramic bowls for the autofeeder, but yes, I wanted to stay away from plastic. Neko prefers a ceramic water bowl to the metal one. Neko's cycles are anything but typical. :roll:

@Sienne - Thanks for the note on the fountain. I've heard of some that aren't too reliable so good to know.
 
+4 148 +6 102 +7 94
And :mrgreen: :mrgreen: is back. :-D And this is on the reduced dose that I "temporarily" reduced yesterday.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top