4/29 Jill | AMPS 243 | PMPS 144 |+3 137 | +5 134

Debra and Jill (the cat)

Member Since 2015
BGs from 4/28 >

We have a new AC unit being installed today so it's a stressful day for the cats who all have to be locked up in bedrooms for many hours. Curious to see if it will impact Jill's numbers at all.

I've been getting in 2 BG tests in addition to the AM/PM preshots -- should I be doing more every day? How many times is best at this point, if in a week or so we want to assess her dose?

Thanks!
 
Last edited:
I don’t think she’s going too low but the extra tests might give more info. A cat’s bg often rises if in bg numbers they aren’t used to being in. The more time in numbers of a cat that’s not diabetic the faster they get used to normal numbers and the pancreas heals. If she were dropping into unsafe numbers her morning bg would be a lot higher. Since you are following SLGS, it is possible she has gone under 90. The only way to find out is to get a few extra tests to see.
 
PMPS is 144. Pretty close to the 150 threshold we’re looking for to shoot but I’m going to giver her a few minutes extra before I do. Plan on testing twice late into the night.
 
Good job giving Jill her PM shot! 144 is a very safe number to shoot. We have a saying around here, "Shoot low to stay low." I know it looks like if she can go from 228 to 96 in 6 hours that shooting 144 doesn't seem safe, but Lantus doesn't work that way. If you look around at other member's spreadsheets or even my Ruby's, you'll see that shooting above 90 is safe. The beauty of what Lantus does is once the numbers start heading below 100, they tend to flatten out.

You're doing great! :bighug:
 
Back
Top