4/29 - Eegie AMPS=291 at .75u; +4=174; +7=133; +10=162; PMPS=231

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sgans and Eegie - GA

Member Since 2015
Today's is close to yesterday's start, but the dosage of the shot is lower. I DID manage to get a +20.5 today -and it wasn't a surprise at 201 - but I'm missing the 2nd day's numbers - but not missing the fear.

I'm trying to see if we can get sufficient support at a safer dosage (because of nights and such). Also, prior to his first day on the insulin, he started a thing where he regurgitates his early morning small food (when he goes poop, he regurgitates). Possibly IBD or tumor related - but it's not going to help his glucose! Subsequent meals stay down. He's also relatively uninterested in his regular raw since starting the insulin and only wants to eat steamed salmon. He does get lots of supplements though...

Oy!
 
I'm learnin', I'm dancin', I'm trippin', I'm fallin', and I'm twirling! :)
+4=174
Numbers are less dynamic than on 1u, but still blue... Want to find the right "spot" and the right speed for my doses. It was good to know he didn't go hypo overnight on .75 - THAT'S a relief

Waiting for the doc to maybe discuss cerenia for regurgitation... Oy!
 
Hi Stephanie!!

Just a little information....each cycle is only 12 hours, so unless you skip a dose, your "+20.5" would be +8.5. Each time you shoot, the +clock starts over

We also generally ask that you only post once per day....If something changes and you need more help, just edit your subject line and add the info...and if you have a question, it helps to add the ? prefix and if it's an emergency, you can add the 911

Once your question is answered or the emergency is over, you remove the prefix so IF you have another problem, you can put them back up.

I saw he wasn't eating .....It is true that once you start insulin and get some better numbers, their appetite will reduce since they're able to use the glucose in their food again (since they are getting insulin) but you're also correct that it's important that he will eat when you're giving insulin.

Have you ever tried FortiFlora with him? A lot of cats can't resist a little of it sprinkled on their food and it can get them to eat

Nice to see him get into blues again today, but remember, there's probably some "depot action" involved in that too, so he may need to go back up to 1 unit....we'll know in a few more cycles though
 
Gotcha on the 20.5! I was thinking 24 hour day! Thank you!

I am unsure how to edit the header on my post... I tried to find it, but only found where I can edit the comments IN a post. Perhaps you can direct me? That's what I tried initially to do, once I was informed that I should make separate posts for each day...

I do know how important it is that he eat when giving insulin. He's been on Fortiflora for his IBD for about 12 months - It's GREAT stuff, but he won't eat it anymore - I have to pill it into him. I know of no additive that appeals to him, and after all this IBD experience, I've tried them all... But knowing that he has to eat - there's this replacement food (like Ensure for cats) called Viyo Recuperation - it saved his life a year ago, and I always have some in the house. I read the ingredients last night, and saw Glutamine in it, which can lower blood sugar. I just talked to my doctor - he suggested that at night, so I'm sure he has sufficient nutrients, I give only .5u + Viyo, until we see what the actual influence is that Viyo seems to have on his sugar. Then he suggests doing .75 again in the morning and re-evaluating. But I'd love to get that food into him!

I'm happy to see blues too, and am looking forward to greens! I'm going to follow my doc's suggestion (we both know how well he responds to Viyo as food - and I have to be SO careful with his food, with the IBD).

Tomorrow - my schedule is more flexible than the past few days, so I may be able to test more - try more options and generally be more involved. Some days are like that, some are very rigidly scheduled. Along with my own health issues, I'm doing the best I can.

Thank you for checking and answering - and I promise to change my posts correctly, as soon as I know where to do it! Thanks!!!
 
We all had "fun" figuring out the new software....In January, we changed to this new message board and I can tell you, there was a lot of whining at trying to figure out the new format....LOL

Hope the Viyo is acceptable and doesn't cause any problems with his BG!
 
Maybe add a tablespoon or so of water to his meal to see if less texture helps it stay down.
He could be constipated or partially blocked. Check out Feline Constipation for more info.
 
I'm wondering now if it is constipation, without the usual symptoms. Anyone know if I can use slippery elm bark with FD?

I read the Viyo is fine, btw. Yay!
 
Seriously! Miralax! Gonna have to get some tomorrow! Thanks!!!

With the IBD, he's almost never been constipated - it's always the other way - but now... this is a first! I'm thinking he'd gotten too much Saccaromyces Boulardii...

Thank you!
 
yeah it has no taste at all, so you can just sprinkle it on anything he likes and it should go down fine...and all it does is pull water from the intestinal tract into the stool so it's softer and easier to pass
 
Keep in mind that if he is blocked, pushing things through may cause GI tearing. A vet visit first is strongly recommended.
 
I'm certain he's not blocked. Really... certain - thank you for the head's up. Over a year with IBD, that's familiar. My concerns were about the whole addition of the insulin/diabetes into the mix... it's a sideways punch.

I didn't know of the Miralax though- hopefully, I can get the SEB doing it more gently - but it's good to know that's an option.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top