Bounces can last a few days (2-3 days, or a day). It depends on the cat.
I understand your worry. It's not nice to see your cat spend a day in the reds. But do have patience. It can take weeks to find the right dose, and it's better to go a little slowly (not too slowly!) than risk a disaster by increasing the dose too fast.
I'm personally not convinced what we are seeing here is a bounce, actually, after looking at her SS. We're missing some +9 tests (not blaming you, just noting) that would have given us more information, but if we're assuming she went low around +9 recently, here's how I read things:
- she could have gone low on the night of 27th (+6 was 199), but we're not seeing a bouncy number on 28th AMPS (270)
- maybe she went a little too low for her comfort yesterday (28th) daytime (+6 was 158), and the pink we're seeing at PMPS is bouncy pink
- but her numbers last evening are higher than those last cycles, so I have trouble imagining anything happening during the night that would explain a bounce to red numbers.
My conclusion is that we don't have enough insulin getting into the cat.
This is your fourth cycle on 1.5. Usually people wait 6 cycles before increasing, if they are doing TR, which is an agressive dosing method. (SLGS makes you hold the dose a week.) If we look at the
Tilly protocol (the
FDMB version is a slightly modified version), it clearly states that if the numbers are consistently high the dose can be increased after 2-3 days, or with 0.5 instead of 0.25.
So, an argument can be made for increasing, in my opinion.
I see two options:
- give 1.5 tonight again to give the dose a chance to work (but I do think, like you, that this is not enough insulin and she needs more) and see what values you get
- increase the dose tonight to 1.75 (I would not increase directly to 2 directly however, given that you are working tomorrow -- correct?)