4/29 Checkbook pmps/194 +1/140 +2/89 +3/105

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barb & Checkers (GA)

Member Since 2009
Oh good grief, this kid just keeps messing with my mind. He woke me at +9, for food. (I thought) I fed, without testing.
He walked away. I called him a bad word, and left it on the floor, and went bts.
It was gone when I got up. No idea who ate it.
When his amps was so high, I assumed, he did. He ate only a little for breffis.
FF to shot time:

I drew as little as I could, this morning. I suppose it was 0.10.
He moved, just as I got near his skin. I thought it was a fur shot. I didn't even want to post that, 'cause I didn't think anyone would believe me, in light of the fact that I've been so confused about how much to shoot, or consider a trial.

So, thinking I got a fur shot, I didn't bother with a +1.
As I walked into the kitchen, there he was on the table yelling at me. Yeah, okay, it's time for a +2 anyway.
Yikes! 36. Guess he got the dose, after all.
Isn't it amazing, how they just KNOW!
Bad Bean didn't measure the gravy food, just dumped some on a saucer. After all this time, I still get nervous at numbers in the 30's.
 
Re: 4/29 Checkbook amps 172 +2/36

Hi Barb,
any chance to update ss?
how's Checkers doing?

hope your day goes well :)
 
Re: 4/29 Checkbook amps 172 +2/36 +2.5/69

Holy Crappus!! Look at Checks GO!!!---My SS is in disarray too!
Hope this is a turning point for your Boy :mrgreen: HUgs!
 
Re: 4/29 Checkbook amps 172 +2/36 +2.5/69 +3/61

172 amps 0.10u
36 +2........gravy food
68 +2.5
61 +3 asked for more HC, so gave it


If he follows form, he should have reached his nadir. Surf Sweetie, surf, for mama.
Google kept "saving" for half hour, I gave up and had to X it to close, so don't know if it's updated for today.
Hmmmm, go look, Barb. DUH!
 
Re: 4/29 Checkbook amps 172 +2/36 +2.5/69 +3/61

Hi Barb, Check's SS looks fine: it is updated through +3. Wow, what a morning you have had!! This boy means business! Hope all continues to go well and that you can keep measuring that tiny dose without problems.
See you later,
Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/29 Checkbook amps 172 +2/36 +2.5/69 +3/61

Hi guys .. checkers, you are driving your bean crazy :lol: Dropping to a 36 on such a tiny dose makes me wonder ..... Hopefully other eyes will be here throughout the day ... have a great weekend guys!
 
Re: 4/29 Checkbook amps 172 +2/36 +2.5/69 +3/61

Barb: very nice catch and recovery and now he has a lovely surf going!!! Good job. I've read on other condos that it is good to keep them on the lantus as long as possible even if it is just a tiny dose. IMHO....which ain't worth much....I'd probably keep give him a drop until he's in green or low blue most of the time. The interesting thing to consider in THAT is his 36 this morning. But he did come right back up nicely and you weren't fighting to get him up. I also thought I read somewhere that they couldn't get to the 30s on that low of a dose but he did and so did Mocha! :lol: :lol: Hoping one of the really smart ones on dosing can help you with that. Have a great day and Miss Gracie sends you big hugs with her little striped paws!!
 
Re: 4/29 Checkbook amps 172 +2/36 +2.5/69 +3/61

Nice catch this morning! I'm right there on holding on as long as possible. I constantly wonder how Tess can still be bouncing on .1u, but she does. :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 4/29 Checkbook amps 172 +2/36 +2.5/69 +3/61

172 amps.........0.10 I think.....this could be a bit of food spike
36 +2........gravy
69 +2.5
61 +3
89 +4
107 +5
160 +9.......yelling for supper. why can't he just ask nicely? :lol:


I'm in no hurry to stop insulin. When he stays green most of the time, then I'll consider it. He isn't ready now.
That 36 was a shock, but how do I know that he didn't get a bit more than I thought.
I saw very little light between the top of the plunger, and the 0 mark. Still, depending on how the syringe is tilted , it can look different.
Anyway, he was good the rest of the day.
 
Re: 4/29 Checkbook +2/36 +2.5/69 +3/61+4/89 +5/107 +9/160

It would be nice if checkers surfed some blues and greens for the rest of the ... and yes, mocha did drop to the 30's on that little itty bitty dose, so it does happen! Does every cat surf all green when they are ready for a trial? Do some cat's stop needing insulin even if they are blues at certain times? I'm just curious, guess I never thought about it before ..
 
Re: 4/29 Checkbook pmps/194 +1/140 +2/89

Guess I'll be up watching reruns of "The Wedding", since there won't be anything else on, to vegetate in front of tonight.
Think I'll try some Temptations, to see if I can keep him from dropping, but not going up too high, like with gravy.
 
Re: 4/29 Checkbook pmps/194 +1/140 +2/89

wow... :mrgreen:

I need to spend some time studying your spreadsheet. Looks great!

Are you able to shoot less than 0.1? And can you remind me what your feeding schedule is?
 
Re: 4/29 Checkbook +2/36 +2.5/69 +3/61+4/89 +5/107 +9/160

PeterDevonMocha said:
Does every cat surf all green when they are ready for a trial? Do some cat's stop needing insulin even if they are blues at certain times? I'm just curious, guess I never thought about it before ..

I may get my hand slapped for going against what the board traditionally recommends, but Abby proves you do not always need to constantly surf greens to be off insulin. She was back in the 120s for a couple cycles during her OTJ trial and she came right back down on her own and stayed there for 2 years. I'm not saying it's the right thing to do but it worked ok for her at the time.
 
Re: 4/29 Checkbook pmps/194 +1/140 +2/89

Libby, I will be able to shoot less, I'm sure, as soon as I get a chance to sit down and play with drops, as Sienne suggested.
I feed at +1 +2 and +3. Then he gets a bit of tuna as testing treats.
He eats again around between +8 to +9.

Thank you for looking at our SS. It's not up to the minute right now, because it's too hard to download with my dialup.
 
Re: 4/29 Checkbook pmps/194 +1/140 +2/89

Kristen, I'm not insisting Checks be green every hour of the day and night, but right now, he has a lot more blue in his SS, than I'd like.

I have found that whenever I went against protocol, I got in trouble, and on more than one occasion, I came looking for help. It's tough to eat crow, when the people in the know, are giving tried and true advice.
Last year, when Checks was sick, the doc told me to raise his dose by 2 units. I knew that went against everything I learned here, but did it anyway; after all, the vet told me to.
I was on here that night, begging for help. People stayed with me, while I got Checks back up from a bad situation.
It still brings a tear of gratitude to my eye, that people cared that much about my cat......and me.

Yes Kristen, I know you did not tell me to go against the board. I was just rememering a few bad times along the way.
 
Interesting; the Temptations brought his numbers up a little. Just enough to keep a surf, so far. Another rise, and I can go to bed. He doesn't normally drop now.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top