4/29 Henry

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angela&Henry

Very Active Member
AMPS 262! :mrgreen: backed down a little from 2U to 1.85 because hes not ever been this low in the morning.

+4 213
+6 187
 
Nice! I think you could have stuck with the 2 u tho - by +6 he wasn't low enough to go hypo. Sticking with the 2 units might have gotten you some green. Just something to think about for the future. It's nice to see those lower numbers, isn't it? Good job!
 
Very nice!

Rob you lost me - it's day 3 since the greens, and rebound wears off in 3 days right, and usually we see most of it in the 1st cycle or 2, and not much after that. Plus he got long duration on the green cycle, which generally doesn't happen on a bounce, from what I've seen of bounces they are zooming up really high by +12 or sooner. Am I :dizcat ? Maybe I misunderstood something. Don't mean to be fussy, just don't want her expecting #s to come down on their own if more insulin is needed.
 
I took a muscle relaxer after his test and shot and fell asleep.
PMPS was 235 at 13.5 sticking to 1.85 for his overnight dose.
I will up to 2.1 for AM dose tomorrow or next day unless hes in the 250-260 range again I will give his usual 2U instead of backing down to 1.85 like I did this morning.
 
Sounds like a plan (though I am too tired to get my mind around it, LOL!). Don't feel pressured to increase the dose if that doesn't feel right to you - I'm not saying things are awful and you absolutely need to increase or anything. Just an option to keep a little pressure on and try to get back to the greens and see what happens. Do it when it feels right to you though, and when it works for your schedule, etc. Not trying to add to anyone's stress here :mrgreen: Overall I think he is doing really well and things are going in the right direction. I mean, who would have thought a yellow PS was in the cards anytime soon, that is so awesome (though (broken record, sorry!) it would be nice to see some nighttime spot checks to know the dose increases are safe at that end).

Sleep tight! :-D
 
Sorry I missed a day, it wasn't on the ss. But it still looks like a bounce to me. 4/26 steep drop and no PM shot, 4/27 he ran higher all day, 4/28 he started coming down and 4/29 he came down even more to a PMPS of 235.

What am I missing?
 
Maybe we just see it differently? When I see a bounce, it's more like a nice cycle followed by an all red cycle, and then #s coming back down after that. And often the reds appear either early in the cycle, like a +9, or right when there's poop-out, so maybe +11.5 or +12, or whenever poop-out hits. Here I see a prolonged ride in greens, and then #s higher most likely b/c no shot. I don't see any sudden zoom, and I don't see any zoom to really high #s, just pinks which aren't out of the ordinary for Henry. And the drop doesn't look all that steep to me - certainly not gentle, but not something like screaming down from a red to a green in 3 hours - so to me it's debateble (sp?) whether it's a bounce-causing drop or not, probably depends on the cat. Since I don't see any zoom, I don't see any bounce.

I think I see what you are getting at (maybe?), that sometimes you see a good #, then things are wonky, and then it kind of settles back to a good #, sort of like their body adjusted back to the dose and went back to good #s. I just haven't seen that actually happen with too many kitties though - more often I've seen people lose progress from over-reducing and then hovering in higher #s, and then needing more insulin to get back to good ones.

There's also a possible ProZinc vs. PZI Vet difference, so I wonder if that is part of our perspective being different. And also if I recall right, Harley tended to have fairly gentle numbers, while Bix saw a lot of reds and blacks, so maybe what to me looks like fairly moderate numbers and no bounce, to you looks like a bounce, based on what seemed to be bounciness for our own cats.

If there's anything recent in the SS that looks bouncy to me, I'd say more it's back on 4/24 - not too high PS the night before, red PS in the morning followed by all pink cycle, then back to a blue # the following day. There could be other explanations, but those #s follow a bounce pattern to my eye (presumably from whatever happened overnight), while these don't look clearly bouncy to me.

Anyhow.... no worries b/c he is in decent-ish #s, so I don't think there's any urgency to know for sure, or go one way or the other on the dose. I don't think it would be any big risk to raise the dose, but I don't think there's any big harm either in holding it.
 
Joanna, I see your point, the higher numbers were probably from the skipped shot. I think that there is some prespective difference between PZI & PZ, from what I've read PZI was a better insulin to work with. Harley did see his share of Pinks and a few Reds but did settle into more gentle #'s, remember the 45 day settling in controversy with Prozinc? I still think there is something to that.

Sorry for hijacking your thread Henry.
 
Its ok I like to hear everyone's theories on his numbers
I upped the AM dose by a hair this morning and didn't see much difference but he was a bit higher this morning.
Going to start a new thread for today.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top