4/29 Marshmellow AMPS 325 - Bounce with dose change PMPS 174

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marshmellow & Steve

Member Since 2015
Marshmellow is doing great this AM, small bounce last evening. Looks like she hates getting around 150. Hopefully with this new dose we can coax that number down a bit.

Finally able to open the windows all day yesterday, maybe Spring will stick around a little while this time. Have a great day all!
 
Some cats react to a dose increase with what we call New Dose Wonkiness (NDW). They go up at first for no reason and then come back down and settle into the dose. I hope Marshmellow settles into the new dose soon.
 
I saw the NDW in one of the posts, just didn't understand it, thanks. Just realized I forgot to put her name in the title. Think this lack of sleep is catching up to me, lol.
 
Last edited:
Yes, Polly used to make me endure NDW. Frustrating. But I'd just wait it out following the protocol. She'll still get wobbly, wonky at dose changes but not nearly as much fluctuation.

Have a great day.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Morning Steve :coffee::coffee::coffee:

Good luck with the new dose. Mannie was a champion with that NDW, happened with him more often than not, took a while for him to settle into it too. Surf well today Marshmellow!

Have a great day today. I hope all goes well.
 
Steve -

To answer your question in Gabby's condo, first, HC = high carb. (LC = low carb, MC = medium carb)

The reason I gave Gabby some HC food this morning was because I was leaving for work and wouldn't be home until PMPS. If you were asking about why I give HC in general, I try to prevent Gabby from getting a dose reduction. If you go back to the early days on Gabby's SS, you see she was pretty bouncy. After lots of trial and error and some very good recommendations from experienced Lantus users, what finally seemed to help to get her numbers to level out was to try to prevent dose reductions and keep as much insulin on board as possible. The goal was for blue pre-shot numbers and greens during the cycle. This was also coupled with front loading her food in the early part of the cycle given that Gabby tends to nose dive -- she typically has an early nadir and her numbers will drop early and fast. So, how I dose and feed is a strategy aimed at keeping her regulated.

 
Thank you. I would never does by someone elses curves (ECID), but when I look at others, I try to understand what they are doing and why. I figure the more spreadsheets I look at, and see what others are doing, when and if I get Marshmellow leveled out at lower numbers, I'll have a better comprehension of how others maintain stable numbers. Right now, I use the SLGS protocol, because I don't want to pass a good stabilizing does. But when/if she gets used to lower numbers and stabilizes, I want to try the TR protocol to maintain her. Again, thank you for your time to explain.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top