4/29 Barsa PMPS 7.4 (133) +6 3.6 (65) +8 2.8 (50)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vintry

Member Since 2014
Hi,

Today is a good day for me and my Barsa. She just got into the magical green number. +6 - 3.6 (65) :)

I just wanted to make sure I understand everything well. Is it correct that the right time to intervene with food is when she drops to 2.8 (50)?

I am waiting another hour to test. If +7 will read 50 or below then I should feed. Also decrease the dose in the morning by 0.25. Correct? Or wait and observe the next few days if it repeats again? I actually expect a horrible 2-3 days bounce after this..
 
Giving a tsp or two of regular low carb food when they first hit green can help them surf there. The high carb food is saved for when they go under 50, if you are following the Tight Regulation protocol.

A reduction would be ,25 units. If she does earn a reduction, and she bounces by the next preshot, you can do something we call shooting through the bounce, which is to give the old higher dose for one more cycle, before taking the reduction the cycle after that. That can help with the bounce. Since she is so bouncy, it would be nice if she would stay above 50 and spend more time in green.
 
Giving a tsp or two of regular low carb food when they first hit green can help them surf there.

OK, I did that. Somehow it just doesn't feel right, waiting for glucose go lower than 58 (+7)
 
I agree with shooting through the bounce, before taking a reduction. Levemir sometimes works best when you are able to shoot on green numbers, then the numbers stay low and flat. Levemir also seems to have a "breakthrough" dose, where you get up to a dose, and the levemir gradually lowers the numbers over a couple days so you can pull back the dose. This, for max, takes 1-2 days of holding through some lower numbers (50s) before the reduction or else his BS will start to go up.

You can see what I'm talking about on my spreadsheet, we recently had to go up quite a bit cause I let his BS go too high, then back down to 3 units.
 
Indeed! :) I can't believe we managed to get out of that vicious ketonic circle! She's 3.6kg. And she was 3kg before, that's how bad it was.

You reckon I should give her 1tsp of high-carb now? An hour ago I fed her 2tsp of her usual low-carb but BG is still going lower. Exactly 50 @ +8
 
When max goes below 60, I usually give him a spoon full of dry food or some treats to hold his sugar there. I let his sugar go lower than the protocol says (multiple days in the 50's) before I do reductions cause that's what seems to work. Levemir is really slow and gentle insulin so its easy to get the sugar back up and hypos really give you lots and lots of warning.

When you get preshot numbers in the green (and you will!), don't be afraid to give the whole dose if you are able to monitor. Lev doesn't really start to work until 4 or more hours after you give the shot so there is plenty of time for it to go up. It's a hard thing for people to wrap their head around at first, but I regularly shoot in the 60s-80s. It's the best way to keep him in the green and blue. Just be aware of the "breakthrough" and that you might have to reduce a little once his pancreas starts to kick in after a few days.
 
OK, I did that. Somehow it just doesn't feel right, waiting for glucose go lower than 58 (+7)
Your first goal should be regulation. The more time spent in green, the sooner Barsa's body will recognize it as normal and reduce the bouncing.

You could fed high carb food now if you want. If you do, you will have to keep monitoring until after the high carb wears off as numbers can go back down after that. We normally wait until under 50 for a reduction.
 
Yes, on one hand I like seeing this low number but on the other I am worried that in an hour it will be too low. Just tested again and it looks like I'll go to bed in the morning. +8 50, +9 52. Not much change. I am staying away from high-carb for now (my Barsa seems happy-purry), the 2tsps of low-carb that I gave her did nothing tho.

We normally wait until under 50 for a reduction.

She went down to exactly 50 :) nearly earned a reduction
 
@Meya14 That photo of your Max very accurately reflects his spreadsheet numbers right now :) I'm studying the 'breakthrough' dose, yours is a very good example.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top