4/29 Max AMPS 297+4=315+5.25=288 PMPS 355+3=329

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
YESTERDAY'S #S
AMPS 257 +7=250
PMPS 223 +3 199 +5 155

I don't understand why he still needs more insulin. My mom has a cardio appointment this afternoon so I didn't raise it this morning. I will either tonight or tomorrow.

He started meowing loudly for food at 5 a.m. I gave him fd chicken at 5:30 a.m.

Yes, Julie, I have seen Marje's videos on calipers. I have to make a chart for the monojects. The cardioilogist said he looked like he was 10 years but not that he acted like it. I think he acts like an old man. Of course he always has!! She was also referring to his labs. Speaking of labs, do people post the full set here? I don't see anything remarkable but just wondered. Thanks.

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=117956
 
Re: 4/29 Max AMPS 297+4=315

HI Elise, I hope you can have a worry free day today.

I just wanted you to know that I also had to keep increasing Rocky's insulin dose every few days for a few months. I was really disheartened and disappointed. After a few times of visiting the numbers orbiting hyper out-space and then his immediate drops down like a lead ball, I started thinking that maybe, just maybe all of those advise givers who were telling me that-- 'Some cats do better with carbs,' were right. They were right and I was wrong? Really?! :o :shock: :lol:

Somewhat fearfully I started feeding Rocky the FF Classic Chicken. It was like with a snap of my fingers he finally learned to surf, and since then I have been lowering his doses nearly every day. Now, it doesn't mean that there won't be any increases again but right now we're on a ride down.

How much carb is still considered 'low carb'? There might be a canned cat food that falls within the LC range that you can feed to Max instead of the FF flavors. You might have to increase his insulin dose, but then you might find like Rocky and me that you are riding a mostly downhill roller coaster. If you did decide to try at least one other brand, you could try my little sardine trick with it. :lol:
 
Re: 4/29 Max AMPS 297+4=315

I will look at the carb chart. His are 3-4 to maybe 6 I believe. I'll look fir sine under 10. Nobody has mentioned this to be. You were feeding no carb though. Ff has sine at that level and he will eat those so I will look. I gave to test at +5.25 and go to cardiologist with my mom. Thanks.
 
Re: 4/29 Max AMPS 297+4=315+5.25=288

Praying everything goes well for you and your mom at the cardiologist today, Elise.

For the higher carb foods, I know it is EXTREMELY difficult for you to get your picky eater Max to sample anything new. Sometimes our furbabies can be more than a handful to deal with.. I was suggesting the higher carbs in the hopes that you would get a food that has a much lower phosphorus content. I also wonder if Max's stomach/pancreas/liver are protesting the phosphorus. I'll just bet you anything that the grunting noise you heard is a burp, like Rocky's. :lol: They would mean some acid reflux.

If you are willing to try another brand of LC on the FD list, maybe using the sardine trick, you *might* get a different response from Mr. Liver. I don't really know of course, I am just being hopeful for the both of you. But you might find that you have to increase his insulin dose for awhile too if he is eating a slightly higher carb food. I really have no idea.. :roll:

I actually hand-fed Rocky the sardine to see if he liked it, first. Then, i crumbled it on top of the food. He still sort of balked at it, and looked at me. I then sprinkled the sardine on top of it and mixed it into his food. I sat down with him, stuck my hand into his cat food, and hand-fed it to him. It was like a light-bulb :idea: went off in his head-- "Ah, there is the sardine in them good eats!" :lol: He started gobbling it up from my hand. The next day I sprinkled the sardine on the food. Any time that he wasn't sure that it was Ok to eat it, I would pick it up with my hand and feed him one or two bites of it again. It always worked to get the ball rolling. After a while of doing this I no longer had to hand feed him the mixture. I just sat the bowl down with the 1/4 sardine sprinkled on top of it. Slowly, slowly, over time I was able to put less and less of the sardine on it. Finally we got to the point of no sardine topped and he was still excited to eat the venison.
 
Re: 4/29 Max AMPS 297+4=315+5.25=288

Hi Tina. I tired mixing Paw Lickin Chicken into his food and he left all of it while I was out. There is an up to date food list on the heath index board. Max doesn't like sardines.
 
Re: 4/29 Max AMPS 297+4=315+5.25=288

Unfortunately every cat is different, and FD is a marathon for most....it can take a while to find the right dose, and the right dose can change. Trix has ranged everywhere from the low 1.00 range to 5.00 with no rhyme or reason that I could figure. The good thing is that since you test Max regularly, you can find the exact dose that does work for him, even when it changes.

I hope all went well with your Mom's cardio appointment!
 
Re: 4/29 Max AMPS 297+4=315+5.25=288PMPS 355

Thanks, Amy. The appointment went fine. The doctor feels she can have the surgery on her finger with the gout. It sounds like there might be one surgery instead of two.

So I will raise Max's dose yet again tomorrow morning.2.25 sounds like so much compared to what most cats are getting. I noticed that the cardiologist gave Max a score of 7/10 for body condition noting overweight. I think I will give him a little less food each day and see if he can drop a little weight slowly. He is 6.70 kg, about 14 lbs 12.3 oz.
 
Re: 4/29 Max AMPS 297+4=315+5.25=288PMPS 355

2.25 isn't a big dose by a long shot. it's VERY within the normal range that kitties get. i wouldn't worry about it one bit.

i'm not sure what you mean about making a chart for the monojects. look at several of them, compare the markings and choose one that you think is fairly accurate and set the caliper to that one unit.

For example, if 5 of them have 1.0u in the same place and 5 others have 1.0u in all different places, choose one of the first group that have several all the same.

from that point, you'll have a mm measurement that is for 1.0u. we can help you figure out adjustments for other doses after you've gotten that far.

i think increasing by 0.25u is a good choice.

i'm glad your mom can get her finger fixed. little things like that can matter to a person!
 
Re: 4/29 Max AMPS 297+4=315+5.25=288PMPS 355

I'm sorry that Max wouldn't eat the Paw Lickin' Chicken. I think to get Max to eat a new food that you might have to show an interest in it, like it's food that you might actually eat, yourself. :lol:

I hand-fed Rocky the foods I wanted him to eat. I always put water in his food. Next, I heated it in the microwave for about 6 seconds so that it would have an aroma. Then, I went to him on my knees and scooped it up with my hands and put it right under his nose while I talked to him very sweet-like. He sniffed it, and started to lick my fingers. I just let him take his time licking it all off of my fingers. I then pet him while he was licking the food from my fingers and told him what a good boy he is...When he had finished licking all of it off of my fingers I scooped up a little more. I just did it like this until he would gobble it up on his own.

I know it sounds completely off the wall, but If you don't show any interest in liking his new food, Max may not want to taste it either. He'll be like, "What's the crap?" :?
 
Re: 4/29 Max AMPS 297+4=315+5.25=288PMPS 355

I'm glad you are going to raise Max's dose tomorrow. Good luck with the increase. One of the many frustrating things about FD is that the dose that looked really good at one point can turn out to be no good a week or two later. Often kitties have to go back above doses that earned them reductions earlier. As for dose, we don't start thinking large amount of juice until they get near 6U. Max is no where near there.

Before I started using calipers, I took a couple of syringes I thought were good and measured one unit on them. Actually, I measured 5 units and divided by 5, mostly because it was easier to measure and took out some of the error. Remember that it's not so important that you get that one unit measurement right for your Monojects, but that using that measurement you can be consistent going forward with whatever dose you go to.

Good news on your mom, the less operations the better.
 
Yes, we really hope my mom doesn't need two operations. The docs kept saying to leave it alone. Now the gout is too close to the bone and she will need a graft. It's going to be quite painful. They said out patient but my sister wants her in the hospital the night before to make sure her blood isn't too thin.. I'm not sure yet whether that will happen or not.

I'm glad 2.25 isn't considered to be a large dose. It's just all the ss that I read the cats seem to get less than that. With this stinky pink Max will be happy he won't need any more tests tonight.

Tina, I unfortunately know all the tricks to get a cat to eat having dealt with Tiffany who had so many serious illnesses. Max was a dry food junkie until he got pancreatitis. I used to roll his CD canned food into balls for him or he wouldn't eat it. Even then he eventually would only eat the dry. Lots of people use the ff classics so I really am not concerned about that since his USG is so good. You have to pick your battles. I looked over the food lists and as I already knew, the lower the carbs, the higher the protein and thus the phosphorus.
 
I just thought of another reason that Max might not like to eat the Paw Lickin' Chicken, or any others like it--- it is not a pate, like the FF classics are..That Paw Lickin' Chicken has a stringy, really dry texture to it. It's more like trying to eat an overcooked piece of white chicken breast. :lol:

All of the FF flavors have this soft, creamy, and smooth texture to them.

I bet if you tried a brand of food that has the same pate texture as the FF, you might have a better chance at getting Max to eat it. :YMPEACE:

Also, Rocky's insulin needs went up to 2.25 units. He was on that amount for 6 cycles before he finally started to come down the dosing scale.
 
Max used to only like the sliced or flaked. He wouldn't touch the pate types for years. Diabetes made him hungry enough to accept it but not every other good food I've tried. I swear they put something to attract cats in ff. I hope Max follows Rocky's example now that he is up to 2.25. Thanks for trying so hard to help us. It is so appreciated.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top